We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good downtown location, very near CSU and playhouse square. Don't expect a Marriott-like experience, but the rooms are generously sized. Written warnings posted in the lobby and under my door apologizing (in advance) for the ensuing, loud construction noise - they did deliver on this promise. Both mornings I was there I was awoken at about 6AM by the melodious beat of the concrete jack -hammers pounding in unison. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. Spend a bit more to stay at another hotel for a completely satisfactory experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We sincerely apologize for failing to provide you with a completely satisfactory experience. We are terribly sorry that we could not spare you from the construction noise that cut your rest short. We ask for your kind understanding. Renovations are underway to update and improve our facility in order to enhance the positive experiences of our guests.

Please consider visiting us again in the near future. Allow us to demonstrate that we are capable of providing you with an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    98
    46
    22
    34
See reviews for
79
53
28
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Comfort Inn this past week. I was a patient at the Cleveland Clinic and the shuttle to and from the hospital was a lifesaver! When we got to the hotel we were a day early so they didn't have a room for us right away. the night desk clerk Donna was a HUGE help, she was able to find us another hotel and transportation for that first night right away. cannot thank her enough! Donna gets 5 stars for service!

The room we stayed in for the 2 weeks we were in Cleveland was always clean, fresh sheets and towels every day. all amenities worked well, TV, phone, A/C etc. and really overall exceeded my expectations for a downtown hotel. If you are planning on staying a week or more I recommend trying to get a room on the 5th floor because there is a washer and dryer on that floor. unfortunately the 5th floor is the only floor with a washer dryer. I think they should put them on every floor so there isn't so much competition to use them. I like how there is a small fitness center on the ground floor. it really helps when you're kind of cooped up in the room waiting to go to appointments and stuff.

Overall we had an excellent experience at the Comfort Inn and I highly recommend it to anyone who needs to stay in the Cleveland area.

Room Tip: the 5th floor has a washer and dryer, but other floors have snacks vending machines. rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. It is our pleasure to have been of service to you during your treatment. It is very rewarding to hear these reviews as we strive to provide the best of services to our guests. We will do our best to accommodate your request about the number of washer and dryers and will continue to improve our amenities and facilities so that it will be perfect on your next visit. We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first trip to Cleveland and we wanted to stay somewhere that was walking distance to Progressive Field and also nearby to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The staff at the front desk were very courteous and helpful. And the room we had on the 5th floor was clean and quiet. The bed was really comfortable and we had a choice of both soft and firm pillows. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take the "quiet option" and ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel and we are pleased to hear that our location fit your needs perfectly. As long as there are rooms available, we provide much luxury to our guests to choose a room of their preference. Our staff are well trained to cater to your every need.

In this business, the best reward comes in the form of praises from valued guests. Positive reviews such as yours propel us to reach for even greater heights. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff at Comfort Inn was wonderful in meeting my needs by staying at a hotel with free parking and shuttle service to and from the Cleveland Clinic and also for being pet friendly. Nice, very clean room and great location downtown. The hotel was booked completely in advance for Saturday, May 17th and I was going to have to transfer to the Days Inn in Richfield, OH from 4 pm Saturday to Sunday,11am. Then I planned to check back into Comfort Inn but not until 4 pm. I thought, what am I going to do for 5 hours with a 17 year old cat in a carrier? He is a good old cat but doesn't like change and even the taxi ride to this hotel would of stressed him. Plus Comfort Inn is the only hotel to offer free shuttle service so most likely I wouldn't make it to the Cleveland Clinic until returning to Comfort Inn on Sunday. Sheila and Nora, Comfort Inn Front Desk Staff, knew of my situation and promised to work with me. They did!!! First they arranged with the Days Inn staff to allow me to check into a room at noon and then a cancellation at Comfort Inn became available that Saturday morning and while other guest had already left for the other hotel, I was offered that vacancy room. Sheila and Nora listened to me and provided the mental comfort I needed while my disabled daughter was at the Cleveland Clinic for surgery. Thank you ladies! The Shuttle Drivers were so informational and kind also. I would recommend the downtown Cleveland Comfort Inn !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and we are happy that we did just that during your stay. Our staff are very accommodating to the different requests of our guests and as long as within our resources and capability, you can be assured that your needs will be addressed. Thank you for trusting our establishment. We will continue to do what we always do, which is provide excellent service to our guests. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was my first time traveling to the Cleveland Clinic. We arrived early to clinic and seen brochure for Comfort Inn,we called and got directions from Donna. We ended up calling back 3 times and Donna was there to guide us(thank goodness) and always friendly and very helpful. We have future trips to the Clinic and will stay at Comfort Inn. Donna is a keeper. The rest of the staff was also very pleasant. Thanks so much A/B/A

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We thank you for commending our staff for taking wonderful care of you, especially Donna. We are tremendously proud of each and every one of them and their commitment to providing the best of services to our guests.

It gave us great pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hubby and I spent the Memorial Day long weekend in Cleveland. Although not a holiday in Canada, we were looking for a US city that was less than an 8 hour drive from Toronto and Cleveland fit the bill. We also needed a hotel that was downtown and affordable. Comfort Inn Downtown met all of our requirements.

Our room had neutral decor and consisted of a king sized bed, 3 lamps, microwave, bar fridge, flat-screen, LCD TV, soft & firm pillows, a desk, decent sized bathroom with plenty of counter-top space, chair with matching ottoman, and big windows that provided plenty of sunlight in the room. The closet provided ample space for both of our clothes. The hotel also provides free wi-fi. The tea & coffee maker were in the bathroom which I found to be a little tacky and the elevator doors could use a good cleaning. The hot and cold bathroom sink faucets were switched around, the sink was very slow to drain and it backed up on our last day. There is parking onsite and is only $7.50 per day.

Breakfast was included and was not what I expected. We thought it was only going to consist of pastries, coffee and tea. However, breakfast included scrambled & hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, fruit, sausage, bagels, muffins, English muffins, a waffle maker, apple & orange juice, tea & coffee, and an assortment of cereals. Although there were 3 restaurants onsite, we didn't dine in them.

The hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district and is right across the street from Kent State University. It is walking distance to rta buses, Quicken Loans arena (Cavaliers), Progressive Field (Indians) and pedestrianised nightlife on Prospect & East 4th St. It is a 5 minute drive to Tower City Centre and about a 15-20 minute walk to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and First Energy stadium (Browns), the latter two located on Lake Erie.

During our stay in Cleveland, we found getting a cab during the day to be interesting. Cleveland is not like Toronto or New York where there are cabs on every corner. However, we did find the people of Cleveland to be extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cleveland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. We appreciate you noticing the location of the hotel, the spacious well furnished rooms with ample storage and hanging space, the 32 inch smart TV in all the rooms, and the many amenities and services that we provide. We want our guests to get the most bang out of their buck. We are proud to say that we do have the best location downtown where you can find vital establishments nearby to accommodate whatever it is you might need. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcminnville, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice, very clean room, and great location downtown Cleveland. Hotel is a bit dated, but excellent staff/service make up for this feature. Close to many theaters and cultural events. If your a Cleveland Clinic client, its very convient. Great shuttle service to and from the clinic. Breakfast very good, with variety of selections. Rates are reduced for CC clients.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It pleases us immensely that on the whole you had a superb experience. We are glad that you were able to appreciate our convenient location. Thank you for commenting that our best asset is our staff. Indeed, we are very proud of each and everyone one of them and their commitment to providing the highest level of service to all our guests. Also, you have our thanks for mentioning that we offer discounted rates to clients of the Cleveland Clinic and free shuttle service. It gives us great pleasure to be of service of them.

We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in town. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Comfort Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.