We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Expect Perfection!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Amelia, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Perfection!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited Cleveland to check out the casino and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Upon check-in the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. As was the parking attendant. Parking was an additional $7.50 per night. The hotel appeared to be older but nice enough. When we entered our room everything seemed satisfactory....until you turned the light on to the bathroom. It was the smallest bathroom I had ever seen in a hotel room. And to make matters worse it was dirty. I had to clean the tub of soap scum and hair before we could shower. And the tiolet seat had what looked to be fecal matter on it. So I went to town cleaning and sanitizing the place before we could use the bathroom. Sad really for the big price they charge for an overnight stay. And the hotel being downtown was very noisy, didn't make for a good night's sleep when awakened by what sounded like a Mack truck coming through your room.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the quietest room location they have and take your anti-bacterial wipes with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    97
    46
    22
    34
See reviews for
76
53
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Du Bois, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Some sites featured poor reviews of this place, but I thought it was just fine. Yes, it's an older building, but if you are attending theater and don't want to drive after your post-theater nightcaps, this hotel is just what you need. The room was clean, and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast the next morning was very good, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our second stay here. We have had a suite both times with no issues. The hotel is not far from Progressive field. It took about 15 min. to walk. I did hear that the hotel has a shuttle but we chose to walk. There is plenty of parking outside, but word of warning the parking garage has a scary steep ramp and is only one lane ( you use that one lane to enter and exit). All in all a good stay for the price and we will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great little gem right in downtown Cleveland, with close proximity to the ballpark and casino. Friendly staff, easy check in process and I got a killer rate on Hotwire. Room was great, breakfast was awesome. Staff even call me a half hour after check in to make sure everything was ok. Would definitely stay here again! If pressed to find a negative, well the bathroom was tiny (I stayed one night, I don't live there, so I didn't care) and the underground parking 'dungeon' was a little strange at first (although in retrospect now I think it adds to the place's charm.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had to take my Father to Cleveland Clinic and stayed at Comfort Inn Downtown. I would recommend anyone having to go to the clinic to stay here. They have a very clean hotel, helpful, friendly, staff and an awesome shuttle bus driver. I think his name was Wally. We had a long day at the Clinic and apparently I didn't pay attention as to where to meet the shuttle bus and he came looking for us. Going back in July and will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: Parking is a tad confusing and had a little trouble finding the hotel entrance but over all this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was a bit anxious, but we had to keep costs down. The place was AWESOME!!! We stayed here on a visit to the Cleveland Clinic. It's a busy place with it's proximity to Cleveland Indians and downtown. The location is great for those purposes. The staff was so nice. The breakfast was decent. It' ain't the Ritz, but if you are looking for a decent place, we were very pleased. They also have a washer and dryer on the 5th floor. Coffee is always available. Housekeeping speaks English!! We needed to extend our visit and they worked hard to fit us in. Was around the manager; definitely exemplified that management is top down. He seemed customer-focused and caring about his staff = a great staff. Too bad more business don't get that!! The service was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was large enough to accommodate a king-size bed, desk, bureaus, etc. The bathroom was not as large as at a high-end hotel but adequate and the water was hot. The breakfast buffet had most anything you would want. The staff was helpful, particularly in how they ran a free shuttle to the Cleveland Clinic all day. The Inn has a special rate for those going to the Clinic. The hotel is not a brand new, sparkling place. It is a place where you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Comfort Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.