We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Connellsville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had to come to town due to a visit to the Cleveland Clinic. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, recommended a VERY nice Italian restaurant nearby to have a late dinner. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. The hotel smelled clean NO SMOKING BIG PLUS! The parking is a bit crowded but there is an attendant on duty 24 hours which made me feel safe. The area was pretty and the police patrolled frequently, I felt safe. Breakfast was delicious. Coffee was hot and fresh all the time. Water was SUPER HOT and pressure was good for shower. I would recommend to friends and I will be staying again when I have to come back in January. They also took cash, with a deposit instead of making me put a hold on my debit/credit. Which I like. Kudos (didnt use the pool too cold so I can't rate.

Room Tip: Our room was as soon as you get off elevator, some noise but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    97
    46
    22
    34
See reviews for
77
53
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were very happy with our one night stay - the staff was very pleasant and the location was terrific for our visit to the R&R Hall of Fame - easy on/off access to I90 as well. Another reviewer mentioned thin walls and noise - we didn't experience that. And we found the parking lot very easy to use and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Was in town for an important interview at Cleveland Clinic. All hotels on the Cleveland Clinic campus were sold out for the night. Was unable to sleep for almost the entire night due to very thin walls (can hear guests in rooms next door, above/below you, TV noise from other rooms, can even hear other guests using the shower). Worst possible situation the night before an important interview. Rooms dimly lit. Bathrooms with very little space. Parking situation is horrible and dangerous. The parking garage they have for you is tiny, with few spots, and is very narrow and tortuous to navigate through. If you are a business traveler, I would avoid this place if at all possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at our hotel. When any guest has a less-than-satisfactory experience with us, we take it personally, and we take action. We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, and we regret not meeting that standard for you during your time with us. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be addressed in our next staff meeting. Again, I want to assure you that your insight will help us do a better job in the future for you and all our guests at the Comfort INN

Thank you,

Max Baire
Asst GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The price is right - 79/night when I stayed in early October. However, for what you get, I'd call the value 'fair.'

It is only 3-5 miles from the Cleveland Clinic, and it seems like a lot of people use it for that reason. There is also a shuttle (when its not being used by others) that offers transport to and from the Clinic.

Parking is 7.50/night and is a little hard to get in and out of, but not unreasonable in either regard.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The facility is quite dated and is not in the greatest neighborhood (neither is the Cleveland Clinic). The rooms are in terrible need of being updated, but they are clean and comfortable otherwise.

The hotel has a free breakfast, but I would rate it below average compared to other free breakfasts offered by similar hotels. It has some standard items such as waffle machines, cereals, juices, coffees, yogurt, eggs, etc, Breakfast is served in a small area, and it was crowded both times I went. Breakfast is also supposedly served until 9:30A, but by 9AM on one day they were out of eggs, sausage, and waffle batter, and the staff advised they were not replacing it as they were done at 9:30A. I'm not sure why they don't advertise until 9A if that is the case...

The room and hotel worked fine for what we needed it for - a place to crash when not at the Clinic with a family member. If you are looking for a relaxing place or any quality in amenities whatsoever, I'd pass on this one.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms - both were exactly the same. One room was very near the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort Inn! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. (104 words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The bed was very comfortable and the place was clean. Which is the most important thing to me. Bathroom could use a bit of updating and the breakfast was your usual hotel fare. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort Inn! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. (104 words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown. The location was great, and the room was clean and very comfortable. Also, the parking fee of $7.50/night is reasonable, the breakfast selection is good, and the staff is friendly. The room/hotel decor is basic and a bit dated, but functional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort Inn! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. (104 words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My father was in the Cleveland Clinic and my 81 year old mother was driving every day from Canton to see him. Cleveland Clinic provided our family with all the vital information for the area and Comfort Inn was a hotel that provided families with a special rate. My mother had stayed at the Guest House across from the Clinic but was afraid to be by herself there. It was the location of the room...2nd floor and a roof was outside her window and there was a balcony, therefore, she didn't want to stay there anymore. The Comfort Inn provided hourly shuttles to and from the Clinic and free parking. I travelled from out of town to stay with my Dad at night so we used the room for her at night and me during the day. The hotel is in the middle of Cleveland State Univerisity. She could see the baseball stadium from her window. The beds were very comfortable and adequate accommodations. It is an older hotel so if you are looking for all the bells and whistles, this is not for you. It was a great place to sleep and shower and had a nice breakfast. My mother felt safe there. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrichfield, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words about the Comfort Inn! We strive to fulfill every guest’s needs while staying in our hotel, offering a comfortable home away from home that you can look forward to at the end of your day. We understand that it takes an extra effort to express your opinion for our hard work, and we look forward to returning the favor on your next stay at our hotel. Your specific comments are genuinely appreciated and will be discussed in our next staff meeting. We’re grateful for your insight and we’re eager to serve you in the future. (104 words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 1800 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#11 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Comfort Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.