We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Burlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charm and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Glidden and were fortunate enough to be in a room in the original part of the house right above the front door which meant that the room was unusual -interestingly so- in shape. Bathroom was huge and well appointed with a glorious shower. Breakfast, in the original conservatory and dining room, offered every reasonable choice. The concierge helped us to book a table at an excellent restaurant. Shuttle around University Circle area stops right outside the hotel and makes a trip into downtown on RTA perfectly feasible and convenient. While not wishing to be silly, we found that providing thirteen assorted pillows and cushions on the bed was excessive. There are excellent restaurants fifteen minutes walk away in Little Italy; Sergio's next door is overpriced, overhyped and distinctly underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    101
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
153
20
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I went to school at Case Western, so I was very excited to finally stay at the Glidden House. Unfortunately, the experience turned into a nightmare. They put us in a room next to a large white tent, and my immediate thought was that they had just had a wedding there the night before. I was wrong. The wedding was that night. When the music started, I spoke to the front desk because it was extremely loud, and they assured me that the music would stop around 10 pm. At 10:30 pm, I called the desk again and the front desk was again unhelpful. This time, they put me in contact with the wedding coordinator, who apologized, but promised it would absolutely end at 11:00 pm. At 11:30 pm, I called the front desk yet again, and this time, they were finally able to shut down the music. I had so many problems with this incident - they never should have put us in a room next to the tent. They should have at least warned us that the wedding was going to happen that night, and given us the choice of going to another hotel. They ABSOLUTELY have shut down the music at 10:00 pm as they had originally promised. Traveling with two young children is hard enough, but it was excruciating with the horrible singer going on and on until 11:30 at night. The staff reaction to my complaint was essentially a shoulder shrug. The next morning, they were unwilling to do anything for us. I expected far more from the Glidden House.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona, ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Everything about the Glidden House made for a nice trip. The location was easy to get to. the room was nicely furnnished, the bed was comfortable, there were eco friendly choices in regards to bedding and bath needs, the shower spray was strong.
We found that James, the concirerge, made the tripperfectg. He took time talking to us to learn our interests and then guided us to attractions and restaurants that suited our needs and tastes. He was wonderful! The breakfast was yummy as well the staff, Andre, and the team were very accomadating. The Glidden House was the site of 2 weddings during our stay but other than the festiveness the activity didn't have any negative impact on our stay....we cou.ldn't even hear the comings and goings in our room!
When there do not hesitate in checking out "the Barking Spider" bar that is right behind the Glidden's parking lot...a funky little joint with local people, local beer and local talent!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Beware, this hotel will try to "walk" you to a hotel on the other side of the city (10 miles away) and only "find" something closer if you insist. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I wanted to stay near Univ Circle so we chose this place. When we got there the concierege came out to help us with our bags. The check in process was super smooth and we went up to our room. It was a little smaller than I thought it was going to be but the decor was very relaxing. Once we were settled in we went down to the bar and got a drink. I had a rasberry vodka and it was delicious. While we were drinking our drinks the concierege took us on a tour of one of the mansion suites and gave us a little history lesson about the property. If you go ask him about the salamadors that are engraved on the fireplace. All in all it was a very nice stay and we will be sure to come again, but this time we will be staying in one of the mansion suites. They were so nice!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Glidden House is the best choice for parents visiting their students at Case Western Reserve University. They offer a special Case rate and free parking, and it’s an easy walk to campus so you can avoid the hassle of finding a place to park on campus. The inn is also perfectly located for travelers who want to visit the fantastic cultural opportunities of the University Circle area. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places and looks historic from the outside, but in every other respect it is more like a boutique hotel than an inn, with clean comfortable rooms and modern amenities like flat screen TV’s and free wireless internet. The glass porch is an especially lovely place to enjoy breakfast or afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet offers an assortment of freshly baked breads, yogurt, fruit, cereal, eggs and juice, and is served with real silverware and china as opposed to the plastic and Styrofoam of chain hotel breakfasts. A short drive or ride on Cleveland’s extensive public transportation takes you to downtown Cleveland -- don’t miss the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame which is fun for all ages -- but after seeing the downtown you’ll be glad to return to the peaceful neighborhood of the Glidden House.
Tip for check-in: There is an elevator for easy access to rooms on upper floors but it’s located at the front of the building. From the parking lot entrance at the rear of the building you have to either climb stairs to reach the upper floors or walk all the way to the front of the building to use the elevator and then back down the hall to get to your room. If stairs or excessive walking are problems for you, use the front circular driveway when you check in to unload your suitcases, or else request a first floor room towards the back of the building.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed only one night as part of mixed family and business trip. The location is amazing, in the heart of University Circle, one of the great treasures of Cleveland. It is a boutique hotel added onto the historic mansion of the Glidden (paint) family. It is within two blocks of the Botanical Garden, the Cleveland Museum of Art (one of the great under appreciated museums in the US), Severance Hall (home of the incomparable Cleveland Orchestra) and on the campus of Case Western Reserve. The rooms were nice, the service very friendly and engaging. Perfect for a stay in Cleveland. The only downside is that cabs are surprisingly expensive in Cleveland, about $20 to the theater/ restaurant/ shopping district. There is a very good bus/ trolley system, however.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.