We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice - Exceptional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now And Save
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice - Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the the Glidden House Inn just recently for a wedding anniversary. To summarize, this beautiful inn gets everything correct. From the intimate inside bar to the pleasant patio bar, the outstanding breakfast to the well appointed rooms, the Glidden House boasts old world elegance with modern features. By far one of the best hotel experiences we have ever encountered anywhere. Looking forward to staying here soon. The staff is extremely helpful and considerate.

Room Tip: The suites are simply beautiful. I would highly recommend choosing one of the dining option package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear AvonLake Traveler,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you spend your next anniversary with us!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    127
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
89
183
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. As other travelers have said, the staff is helpful, the rooms are nice, the restaurant and bar areas are nice and the food is good. The free breakfast in the morning was much better than most other hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear GuitarPlayer2006,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments.
We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful property in a wonderful neighborhood. Patio bar is very pleasant. Complimentary breakfast much better than your average free breakfast. Rooms are well appointed and bathrooms are modern and well done. Parking is free but not abundant.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Marian G,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in June. We had been on a road trip all week and we decided to make Cleveland the last stop on our trip to visit the rock and roll hall of fame. The Glidden house is a very charming inn located in a nice area of town. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk gave us some great recommendations for dinner in Little Italy. James, the bell man was very welcoming. He was actually the nicest person we came into contact with on our trip to Cleveland. Once we opened the door to our room we realized it was a queen bed room and we had paid for a king. We went right back down to the front desk and it was immediately fixed and we were actually upgraded to a beautiful suite. That evening we went to the Christmas story house in Cleveland which is a must see if your a fan of this movie. We did try to drive around downtown Cleveland however the city was full of detours and very busy. Being that we live between two major cities at home we were not impressed with the city. When we arrived back to the inn after our evening out, we we're extremely surprised to find out that there was a wedding taking place and that we didn't have a parking spot as a paying guest of the inn. This was very upsetting, the valet wanted us to park on the corner in the front of the hotel, because the guests of the wedding had taken all of the spots. We went in to complain at the front desk and the young man working that evening didn't even respond. He just kept looking at me like I was crazy. No apologies, nothing other then telling me that the wedding would be over at 11pm and maybe I could find a spot then. I couldn't believe my ears. James, the Bell man heard what was going on and he helped us talk to the valet to get a spot after all. There were other guests of the hotel that were complaining that they couldn't get to sleep in their room because the music was so loud from the wedding. We didn't have any noise problems from our room, but I could see where the other rooms would have been problematic. My feedback for the inn, would be to please tell all of your guests upon checking in, if there is an event so they can plan according. Once we made it to our room, we realized that our personal pillows from home were left in the original queen room that was wrong. I went back to the front desk to see if they could retrieve from that room for me but was told the room had been rented out and they couldn't get ahold of the guests renting that room. Long story short, James came to our rescue again and worked for 2 hours, leaving messages and hunting down our pillows. I can not give him enough praise, he is definitely an asset to your team.
As far as our room, it was very charming, king size bed was very comfortable. Our suite had a microwave and sink area, however no fridge in our room. Bathroom was average size with a stand up shower only. Flat screen tv on wall. Breakfast the next morning was very nice. It had a few hot items, pastries, cereals, juices and coffee all in a nice dining area. Im not sure if we will be back to Cleveland, but if we do, we would definitely stay or recommend the Glidden house as it was a great value and very charming despite our bumps in the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear iluvdisney,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Glidden House during your recent visit to Cleveland. We are sorry that you had a few negative experiences. We are very glad that our concierge, James, was able to assist in rectifying these circumstances. We are glad to hear that you will visit us again on your next trip to Cleveland.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wonderful older building. Doorman was very friendly and helpful. Have kept the charm of the original building.. Desk clerk was helpful as where to eat in the evening. The breakfast was a little lacking. The eggs were cold and the coffee was mediocre. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear bobhartzheim,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glidden House. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience so we really appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast.
We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Trip Advisor is such a fantastic resource. We came to Cleveland to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We added a trip to Canton for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Afyer researching options, we decided to stay outside of downtown and made the Glidden our base for 3 nights. It's in an incredible location - within walking distance of the Botanical gardens, Art museums, cultural gardens, Little Italy and Case Western. We booked a standard room and were pleased with the size and amenities. The included breakfast featured hot and cold selections. Staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Karen R,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Glidden House. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay an plan to return.
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Glidden House is a very short walk to the Cleveland Art Museum [ Which has an amazing collection!]. A 5 minute walk takes you to a great french restaurant which also offers a limited menu room service to the hotel. We thought that the breakfast was very good. The parking is a bit tight for late arrivers. The room, according to my wife, felt like home. There is a small bar and a lovely outdoor patio/sitting area right next to it. We were fortunate to be there in July and had a great evening to enjoy a glass of wine on the patio. I would have no problems recommending this hotel to friends visiting the area. With the many institutions in the neighborhood, there are 3 police forces patrolling the streets so we felt very secure there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Marne68,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to have a cocktail on our new patio.
We look forward to your next visit!
Best,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.