We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday in cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Lake View, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“birthday in cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

surprisingly my wife and I grew up in Cleveland and had never heard about the Glidden House. We have lived out of town for over twenty years now and had a birthday party to attend on the east side of town. My wife was pleasantly surprised at the small but cared for grounds with the quant bar. I was impressed with the breakfast, It was a pleasant surprise over the usual bagels, cereal, and make your own waffles from box mix batter. The rooms were clean and comfortable with very little hotel noise. If visiting the area or want something close to downtown I would highly recommend this Inn. Get there early parking is a bit at a premium

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear redrt,
We are so glad that you discovered the Glidden House during your recent trip to Cleveland! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Parking can sometimes be a challenge, especially during events, but our guests are always guaranteed a spot.
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    88
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
67
135
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in one of the vintage suite rooms which was perfect for us. We got a mini living room area which had two couches, a television, and a kitchenette. Our bedroom was was nice with a very comfortable queen size bed, a television and a fireplace. The bed was probably one of the best we've gotten at any hotel. While the bathroom was small, it was nice. The shower had a rain shower head as well as a normal one and was big enough for two people. The breakfast that comes with the room wasn't terrible but wasn't great depending on what you can eat, i have a gluten intolerance so I had to be choosy but I was still able to eat. Just walking distance from the hotel are a number of places to eat so we mostly just relaxed and grabbed food as needed. We also appreciated the botanic gardens being within walking distance. This hotel was a perfect place for us as a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Christine K,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast menu. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience.
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a charming inn! Parking was super easy and convenient. On check-in the doorman was so attentive and friendly! The front desk agent informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite, YES! There was a nice bar on the first floor and they lent us cutlery for our take-out.

The room was wonderful! Top floor, large living room with cute nooks, smaller bedroom with a Queen size bed, and small bathroom. We had like 5 windows all over, it was really pretty. The area was safe and we got dinner from Little Italy down the street. We left early but breakfast was already out and looked absolutely wonderful! The dining room is very elegant and the food station had good quality items. We got to-go coffees and were off, very pleased with our choice of lodging.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem like they are attentive to their inventory on third party sites. We booked a queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear cmkd_2007,
We are so pleased that you you were really pleased with your stay!
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our daughter went to Case for four years and we stayed at the Glidden House 3-5x/ year. The people and the service they deliver are beyond compare. Lovely breakfast every day (everyone can find something). Delightful bar service in the evening. We enjoyed it so much we went back just to visit after she graduated. Love the mansion suites!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear HolliL2014,
We are thrilled to hear that we are your favorite place to stay in Cleveland.
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great location. Located in University Circle close to Little Italy, museums, great restaurants in a beautiful park like setting.
We had a small suite. Best air conditioning unit, kept the room very comfortable.
Awesome breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear John V,
Thank you for your wonderful review! I so appreciate you taking the time to write. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cleveland is a great city for food and play but it lacks boutique hotels, so I was really looking forward to staying at the Glidden House. The building is cute and is in a good location. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was perfect for us: many healthy offerings in a very nice setting (and included in the cost of the room). The Internet service is very very slow which makes it difficult to get directions and food recommendations.
We stayed 2 days. After the poor service and accommodations day one I would not have recommended the hotel and would not have considered staying again. However day 2 we had fabulous service and a great room. Based on this, the Glidden House would not be my fist choice but I also would not rule out a return stay either.

Day 1: There was a mix up in the reservation when we arrived and we were put in a queen room. The front desk staff was adequate but not welcoming. We were not offered help with our luggage, we were not offered help or advise with the area or in finding a nice restaurant, we were not even told where the elevator was and we were not apprised of the hotels amenities (free breakfast, room service, cocktail service, workout availability etc). A couple checked in while we were waiting and they were not given any information either. The hotel common areas were jam-packed with a private event, so any information available in the common areas was not available to us. (The Ritz was full and being unfamiliar with the area we chose to stay)
We were put in room 317, a queen room. The room was small but had been updated, with new floors/carpet and a pretty wood sleigh bed with matching tables. The bed itself looked like someone had taken a nap on it prior to our arrival. The bed was appointed with an old thermal blanket rather than a feather duvet and the mattress was not comfortable and difficult to sleep on. There were no robes in the room (we asked the desk and told the hotel was “out of robes”). The bathroom was very small with a new marble vanity but had an old showerhead and chipped tub.
The next day we packed up what we could (didn’t want to put hanging clothes back in the suit case with wet toothbrushes) and gathered everything into a central location to facilitate the hotel moving us to a new room while we were out. We told the desk we were leaving and would be back around 4p. They told us we were going to have to “check out and repack” everything by noon. After “much discussion” we had to repack our bags but were allowed to leave them in the room and housekeeping could move them down the hall.

Day 2: We returned around 4pm. The front desk (totally different staff) offered world-class service. Although we were checking back in he detailed us on the hotels amenities, gave us a parking pass for the rental car, told us about the area, made restaurant suggestions and was very friendly and inviting. We had been moved to room 305, a king room. It was slightly bigger than the queen (to accommodate the bigger bed) the décor was almost the same expect the bed was more inviting with a bolster pillow. The bed was appointed with a feather bed and a fluffy comforter and was very comfortable to sleep on. There were 2 robes and enough towels & washcloths for 2 people. The bathroom was slightly bigger, in better condition and much cleaner. The AC was noisier than the other room, but that happens in hotels.

Room Tip: Room 305 is great. Room 317 is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Milo W,
I apologize that you did not receive the room type that you had requested. We are working with a new communications company on a solution to speed up our internet service.i am very happy to hear that the second night of your stay changed your opinion of our hotel. i appreciate all of your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve our customer service.
We hope that you choose to stay at the Glidden House the next time that you are in Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose Glidden House in Cleveland's University Circle area to be close to the Museum of Art and Botanical Gardens. We found it to be an excellent choice. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, not the original building. Our room was moderately large and very modern, comfortable, and clean. The lobby and public areas center on the original (restored) mansion and provide interesting architectural features. The original dining area and adjoining conservatory are the setting for the included breakfast, which we found very pleasing in variety and quality. The pastries were particularly good. The entire setting is comfortable and calming. There are several attractions within easy walking distance (e.g. museum and gardens) and downtown is within 15-20 minutes driving time. A nearby restaurant (L'Albatros) has a relationship to the hotel to provide room service meals. We did not utilize room service, but we did dine at the restaurant and found it outstanding.

Overall, we found this to be an excellent hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear travelot13,
Thank you for your review. i am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.