We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Will return soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at Glidden House 3 times in 4 months and will return. We have stayed in a standard room each time which we found adequate. However, on our last visit, we asked about upgrading to a suite upon check in and the rate quoted was higher than online. They refused to honor the online rate even though we were returning guests. The weather has been inclement each time and I enjoy the warmth and the atmosphere of the hotel while my husband is away on business. I agree with other reviewers that noise is an issue (and last time the snow plow at 4 in the morning right outside our side window) but I feel that the location and free parking make it the best choice for us. We enjoy stopping for a nightcap at the cozy hotel bar and Ed makes a great drink. Compared to other hotels offering a free breakfast, I prefer Glidden House by far. The first time we stayed the eggs were satisfactory but the last two times they were inedible. The pastries are very good.

Room Tip: Room 316 is at the end of the hall and has an extra window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    111
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
82
165
20
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at Glidden House on New Years' Eve. Glidden House is in a perfect location for Cleveland visitors who enjoy the arts and wish to enjoy the Cleveland Museum of Art and the renowned Cleveland Orchestra--they are just steps away. The common areas are beautiful and meticulously maintained. The greeting upon our arrival was marvelous and as fine as we have received in any hotel in the world. We had cocktails in the bar area and the bartender and evening waitstaff provided friendly and efficient service. Our room was a standard queen room and was spotless, although of fairly standard design. This may be because we were in a more modern wing. We expected breakfast of similar good quality but found the breakfast buffet lacking most of the choices and the choices available not very appetizing looking. There were several small sausages swimming in some unappetizing moisture and as a previous reviewer observed, there was not even any bread to toast. I would have assigned more than an average rating for Glidden House if its breakfast matched the rest of our experience but it did not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed at Glidden House while visiting Cleveland Institute of Music this past weekend. We were pleasantly surprised how clean and well appointed the room was. It was a very quiet location with complimentary parking and morning buffet breakfast. The hotel was located directly across the street to the CIM facility, which made it quite convenient for us. The breakfast could have been a real plus to our stay, and with just a little more inspiration could have made a good visit great. The breakfast sausage was not browned, it was left a displeasing gray color. Eggs were cooked (over cooked - like rubber) in a muffin pan - when scrambled eggs would have been a better option. Oatmeal was fine, but the brown sugar they served was as solid as a rock - either old or moisture got to it. There was no bread for toasting (just bagels and muffins). The items served were fine, but there was no attention given to any of them, which left for an un-inspirational end to a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for 11 days while taking 2 courses in the DNP program at CWRU. It was really a lovely place. The breakfast was awesome. The room where breakfast is served is charming. The room was cozy, clean and had everything I needed. I wish they had washing machines on sight. There is a great restaurant right down the alley way. I stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: This is for people that like charm and have class. It is a short distance to the hospital and campus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staff are very good, bedroom (room 319) is sufficient and has character – the downside is the very noisy air conditioning system throughout the hotel; the fan in the bathroom runs even when the light is switched off – the bathroom however has a decent size bath for the USA and it is clean and sufficient. The bathroom accessories e.g. soap are excellent. You can hear doors slam along the corridor so automatic closing (quietly) mechanisms would be greatly appreciated. Breakfast was OK, not stunning but sufficient. They have got several extensions to the original building and it is a shame that the build quality is variable; let’s hope the new building works are done to a high standard and are in keeping with the original building.

It is a real bonus that Glidden House is 4 minutes walk from L’Albatross Restaurant, which is currently rated No.1 on Trip Advisor – I enjoyed an excellent dinner there. Glidden House is also 5 minutes walk from the Art Museum, which I also found to be excellent. 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having made a number of trips to Cleveland Clinic over the past year and tried different hotels and B&Bs, we most recently have been twice at Glidden House and decided it is best for us. It is built around a mansion of the early 20th century and is located right on the Case Western Reserve University campus. This means it is only a little over a mile from the Clinic and right next to wonderful museums and convenient to good restaurants (including the Little Italy neighborhood that I particularly like). Our room was excellent, but it is the public area of the hotel and the breakfast area which are most extraordinary in decor and furnishings. The artwork on the walls is of particular interest. The breakfast buffet is not quite as wonderful as the rest of the hotel but still perfectly adequate. We would be glad to go back even when we don't have Clinic appointments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the front, historic portion of the Inn and loved the charm of our room. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Well worth the little extra we paid. Although, in all fairness, I did not see the standard rooms. The heated bathroom floor was a pleasant surprise. And the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. The location was perfect for a visit with our nephew at Case Western Reserve University.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.