We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Cleveland Clinic, museums and restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Cleveland Clinic, museums and restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having made a number of trips to Cleveland Clinic over the past year and tried different hotels and B&Bs, we most recently have been twice at Glidden House and decided it is best for us. It is built around a mansion of the early 20th century and is located right on the Case Western Reserve University campus. This means it is only a little over a mile from the Clinic and right next to wonderful museums and convenient to good restaurants (including the Little Italy neighborhood that I particularly like). Our room was excellent, but it is the public area of the hotel and the breakfast area which are most extraordinary in decor and furnishings. The artwork on the walls is of particular interest. The breakfast buffet is not quite as wonderful as the rest of the hotel but still perfectly adequate. We would be glad to go back even when we don't have Clinic appointments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    115
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
83
167
21
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the front, historic portion of the Inn and loved the charm of our room. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Well worth the little extra we paid. Although, in all fairness, I did not see the standard rooms. The heated bathroom floor was a pleasant surprise. And the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. The location was perfect for a visit with our nephew at Case Western Reserve University.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here over 10 times and tried every type of room they have. Even in the old part of the hotel, we can hear our neighbors' conversation, every cough or hearty laugh. We have asked to change rooms, only to be put in another loud room. Recently we stayed in the room directly above reception and could hear the woman at the front desk talking on the phone, to the point that we knew what her conversation was about.

We recently tried the Hotel Intercontinental, but they are doing construction and that was loud too. At least the Glidden House is less expensive. Is there not a quiet hotel in Cleveland? We just want a quiet night of sleep where we aren't going to hear our neighbors or the staff in the hallway.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get an adjoining room. Those are the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we have been to the glidden house a fair number of times and it does not disappoint. it is fairly small and cozy (it feels like a large bed and breakfast to some extent at the front of the house, and just like a regular hotel to the back of the house).

the art museum and botanical gardens are a block or two away. it is close to Little Italy where you can find an abundance of restaurants. there is also a nice little french restaurant and a small pub beside the property. there used to e a very good restaurant adjacent to the glidden house, but unfortunately that has since closed.

there is limited parking; we were there for thanksgiving and took the last spot upon returning from a family dinner- it was a little tight but still manageable in an SUV

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked in to Glidden House for 2 days & it was a perfect experience. It's a small property on the edge of the Case Western Reserve campus & within walking distance to several museums. The atmosphere was great & the property was a terrific value with free parking and full hot breakfast included.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I styaed here for two nights while working at the cleveland Institute of music, which is directly across the street. It literally couldn't be closer.

Breakfast was nice, though a little carb-heavy and no gluten free options (not a criticism, just info). Breakfast could have continued a bit later, however.

Also highly recommend Cleveland yoga which is a 5-10 min walk away

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Glidden House is an elegant refined hotel in Cleveland,s University Circle area. The setting is quiet and attractive; it's almost like a nature park around the hotel. Various cultural highlights are near at hand (Severance Hall, the Art Museum, and so on), and even casual walks in the area are interesting. Every aspect of the hotel is excellent: the welcome, the advice and assistance, the breakfast (in a solarium), the ordering of taxis, and so on. Cleveland is surprisingly interesting and impressive -- and the Glidden House simply adds to the city's appeal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.