We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cultural Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Cultural Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked in to Glidden House for 2 days & it was a perfect experience. It's a small property on the edge of the Case Western Reserve campus & within walking distance to several museums. The atmosphere was great & the property was a terrific value with free parking and full hot breakfast included.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    132
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
94
194
25
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I styaed here for two nights while working at the cleveland Institute of music, which is directly across the street. It literally couldn't be closer.

Breakfast was nice, though a little carb-heavy and no gluten free options (not a criticism, just info). Breakfast could have continued a bit later, however.

Also highly recommend Cleveland yoga which is a 5-10 min walk away

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Glidden House is an elegant refined hotel in Cleveland,s University Circle area. The setting is quiet and attractive; it's almost like a nature park around the hotel. Various cultural highlights are near at hand (Severance Hall, the Art Museum, and so on), and even casual walks in the area are interesting. Every aspect of the hotel is excellent: the welcome, the advice and assistance, the breakfast (in a solarium), the ordering of taxis, and so on. Cleveland is surprisingly interesting and impressive -- and the Glidden House simply adds to the city's appeal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL / Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Flew-In for a meeting.....this historic hotel feels more like a homey bed-and-breakfast than a hotel.....It only has 52 rooms, but feels more quaint than that,. The service is top-notch, the staff super-friendly and helpful.....the shower was strong....and the bed was as good as mine at home....which is saying a BIG something. Overall this is a 5-Star property without being stuffy. Next trip to Cleveland and I will be at Glidden House again. BTW, the restaurant L'Albatros is about a block away and is also 5-Star, but relaxed come-as-you-are french cuisine.....Had a table by the fireplace....just beautiful.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A very nice, boutique style hotel in the heart of University Circle; that location really makes it outstanding. In walking distance to Museum of Art, Botanical Gardens, Severance Hall and amid the campus of Case Western Reserve University. They offer a complimentary breakfast featuring excellent pastries and danish, home made by a neighboring coffee house ( not the usual frozen stuff found on many hotel breakfasts ). The hotel itself is a restored mansion, very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

At first glance, this hotel looked awesome. Who wouldn't want to stay in an old mansion with updates? My stay was nice, but it was nothing spectacular. If you like the feel and sounds of an old house, you'll get them here. I could hear the conversations of the people in the room next to us. My husband and I had booked a suite; on the hotel website the options are regular hotel room or suite. We splurged and picked the suite. The pictures on the site showed a spacious sitting room as well as a fireplace. Our suite had neither of these things. I think there were nicer suites in the hotel but they all came at the same price-tag which doesn't seem fair to me. If I pay the suite price, I want the fireplace pictured on the website!

Pros:
-Very cute building.
-Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
-The little bar was cute.
-The breakfast area was gorgeous.
-I enjoyed the location.
-Breakfast was better than your average hotel continental.

Cons:
-Our suite.
-The noise.
-There was not enough parking around the building even though we were told there was.
-The morning coffee was terrible.
-The show was very awkward to maneuver.

Overall, it was an ok stay. Not bad enough to complain, but not nice enough to want to rush back.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, ask NOT to be placed in 223. It's not as nice/large as the website pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Glidden House is an excellent boutique hotel located in a very pretty and safe part of Cleveland. We paid $159 per night and that included a hot and cold breakfast. The room was large and comfortable. The king bed was terrific. Bathroom amenities were excellent quality. And iron in the room was a plus.

Three other comments:. First, the hallway can be noisy with people talking enroute to their rooms. The sound really travels. Second, the inroom coffee needs a serious upgrade. Third, door hinges squeak and need some lubrication. All in all, minor quibbles about an otherwise excellent hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#2 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.