We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous Comfort for a Conference"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Warsaw, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Fabulous Comfort for a Conference"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Glidden House is a warm, cozy and comfortable change from the usual chain hotels. It screams history, family and opulence! Tucked into the campus of Case Western University and amidst the curling streets sits a gorgeous old house that has been refurbished to near original, but with a new trendy elegance. I was traveling with a co-worker and found this house to be just what we needed after a long, full-day conference. We both slept soundly. The morning breakfast buffet started our long day with everything we longed for and more. James was nice enough to share some of the house's history and some helpful tips on what to "check out" while in Cleveland. We had a wonderful 3 day weekend and were able to tour the city easily. Loved the
CMOA and the Glow botanical gardens (across the street). Close enough to all the "hot spots" yet remote enough to be tranquil. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The third floor was quiet, not many noises thru the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
72
146
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location is great - within walking distance to the museums and Case. But the rooms are just ok, and the building is just ok too - not really a robber baron mansion like the pictures might lead you to think, but a fairly nice old house that has a regular old boxy addition with low ceilings. Breakfast buffet is mediocre at best - spoiled orange juice, plus lots of meat and pastries that aren't worth the calories, and weird eggs cooked in cups with cheese. This isn't a bad place - it just doesn't live up to the hype or the price tag.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Glidden House provides a comfortable stay in a well decorated historical building. What makes it even better however is that it is on the beautiful campus of Case Western University and within easy walking distance of numerous museums, quaint bars and the beautiful Severance Hall; home of the Cleveland Orchestra. A great base location for a weekend of exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I want to express my wholehearted thanks to Glidden House for all of their time and effort to make our wedding something wonderful. Everyone went above and beyond in order to create a pure fairytale that we will always remember.

All of us truly appreciate everything they did. The team was amazing and we were lucky to have their expertise and dedication. It would not have been nearly as perfect without Leary and the entire Glidden House staff.

Additionally, all of our guests, both local and out-of-towners LOVED the venue. They will not stop gushing about Glidden House. They thought it was a great place to stay as well as host a big event.

Thank you again, Glidden House. You are the BEST!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding, very nice, quiet and in an excellent neighborhood. There are many great sites to look at only steps from the front door of the hotel. The breakfast was a great addition to have in this updated Inn. We will be going back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I came here because of the close location to the Cleveland Art Museum, well within walking distance in good weather. And also because we were celebrating our anniversary.
Very nice room with an extraordinary tall bed, extremely comfortable. The whole hotel was extremely nice and clean. Staff very polite and attentive, recommended a great local restaurant for dinner since Sergio's, their hotel restaurant, is closed due to the death of the owner.
Curtains were large wooden slats, not very condusive for making a dark room.
We certainly would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a study trip in Cleveland and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff are great, especially the bar tenders. Great banter and conversation!
Breakfast can improve, but the rest is fabulous.
Rooms are generous and much is in walking distance from the doorstep - symphony, Little Italy, botanical gardens, clinics, Case Western university and Weatherhead School of Management.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.