We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bargain--beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now And Save
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real bargain--beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I live about 1.5 hours away from Cleveland and can never seem to find the time to explore the city. So we decided to do an impromptu overnight there. What a find this hotel is---right in University Circle, within walking distance of the Art Museum (we were there most of the day!) and Little Italy. We got there early and were able to park our car in the Glidden House lot until check-in (free parking, yay!). The place is so uniquely decorated, with so many architectural details---just the ceiling alone takes your breath away. Our room was a standard room, kind of small but who can complain at $159 with the free parking and great breakfast. The bed was really comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noisy bathrooms---seems like we could hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom next to or above us---I'm just glad they didn't get up any earlier than they did. The breakfast was awesome--those little baked eggs, sausage, meat and cheese platter, lots of fresh blueberries with strawberries, and excellent pastries. I was surprised they didn't have any jam or jelly but maybe that was just a one-time thing. All in all we most certainly will come back to Glidden House to explore the other museums in the area!

Room Tip: You might ask about bathroom noise, but something tells me that in a place this old there is nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    127
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
90
184
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this Inn for a gardening conference, and I was constantly impressed. The quality of the artwork in the hotel was amazing! It was spotlessly clean, everywhere and very well decorated. The breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed the little bar in the evenings. We also loved the restaurant next door. Within walking distance to EVERYTHING, this hotel is a destination in itself.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Glidden House is a real find in Cleveland located near several museums and the Botanical Garden (and I mean walking distance). It is a charming small hotel with very comfortable though not lavish rooms at an affordable price. There is a small bar and in the mornings a quite nice buffet breakfast is offered which is included in the room price. And next door is a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as part of a surprise trip for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were going to see Michael Stanley & the Resonators in concert at Packard Music Hall on a Saturday night. We drove out the night before so we would have time to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We loved this hotel. Located basically on the campus of Case Western Reserve University, it was an easy walk to many different venues. We visited the Western Reserve Historical Society/Crawford Auto-Aviation Museum which was a short walk from the hotel. It was a great way to spend a few hours on a sunny afternoon. The Cleveland Botanical Garden and many other Museums were also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed at Glidden House due to the great reviews and price. We were there for 4 nights on a business trip. It is located in a great area and I highly recommend L'Albatrose resturant close by for a meal.
What ruined this trip and means I can not recommend Glidden House to anyone - including our company who we have advised to never send people there again is the way they dealt with a theft from our room.
On departing the hotel it was apparent that a wrapped gift from a notable jewellery store had been stoeln. 4 phone calls later, voice messages left there was no assistance or returned calls. My colleague had to get in a taxi and return to the hotel in person to get anyone to talk to her. They of course denied any wrong doing and promised an investigation...2 weeks back in home country and no correspondence from the hotel at all. Of course this gift was taken by people who had access to the room - housekeeping or otherwise. The fact they have not even been in contact or returning emails shows their poor customer service. Any hotel with any respect for their customers and their reputation would offer compensation and if promise an investigation would not just ignore further emails and hope the matter goes away.
If staff can not be trusted then safes should be installed in all rooms - for future travellers ensure you padlock everything in your bag every day!
The reputation of this hotel relied on how they dealt with this situation - ignoring phone calls, emails and showing zero interest in the matter of criminal theft is appalling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On the edge of Case Western University's campus, this is also well-located for museum lovers as it's easy to walk to the Cleveland Museum of Art, Natural History Museum & the Museum of Contemporary Art. It's also a stone's throw from the botanical conservatory. It's caddy-corner from the Lewis business management building designed by Frank Gehry.

The room was well appointed and comfortable, though I'd not stay in a 1st floor room again because we needed to adjust the blinds for privacy and were advised not to open the windows. But the air system is quite good.

The building is on the National Register of Historic Places and the front part of the building is a pleasure to be in. The rest is fine too and carries a tastefully historic feeling.

The full breakfast buffet is tasty and offers a good variety.

The housekeeper could have washed the marble counter beneath the coffee pot & ice bucket instead of just around it. Ditto for the tissue box and toiletries tray in the bathroom; also the exposed pipe under the sink needed a good dusting. But the wainscoting, floor moldings, furniture and carpet corners were clean.

Book a table for the nearby restaurant, L'Albatross. Casual atmosphere with food so good that we ate there both nights of our stay. Good wine list too.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nf floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is lovely. Incredibly convenient to Case Western. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. It is quiet and relaxing and walking distance to everything. The rooms are comfortable. All in all a nice play to stay if you are in the University Circle area or visiting a child at Case.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.