We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Case Western Reserve or Cleveland Clinic Visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Case Western Reserve or Cleveland Clinic Visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The beautiful property is nestled right on the edge of Case Western Reserve and a mile and 1/2 from the Cleveland Clinic. The room was bright and cheery. Nice and large flat screen on the wall. Free Wi-Fi worked great. The breakfast was amazing.

Called at 1:15 p.m. for a cab and a very clean four door Lincoln Town car took us to my appointment.

A cute little neighborhood called "Little Italy" is also nearby. I would recommend eating at Etna's and going to Corbo's Bakery for dessert.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    99
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
150
20
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in at the Glidden House and loved it. It is elegant - the room was great and comfortable - and the breakfast was fabulous. The boutique hotel is walking distance to the Botanical Garden - both art museums and the concert hall. You can walk to everything. There is a very nice restaurant next door and the inn serves dinner.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on an upper level - we stayed on the ground floor. It was fine but a little noisy in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two nights at the Glidden House and we were very impressed! It is a lovely hotel with plenty of parking, unique rooms and close to everything. The breakfast buffet was excellent! We are used to standard chain hotel breakfast fare, so we were pleasantly surprised when we went down the first morning! There were delicious pastries, egg cups, cold cuts, fresh berries, yogurt and so much more!
The staff was very friendly and check-in and check-out was easy. We would definitely stay at the Glidden House again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I were married on September 7th, 2013. We wanted a hotel close to the reception (Mayfield cc) where we could shuttle people back and forth and that had a bar where we could continue the festivities after the reception. We met with reps from the Glidden House early in the year and chose this hotel (despite the fact that they did not offer any type of special block pricing) because of the bar. We were told the bar stays open til 2:00am, there would definitely be someone working and we would be all set. Perfect. NOT the case at all... When our guests began arriving back at the hotel around 11:45 the bartender told everyone it was shutting down at midnight and was actually quite rude about it. Needless to say that was the end of the party. That experience was truly the icing on the cake. Half of the employees were great, super accommodating and very nice. The other half were rude and pretentious. When my matron of honor called to book a room within our block she was told they were all taken. We had not used all of our rooms and when I called to see what the problem was I was rudely told "we'll if she calls back right now she may have a room". Parking was a nightmare for my guests as the valet told them they couldn't park in the hotel parking and had to park offsite. Bottom line is this... I will never stay here again and I would certainly NEVER recommend using them if you have a wedding in the area. I spent the next morning at their free breakfast apologizing to family and friends for how rude their staff had been.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Awesome hotel and right by Art Museum & Arboretum. Breakfast was fantastic! What a wonderful gem. Had night light in our bathroom and forgot ours so that was just a perfect extra!!! Free parking was a neat extra. Walking to Little Italy was convenient and food delicious! The staff was so helpful. We did the package that included museum passes. Our favorite museum was the Art Museum and it is free always

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Free parking & free breakfast. Nice addition. Comfortable rooms & excellent location for your Case Western or Uptown visit. With Little Italy nearby, you'll never hunger. Friendly desk staff makes check-in a pleasure. Staff probed for trip reason and found an even better rate for us at checking time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A historic facility in a historic part of Cleveland. Amazing resturants very close. Room was probably the cleanest room I can remember stay in in years. Highly recommend staying at The Glidden House made famous from the Glidden family (Glidden Paints). When reserving a room, ask about their "Vintage Rooms". Very warm and cozy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.