We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, not downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Stay here, not downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I musty agree with other reviewers; I would stay here over a downtown hotel. Basically on the Case Western Reserve Campus, it is within walking distance of several museums. It is also a short drive to downtown; it only took us 15 minutes to drive from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame to the Glidden House (through a lovely park, making it a pleasure).
The rooms are clean, the staff friendly (James, in particular, gave us the history of the area) and the buffet breakfast better than most. The price value was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room at the end of the hall and were quite happy. The first floor may have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    119
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
170
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lithopolis, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here when visiting Cleveland for a concert in Cain Park. We were happy with the cleanliness, friendliness of the staff (especially James), free parking, and better-than-average breakfast buffet.

The only suggestion I would make for future guests is to place the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door before going to bed. We were awakened by heavy pounding on our door by the housekeeping staff--before 8:30 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had staying from June 9, 10, and 11, 2013, at the Glidden House very close to Case Western Reserve University. The hotel is within walking distance of the Botanical Gardens, art museum, history museums, and the historical, Little Italy. And, the accommodations are excellent with free wifi, free parking, and free breakfast. The breakfast consisted of oatmeal, cereals, juice, coffee, fresh blue berries and strawberries, bagels, muffins, etc. And, it was a delight to sit on the enclosed patio adjacent to the breakfast area.

Our room had two queen beds with very comfortable mattresses, a nice flat screen TV, an arm chair, and a large bathroom. While our room was not in the historical mansion part of the hotel, it was in the attached addition and was modern and excellent.

It was only a 12 minute drive to downtown Cleveland via the expressway to exit 9 (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame). Part of the drive was along Martin Luther King Parkway through Rockefeller Park.

Our only concern, very minor, was the breakfast had English muffins but no jam or jelly. We suggested they should buy some from a store util their order arrived but it did not appear while we were guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we stayed in a room overlooking the left side of the hotel when facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a lovely hotel!! Every aspect of this hotel was wonderful. The area around the hotel is beautiful and it is close to meuseums, parks and some nice restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was good every morning and the coffee was delicous. Overall I could not fault this hotel and will be staying there when I visit Cleveland from now on. I could not recomment this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are excellent, and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is attentive and friendly. A great location and the breakfast buffet is very nice, and the breakfast room, with a sun room, is very comfortable and relaxing. There is a small bar as well. The only downside is that the cable television wasn't working well in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Glidden House for two nights while visiting Cleveland on a tour. My stay was wonderful. What an exceptional atmosphere! From the beautiful lawns and landscaping to the comfortable room with an open window and view of the surrounding area, everything was perfect. The staff were very friendly. The complimentary hot breakfasts were delicious. The furnishings in the lobby and room were resplendant. I heartily recommend this wonderful gem called Glidden House, one of the few boutique hotels in the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the second or third floor where you can open your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.