We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best of Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in Cleveland. The rooms are gorgeous and the breakfast was amazing.
The old style bed and breakfast feel was felt upon arrival. There was a cocktail when we arrived also. The beds were very comfortable.This was a very nice night away with my husband. Located close the Cleveland's Little Italy and near the museums on Case Western grounds.
I would travel to cleveland only to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    84
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
67
130
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay, they truly understand and practice service excellence. It has a warm comfortable feel better then any chain hotel I have stayed in the area on previous visits. It's clean, amazing breakfast - vegan friendly. it's a hidden gem among hotels, has a B&B feel.

Room Tip: Queen bed rooms are small, King size larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This boutique hotel preserves an historic mansion in the one-time "millionaire's row" of Cleveland, now the city's very lively university/hospital/museum district. "little Italy," and excellent spot for authentic ethnic food, is very short ride away, and access to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other attractions are in easy driving distance. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and attractive. The breakfast offers great choice and is served in the old sunroom/conservatory of the mansion with a great view. This will be our "home away from home" whenever we are in Cleveland, hands down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice room, just a bit smallish, but clean, comfortable and quiet with excellent bed. Bathroom very clean and functional. Breakfast decidedly average but at the price there is little room for complaint. Although staff were extremely ill-prepared to deal with the coach load of people they had one of the mornings we were there. Customers were visibly upset by the long wait and tiny amount of food that was eventually presented. Great location in a beautiful area of the city. Easy to get downtown and just a very short walk into Little Italy for some fabulous restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My stay here was but one night, for business at Case Western Reserve University, but I would have enjoyed staying here longer. It is a small place, has nice decor, felt more cozy and warm when compared with your larger chain hotels. The location is great, adjacent to the university, in close proximity to museums and restaurants. There is a nice Frank Gehry designed building across from the hotel. The complementary breakfast was very nice, good selection of food in a nice eating area. The room was nice, not large, but reasonably roomy, a nice desk for getting some work done. The morning newspaper was delivered to my door, a nice convenience rather than having to grab one in the lobby like many hotels. The staff was excellent, they had nice suggestions for where to dine; they also came to my rescue when I realized that I had not packed some essential toiletries, they were able to provide them to me. I would definitely enjoy staying here again on another trip to Cleveland and would recommend this place to others. My only negative was the lack of an onsite fitness facility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting Cleveland Clinic for 2 days and the Glidden House welcomed us with all the comforts of home. Located only about 5 minutes from the clinic, the staff was so friendly and helpful, providing us with directions to local restaurants and making sure we were comfortable from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. Our suite was beautifully decorated and was so quite and cozy. This was just what we were looking for as an escape after a long day of appointments at the clinic. It felt like we were home and not in the middle of a busy city. The breakfast is amazing and the parking is close and secure. The noon check-out time allows for a relaxing morning if you have time. The Glidden House will be our home away from home every time we are in Cleveland!

Room Tip: I highly recommend requesting one of their beautiful suites if they are available during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent only one night here. We had a room on the first floor. We were worried that this might be a bit noisy with the parking lot right outside. However, the room was nice and quiet and the bedding was very comfy. Breakfast was fantastic in a very relaxing setting. The only issue was that the HVAC was extremely noisy. I think that this was just our particular room and something that needs to be looked at (the unit may just need to be fixed and all will be well). We would definitely look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.