We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is probably the nicest place to stay in Cleveland. The original house is charming and the location is excellent, away from the congestion of downtown (although afternoon campus traffic can get pretty heavy). It is very convenient (walking distance) to many of Cleveland's attractions, Little Italy and some of the best restaurants. The neighborhood is very nice. The mansion suite we stayed in was very up-to-date, nicely decorated (chic) and equipped with a spacious, modern bathroom. I don't believe that there were feather pillows available and the sheets could have been softer but those are quibbles - the bed was comfortable.The service was very good with some stand-out, extra-helpful staff members and the breakfast buffet, while not ultra-gourmet, was very complete with a remarkably large variety of hot and cold choices and very convenient. Parking is included on-site. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    117
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
84
169
22
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a little getaway between Christmas and New Year, we stayed a snowy weekend at Glidden House. We had booked a mansion suite which was perfect since it had lots of room, a kitchen bar area, and a little sitting area. (Ask for a corner suite since it is larger than the middle ones.) The room was comfortable but the "retro" decor was in rather drab colors. Bathroom is very small but has modern fixtures. Maddeningly, there was NO mirror in the entire suite except over the bathroom sink. Good grief. That did not help when we were getting dressed for dinner and then the symphony at nearby Severance Hall. The Inn is all stately elegance and we enjoyed wandering the halls still decorated for the holidays. Breakfast buffet was very nice, as well. The location is perfect: just a block or two from the Cleveland Museums of Art, Historical, Natural History, Music Conservatory, Botanical Garden, Case Western U, and much more. Even in snow, we had no trouble walking everywhere. It was great fun and we will be back to check it out in the summer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful place to stay when visiting Case Western or any other University Circle attraction. On one stay, had a room in the original mansion, which was very cool! Rooms in the addition are fairly typical hotel rooms. All very nice. Parking is somewhat limited. Amazing atmosphere and beautiful grounds. Breakfast was average, nothing special.

Room Tip: Try to get in the mansion part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This boutique style hotel is in a renovated mansion. We stayed here for a visit to Case Western. It was perfect...right on campus. This was especially nice because we visited during a frigid spell with a snow storm. There was a problem with my reservation but they solved it with professional courtesy. Breakfast was a basic cereal/oatmeal/omelette buffet. The dining room is especially lovely though. The bed was very comfy and the TV was huge. Lots of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Glidden House was a delight. For no more money than we ordinarily pay at one of the international chains we had an all-included breakfast in a classy environment, a very helpful concierge-bellman, parking for no extra charge, and wonderful convenience to the Cleveland Art Museum, as well as other cultural attractions(Severance Hall, Botanical Gardens, Contemporary Art Museum, Natural History Museum).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

the glidden house is lovely---our only complaint they need to hire a chef to prepare omelets--
pancakes--waffles---oatmeal not swimming in water---flavorless french toast--dry sausage patties--as well as a better way to keep the food available warm--also the breakfast staff
shouild not call the guests "hon"----we also could not overlook the rubbery prepared eggs---

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in December when we visited Cleveland for a concert on the East side. We would have stayed downtown, but we did not read too many great reviews of the hotels there. Plus, the concert venue was closer to the University District than anything else, which is why we landed at Glidden House.

Some perks of the stay:

+Convenient location: we walked to Little Italy for dinner, found parking next to the hotel, and took a lovely stroll around the campus of Case Western
+The breakfast buffet had some delicious additions
+The hotel is well-decorated and well-maintained
+The shower in the suite was amazing; two modes--conventional and rainshower (from the ceiling)

Now for the negatives:

-High rates considering what you get for the price
-The restaurant next door is closed on Sundays!
-A "movie" was being filmed on the premises while we were staying there, and we were kept from entering our room due to the film crew's use of the lobby
-We witnessed a woman crash into a trash bin the night that we stayed here. She appeared intoxicated and disoriented, as she was driving with her passenger door open and slammed into the bin located between the hotel and the associated eatery (Sergio's).
-The suite was unremarkable. The television connection was horrible; only two bottles of water were contained in the refrigerator; and the noise level was slightly louder than I expected. Spacious, to be sure. But not worth the extra cost.

For being the only bed and breakfast in Cleveland, this was a gem. But that isn't saying much.

Room Tip: Suites are overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.