We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice--please hire a chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very nice--please hire a chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

the glidden house is lovely---our only complaint they need to hire a chef to prepare omelets--
pancakes--waffles---oatmeal not swimming in water---flavorless french toast--dry sausage patties--as well as a better way to keep the food available warm--also the breakfast staff
shouild not call the guests "hon"----we also could not overlook the rubbery prepared eggs---

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    96
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
73
147
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in December when we visited Cleveland for a concert on the East side. We would have stayed downtown, but we did not read too many great reviews of the hotels there. Plus, the concert venue was closer to the University District than anything else, which is why we landed at Glidden House.

Some perks of the stay:

+Convenient location: we walked to Little Italy for dinner, found parking next to the hotel, and took a lovely stroll around the campus of Case Western
+The breakfast buffet had some delicious additions
+The hotel is well-decorated and well-maintained
+The shower in the suite was amazing; two modes--conventional and rainshower (from the ceiling)

Now for the negatives:

-High rates considering what you get for the price
-The restaurant next door is closed on Sundays!
-A "movie" was being filmed on the premises while we were staying there, and we were kept from entering our room due to the film crew's use of the lobby
-We witnessed a woman crash into a trash bin the night that we stayed here. She appeared intoxicated and disoriented, as she was driving with her passenger door open and slammed into the bin located between the hotel and the associated eatery (Sergio's).
-The suite was unremarkable. The television connection was horrible; only two bottles of water were contained in the refrigerator; and the noise level was slightly louder than I expected. Spacious, to be sure. But not worth the extra cost.

For being the only bed and breakfast in Cleveland, this was a gem. But that isn't saying much.

Room Tip: Suites are overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for my fiancee's residency interview at Case Western. Incredibly convenient to the school and the abundant art district attractions. Also walking distance to Little Italy which made a great dinner option. The rooms are very nice with ample parking and easy access. Easy to find, smooth check-in with lots of nice recommendations from the staff. A couple of small drawbacks, no fridge or microwave in the room but a breakfast buffet was included and it had several nice selections.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times, both visiting Cleveland and as a resident when I needed a place to stay in the Circle. Very comfortable rooms and beds, attentive staff. Excellent food within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Glidden House to be close to Case Western Reserve University. When we checked in we were told we had a king bed even though I had explicitly requested 2 beds. ( I was traveling with my high school son and requested 2 beds every place we visited.) The desk clerk remedied that right away. When we got to our room, we noticed 2 bottles of water that were only partly drunk and another set of keys to our room already in the room. Most of the m\bathroom supplies were there but no soap. Everything else was made up and ready to go. It looked like someone else had been on the room briefly and then moved out.

The room itself was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The sound proofing wasn't as thorough as desired because we could hear voices from other rooms. It wasn't a huge problem but was mildly annoying. The heating system periodically made a very loud noise. The noise didn't disturb my sleep but it kept my son up.

The breakfast was very good and is served in a delightful dining room and glassed in room. There was a delicious oatmeal, choices of breads, omletes, heard boiled eggs, sweet pastries, cheese, yogurt and fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Glidden house is on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. We have stayed there twice. The rooms are perfectly clean. The beds guarantee a great night's sleep. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning that is just great. It feels like having breakfast in your own home. There is a very good restaurant next door, Sergios's, as well. Good museums and a botanical garden are in walking distance.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed here twice. The first time wasn't stellar. The 2nd time was pretty much perfection. The breakfast provided was very good both times, and we love the atmosphere of the dining area. The house is gorgeous. The location couldn't be better for our needs of visiting our son who attends Montessori High School. It is within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and museums. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.