We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B type experience in University District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now And Save
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great B&B type experience in University District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for my fiancee's residency interview at Case Western. Incredibly convenient to the school and the abundant art district attractions. Also walking distance to Little Italy which made a great dinner option. The rooms are very nice with ample parking and easy access. Easy to find, smooth check-in with lots of nice recommendations from the staff. A couple of small drawbacks, no fridge or microwave in the room but a breakfast buffet was included and it had several nice selections.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    129
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
91
187
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times, both visiting Cleveland and as a resident when I needed a place to stay in the Circle. Very comfortable rooms and beds, attentive staff. Excellent food within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Glidden House to be close to Case Western Reserve University. When we checked in we were told we had a king bed even though I had explicitly requested 2 beds. ( I was traveling with my high school son and requested 2 beds every place we visited.) The desk clerk remedied that right away. When we got to our room, we noticed 2 bottles of water that were only partly drunk and another set of keys to our room already in the room. Most of the m\bathroom supplies were there but no soap. Everything else was made up and ready to go. It looked like someone else had been on the room briefly and then moved out.

The room itself was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The sound proofing wasn't as thorough as desired because we could hear voices from other rooms. It wasn't a huge problem but was mildly annoying. The heating system periodically made a very loud noise. The noise didn't disturb my sleep but it kept my son up.

The breakfast was very good and is served in a delightful dining room and glassed in room. There was a delicious oatmeal, choices of breads, omletes, heard boiled eggs, sweet pastries, cheese, yogurt and fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Glidden house is on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. We have stayed there twice. The rooms are perfectly clean. The beds guarantee a great night's sleep. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning that is just great. It feels like having breakfast in your own home. There is a very good restaurant next door, Sergios's, as well. Good museums and a botanical garden are in walking distance.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed here twice. The first time wasn't stellar. The 2nd time was pretty much perfection. The breakfast provided was very good both times, and we love the atmosphere of the dining area. The house is gorgeous. The location couldn't be better for our needs of visiting our son who attends Montessori High School. It is within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and museums. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent botique hotel convenient to all University Circle institutions. Free parking, nicely appointed rooms, comfortable bar with great bartender (Ed) who knows everything about Cleveland, nice expanded continental breakfast with very good coffee, and an elegant atmosphere. Walking distance to the great restaurant L'Albitros and a very good restaurant Sergios. By far the best choice on the East side and maybe all of Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Really loved my recent stay at Glidden House. Great staff, especially Ed at the bar. Location is terrific, in the heart of University Circle and within walking distance of Little Italy. Sergio's is a terrific restaurant right next door. Only disappointment was breakfast, which was cold and insufficient both days.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
4.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
5.0 mi away
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
#16 of 35 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.