We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in classy B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay in classy B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything you read about the Glidden House is true. It is clearly one of the best places to stay in Cleveland. I am originally from Cleveland and usually stay with family. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary the first week of August and decided to play "tourist" instead. The stay at the Glidden House was just excellent. We actually booked our room through AARP and got a very good rate. Especially when you look at the breakfast - much more than a continental. The breakfast included an egg dish, homemade pastries, fresh fruit with berries, cereals and much more. Plus, you got two free drink tickets for the bar. Add it all up and the place was very reasonable. We stayed in one of the modern rooms. It was beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and very up to date, including a 42 inch flat screen TV. Staying on the Case campus was fun in the summer. Not sure how it would be when school is on. But, the campus and University CIrcle are really lovely areas. We walked around quite a bit. There is also a gym on campus that offers a reduced day rate for Glidden House patrons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    106
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
77
160
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

At Case Western Reserve University. Easy walking to art galleries, botanical garden, natural history museum, French and Italian restaurants, parks, enormous historic cemetery, outstanding architecture. An easy drive to other Cleveland attractions. Excellent included breakfast, nice small bar, very friendly staff, lots of nice parents of smart students.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Glidden House was a very nice little inn. Great location next to the museums and botanical garden. Nice staff, comfy bed, and huge TV. Perfect place for a business trip. I would highly recommend checking out the art museum while in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the night and stayed at the Glidden House. It was a very quiet neighborhood and a great hotel. We had very relaxing time and a restful nights sleep. I would definitely recommend it and the next time we go we will be staying there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Title is what I overheard the bartender say and he's probably right. Everything was comfortable and clean; well decorated; with friendly, helpful staff. It's a distance from downtown but several attractions (which are closed on Mondays!) are within walking distance. Breakfast is very good. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at Glidden House Inn while in town to visit Case Western University. The Inn is right around the corner from the Admissions office, so this was extremely convenient. The Inn is beautifully decorated, elegant and comfortable. The rooms are very clean, and the beds are extremely comfortable. I was worried this would be an upscale hotel, and not appropriate for a family with teenagers, but we saw many types of guests while there - businessmen in suits, couples in nice evening clothes, and families with teens. The staff were extremely courteous. Parking is tight when the Inn is full, so some cars do park along curbs, but they do allow cars to stay in the lot after check out, which was great while we were visiting the university.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed every aspect of our two-day stay...wish we could have booked more days, but they were full...Fabulous breakfast...beautiful room...friendly staff...could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.