We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Cleveland Hotel- Don't think so...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Wellington, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“#1 Cleveland Hotel- Don't think so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I just spent two days here while attending a wedding. No one available to
open front door... struggled with luggage up step... only to be faced with Front Desk individual
who informed me that our room was not ready. It was 2:30 in the afternoon and the problem
could have been dealt with if the Front Desk person had been somewhat friendly or
pleasant. Instead, she was to put it nicely, "less then helpful". After about 45 minutes she informed us that our room was ready with no apology whatsoever for the delay. To be fair.. check in time is 4 PM but the issue could have been addressed with a smile and some better customer service training. The room itself (#104) was ok although the carpet was badly stained and could use a cleaning. Only one (1) piece of soap was provided so it was annoying to keep taking the single piece of soap from the sink to the shower. The King size bed in the room was very very high off the floor, so much sothat my wife who is 5'7"in height, needed a hand up to get onto the bed. This Hotel has solved the problem of guests leaving with towels. The towels provided as so thin and threadbare that no one would ever consider taking them! As a Senior citizen it was a problem getting out of the shower as there is absolutely nothing to hang on to.... Obviously this Hotel does not have anyone concerned with "risk management". The installation of a grab bar in the shower area might be a good idea and they are fairly low in cost. The "free" breakfast is truly nothing to rave about... Basic breakfast items such as you would find in a budget type of hotel. Oh yes... room service is offered but there is no menu available in the room. Huh?There are several good things to say. Housekeeping made up our room promptly. Housekeeping staff are very polite and helpful. Checkout was quick, nice, and helpful. This time the individual at the front desk was extremely nice and professional. What a difference from our checking in experience. If you plan to visit the Cleveland Clutural attactions or Case Western University the Hotel's location is just about perfect. Would we stay here again?
A big big- NO!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden1, General Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Alancccrx,
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had challenges during your check in process. We do our best to accommodate early check in requests-unfortunately we are unable to honor every such request. Had the front desk clerk handled this matter differently, this unfortunate situation could have been avoided. Please accept our apologies. We are happy to hear that your visit ended on a positive note with a friendly and professional desk clerk at check out.
Sincerely,
Tom Farinacci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    103
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
77
155
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here on business whilst travelling across state. I probably wouldn't do this again as it took me 20 mins from the interstate, but those were just my circumstances. Would have loved to go to the botanical gardens but it was Monday and they were closed - just my luck.

The hotel is clean but downstairs it feels a bit lonely - there is not much going on. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Wifi works fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Solo business traveler, the hotel was located on the outskirts of town, basically on the campus of Case Western I found the lobby and bar area to be different, very quiet. The restaurant next door, Sergio's, provided the room service. Food was delivered in 20 minutes, but the ribeye steak I ordered was mostly fat. Very disappointing vs the cost. The room had these cheesy faux leather pillows on the beds, and the bathroom door would have been more appropriate for a cheap apartment than a highly rated hotel. I left too early in the morning to try the breakfast that everyone seems to rave about on here. First time in Cleveland and chose this hotel based on its #1 rating on Trip Advisor. As a solo business traveler, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is THE place to stay in Cleveland. A few minutes walk to Little Italy (Food, Wine stores, Art, Shopping), as well as the Albatross French Bistro (incredible french food), across the street from the Botantical Gardens (indoor/outdoor - best we've seen!) and within walking distance you can visit the outdoor cultural gardens. 5 minutes drive to downtown - but we always hurried back for happy hour at the Glidden House. Fabulous bar tender and drink specials, beautifully decorated. Complimentary breakfast - YUM. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: EVERY room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Glidden House en route to New York. We booked this hotel based upon its Tripadvisor rating and were not disappointed. The common areas are top quality. The breakfast was better than most that are included in the room rate. The room was a decent size and comfortable. The bathroom was the only area which could use improvement. The woodwork (doors, jambs and baseboards) were somewhat dirty. The granite vanity was starting to sag at the wall and the area where the floor met the baseboard was separated. In defense of the hotel, they do a good job on most things, but deferred maintenance was apparent. We would gladly return because everything else was great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Check in/out was a breeze, rooms were larger than I expected and felt new, breakfast is good. Parking is convenient. The history of the house is only a plus! An easy drive (and probably a walk) to the Cleveland clinic. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our stay in the Glidden House for my mother's memorial service was first rate -- they hosted the event and I recommend them highly for any kind of event. Beautiful surroundings, fabulous location, lovely quiet rooms, and the nicest staff anywhere. Don't miss the lobby bar: the bartender made us feel welcome, relaxed, and makes a mean margarita!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.