We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Save Saved
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I went to see the Cleveland Orchestra for our 20th anniversary and we choose to stay at the Glidden House. The property is beautiful and we were lucky enough to stay in one of the suites. The hotel is a tasteful combination of original old world charm with touches of Boutique Hotel. All the staff supplied us with wonderful guest service throughout our stay. You can have breakfast by the fire or in the garden room. Breakfast was average, could use a little work. All went above and beyond to make our stay special. We loved the University Circle area and because of it's convenience we could walk to Severance Hall , the museums, restaurants and Little Italy . Never had to get in the car once. Great Restaurants nearby , we ate at Sergios(next door) and L'Albatross (.5 block) , would recommend both. (Make sure to make reservations) Definately walk down to little italy to Presti's for cappucino and a pastry. Thank You Glidden House. You only celebrate your 20th once and we are glad we chose you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
72
146
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Glidden House has a certain rustic charm and is well located. But the rooms are small and have poor climate control (it's hard to get them to the right temperature) and the breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had at a hotel (or almost anywhere), which is saying something. I expected better. It's unclear if it's worth the premium.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I reserved one suite and one room through their website. Although I received email confirmations for both rooms, the reservation for a room had been lost before we arrived. Luckily rooms were still available. When we got to the "Suite" we were disappointed to be in a regular room. We were moved upon complaining. The rooms were FREEZING! The thermostats had been set to 60 and it took a long time for the rooms to reach a comfortable temperature. We could easily hear our noisy neighbors through the paper-thin walls. On the positive side, the breakfast was lovely and the downstairs of the inn was fun to roam around.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed overnight as a couple as a short getaway from our home in Akron. We did the "Tour" package, and upgraded to a suite. I will always choose a suite from now on, as these are the rooms in the actual house, and not the new rooms that have been added on. Their character alone makes it worth the extra $50.

Parking is easy, in a lot behind the House, and free. Wifi is free (although this seems to actually be compliments of Case Western, but who cares?) The breakfast was far better than expected, with a wide range of items to nibble on, and eating in either breakfast area is just so charming and made us want to stay forever.

The room was very clean, very comfortable, with excellent decor and lighting. The bathroom had a heated floor (which was a lovely surprise), there was a fridge, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, and 2 large flatscreen TV's.

The bar downstairs is simply charming, and has only four seats. However, there are innumerable places throughout the House for you to sit and relax and enjoy a cocktail - by the fireplace, in the garden room, in the beautiful lobby area, in the lounge area, and even each floor of the House has open cushy seating areas with small tables. The bartender, Ed, was knowledgeable and efficient, and just a pleasure to talk to. However, be aware that the $5.00 Happy Hour tapas that are advertised on the website are NOT available any longer. There is a select list of $5.00 specialty cocktails that looked inventive, but but that was the only selection for Happy Hour pricing. I asked for a Rockefeller - their take on a Manhattan (or was it an Old Fashioned?) but they were unfortunately out of one of the "secret" ingredients. Regular pricing was very reasonable, comparable to or even cheaper than local restaurants.

My biggest problem was getting out of that ridiculously comfortable bed. :)

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite to be in a room within the original House. The other rooms are part of an addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This small elegently appointed inn is just what we were looking for: located at the University Circle where museums, nice restaurants and, Severance Hall - home of the Cleveland Symphony are only steps away. The staff were very accomendating and informed. Our one concern, the heater in our room was too loud.
However that said, we have and will continue to recommend the Glidden House Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you get really tired of staying in chain hotels, where what you expect is what you get, then the Glidden House is really a nice change. It looks and feels more like a European, old world inn. The hotel is relatively small, which means you will not be standing in line and the times we have been there, it is nicely quiet. The guest rooms are well appointed, of average size, and the beds are very comfortable. The Glidden House does have a full bar but not a restaurant. However, they do serve a full hot & cold buffet each morning, which is included in the room rate, and it is very good. You can also order appetizers at the bar in the evening, and the bartender will retrieve them for you from the restaurant next door! Another good thing about the Glidden House is its location, if you want to visit any of the cultural institutions in the University Circle area - the Cleveland Botanical Garden, The Natural History Museum or Art Museum - they are all right there. And, it is a short walk also to the Little Italy area of Cleveland.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stopped for one night on our drive to St Louis because we wanted to visit the art museum. The hotel is perfectly located, the fellow who helped with our bags was extraordinarily good, our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We walked to the museum and two very good restaurants. We were so happy here that we reserved a room for our return trip before we left. My husband had traveled to Cleveland often on business and never really enjoyed it, but now we look forward to another occasion to return to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.