We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We typically stay at a lot of B&B's, but this time we decided to stay at a hotel. Glidden House was excellent. Great part of town, within walking distance to the Cleveland Botanical Garden and Little Italy. Room was modern and nice. Breakfast bar was above average, with eggs and hot breakfast items. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    118
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
84
170
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My family has stayed at Glidden House so many times over the past few years that we lost count. When our daughter (who was in college in Cleveland) moved into an off-campus apartment, my biggest regret was that we would no longer be staying at Glidden House. The inn is very conveniently located in the middle of the University Circle district. They have off-street parking (just about exactly enough for a full house.) The rooms are comfortable and updated (retaining the decorative charm of the older parts of the Inn.) One quirky detail about the rooms is that they all feature a large torch-style lamp that seems not to have any mechanism for turning off. On our first stay, exhausted after a long trip, we spent half an hour trying to turn the lamp off and finally called the front desk at 2 AM. It's a "touch lamp"-- you need only to touch the column and it turns off or on. So that explained its odd behavior.

The support staff is very friendly and helpful. They assisted us on various occasions with numerous odd requests, such as storing a bicycle overnight in the back area before dorm move-in. Breakfast is generous and ample (self-serve), but in the morning rush they seem apt to run out of silverwear and/or dishes, so don't leave your breakfast excursion for the last minute. The breakfast rooms include dining rooms and an indoor porch-- very pleasant.

There is an in house bar with a tapas menu from the excellent restaurant next door. On our first visit, we arrived fairly late, in an unexpected November snowstorm, cold and exhausted from 7 hours of driving. We had the cozy bar to ourselves, and the bartender brought us tapas-style food from next door and gave us tips for how to navigate the area without snowboots.

The only negative comment I have is that their web-based reservation system seems to have some glitches (otherwise it would be 5 stars for Glidden.) I know a number (by which I mean 3) of other families who had a similar experience to ours in which their reservation was either lost or downgraded. We arrived with 4 people expecting a room with two large beds, but were given a room with only one bed. Another family's reservation was lost altogether; another family had the same awkward situation: father, mother, and 18-year-old daughter given a room with only one bed and told there were no more cots available. In each case the staff worked hard to accommodate the families and some solution was reached-- a cot found, a room found, etc. My advice is: don't rely on an online reservation. Pick up the phone and make a verbal reservation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear elirnerak,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Glidden House. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our company held its annual holiday party at venue in University Circle, and several of us spent the night at Glidden House. The rooms are spacious and modern, and the complimentary breakfast the next morning was really good. The small bar is quaint and the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear AmyLynn230,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you choose to stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The location is great if you want to stay near the university, and check out the sights around there like the arboretum and the art museum. Our room was nice but slightly dated. There was however a very large flat screen on the wall. The rooms were pretty clean, but not spotless. The breakfast was quite substantial, however they could use one more person helping out(A few people had to wait for 5 minutes while they cleaned some plates) The staff seemed quite friendly. One annoyance was that only one elevator seemed to work which led us to take the stairs so we wouldn't have to wait. Overall I would stay here again because of the location and some of the staff. However if I found a great deal at another hotel I would take it.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Grand old building - loved the architectural detail. Desk was exceptionally helpful in finding a suite for us - hotel was all but full. Location is pretty good - we really enjoyed seeing Cleveland Art Museum and would highly recommend it. Service was good. Perhaps it was just us but atmosphere seemed a bit "stuffy". Most of guests we encountered were older, did not see other families with kids. Obviously this is not hotels fault - just something to keep in mind if you have young kids. Feel was more like hotel for wedding receptions and events. Rooms have been renovated but you can still tell building is old. Floors had major sagging in spots, carpet in our suite was very worn. Could hear person next store as if they were in the room with us. The modern bowl on table sinks were awkward and left little area for wife to put her makeup, etc. Parking lot behind hotel is small and you may have to park out on street (it's free). Not a problem if you unload luggage first at rear hotel entrance and then park vehicle. Breakfast was very average - no scrambled eggs, just baked eggs when we were there. All in all hotel was not bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear RSolomonic,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is professional, caring and was wonderful at directions, restaurant suggestions and could provide information about the nearby attractions. The hotel is on a quiet street and a perfect location to visit Case Western Reserve University as well as the museums. All were within walking distance and it was also a short walk to Little Italy. The hotel is beautiful and the common areas for breakfast was peaceful. Breakfast which is included is way above the "chain hotels". Baked eggs, breakfast meats and fresh fruit. The beds were perfect- just enough firmness but, not too hard. If we travel to Cleveland again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear TravellinFromCincy,
Thank you for your positive review of the Glidden House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to a friend we were visiting in Cleveland and because we were looking for a smaller hotel with character. The people at the desk were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room, a suite, was very attractive and comfortable. By chance we ate dinner at the restaurant associated with the hotel and had a delicious meal. The Hotel is an old mansion with many beautiful archetectural details. A small bar is tucked in opposite the elevators and was a nice convenience. We would definately stay there again, and in fact, wish we could have spent an additional night on this visit. A bonus is that the Cleveland Museum of Fine Arts is a short (5 min.) walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear lagunachris,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.