We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the cultural center of Cleveland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glidden House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glidden House Inn to your Saves list
Glidden House Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“In the heart of the cultural center of Cleveland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This gorgeous former mansion of the Glidden (of the paint company fame) family is elegantly appointed and in the heart of the best Cleveland has to offer. Having lived my first 35 years in Cleveland, and being away for 15, I can say with authority that this is THE area to stay in Cleveland as a tourist. The Glidden House is situated surrounding the high-end Case Western University, the renowned University Hospital complex, across from the Frank Gehry Peter B Lewis building and the Cleveland Arboretum. The fantastic (and free) Cleveland Museum of Art is just a few minute walk, as is Severance Hall, home of the Cleveland Orchestra. We also walked to the Crawford Auto and Aviation Museum and the History Museum is next to the Art Museum. There are several good restaurants in walking distance and Little Italy is as charming as it ever was. To sum up, the Glidden House is an upscale establishment in an upscale area. Fabulous restoration along with modern artwork, exceptionally well-appointed rooms and a classy complementary breakfast makes this choice an easy one. If you're planning a trip to Cleveland, book it now! Consider one of the packages (we did Severance Hall and got tickets worth $130 for an additional $40 and didn't have to deal with parking!).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear risen_phoenix_in_va,
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Glidden House! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you choose us the next time you are in Cleveland.
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    104
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
77
156
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I was not only impressed with this historical boutique hotel, but with its wonderful staff. I was warmly welcomed by Melissa at the front desk and I was made to feel right at home. James in concierge was GREAT! The room was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. Did not have a good view, (room 103), but I was not in the room all that much. The hotel was situated right across the street from the Botanical Gardens and other surrounding museums such as the Cleveland Museum of Natural History. The Public Square (downtown) & Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is only about 1/2 away from the hotel via RTA, (public transporation). I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had room #103 which did not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear wodahs37,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Glidden House. We hope that you will return to visit us again.
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Exceptional service. Imaculate. A small hotel with a great history (a national historical treasure). Fabulous location: half a block from one of the finest museums in the US, from Severence Hall and the Cleveland Orchestra, The University Circle is easy just for a stroll Right next to a small but excellent Italian restaurant. Cannot wait to go back and be waited upon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Ben05093,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your return visit!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Looking for a fun overnight close to museums we found this gem on Trip Advisor. We had one of the suites. It was a delicious mix of modern and antiques and the bed was extremely comfortable. However, it was a only a full bed which I know some couples object to. We wished the couch in the sitting room was more than a settee but other than that we loved our room. The restaurant was tiny but the food and service were outstanding. Our gripe... we arrived early Monday afternoon and asked for directions to the Museum of Natural History. The clerk said all museums were closed on Monday. We were confused - we had checked at home. When we got into our room we immediately checked on the internet and the museum was open. We went and enjoyed ourselves but felt cheated of the hour and a half of our visit when we just wandered around the icy freezing campus until we got in our room. When we returned I politely told the clerk that the museum was open on Mondays in case any one else asked. He actually said no I was mistaken. I had to show him our brochure and then he said that this must be something new. He was smiling the whole time but I did find this somewhat annoying.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear CeceliaMichigan,
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Due to the recent change in hours of operation for the neighboring museums, we have retrained our frontline staff to ensure that our guests receive correct and helpful information.
Sincerely,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I got married this June at the Cleveland Botanical Gardens (which is within walking distance to the Glidden). We stayed at the Glidden and recommended that our guests stay there as well (many of our guests were out of town and we almost filled the hotel). We hosted an even the Friday before the wedding. As far as events go, I don't think they have much experience in this area. I know that a few of our guests had messed up rooms, and I had to frequently talk to the staff to figure things out. It was a bit more stressful than I had hoped for.

However....the Glidden is just beautiful! The location is so great...it feels like you are staying in a home, not a huge hotel, but it's within walking distance to great food, coffee, and cultural locations (Cleveland Botanical Gardens, a must see!, University Circle, Case Western, and the Cleveland Museum of Art..which is great and is FREE).

We stayed in one of the suites (which I would recommend if you can afford it). I heard that each of the suites is decorated differently. It provided us with a lot of room and the bathroom had heated tiles on the floor...major plus! The only downside to the room is that there was just a tiny bench in lieu of a couch, which was not very comfortable.

Basically, I would definitely recommend staying here if you will be in the University Circle area, but would be apprehensive to recommend planning events or blocking a large block of rooms for your wedding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Kayellepea,
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had challenges with your wedding block during your stay. We host almost 100 wedding blocks each year and do our best to ensure that there is no added stress for the host. We are very sorry that we fell short with your group. Please accept our apologies.
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This gem is almost more a boutique hotel than a B&B. It exudes the warmth and atmosphere of an upscale inn: beautiful, clean rooms and lovely common spaces, AND importantly (for me), the service is fantastic -- staff is helpful, friendly and gracious. Food from restaurant next door VERY high quality and much better than hotel fare in general. Great bar and more intimate/down-to-earth than hotels also. Would be wonderful for unaccompanied travelers to feel comfortable. I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Teenmom77005,
Thank you for sharing the experiences of your stay. We are happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations and hope that you stay with us again!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

LOVE GLIDDEN, LOVE GLIDDEN, LOVE GLIDDEN. We had a lovely time, from the moment we walked in the door to the time we walked back out at the end of our stay. The entire staff worked to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed for a weekend getaway (we live in Cleveland) and had a blast. The neighborhood is pedestrian friendly with great eateries and coffee shops, but back to Glidden, What a great place, I highly recommend it for business travel as well as leisure. We could not be happier with our weekend getaway at Glidden House.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGliddenHouse, Front Office Manager at Glidden House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear ClevelandBob,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway at the Glidden House! We hope that you visit us again!
Best,
Laura Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glidden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden House Inn

Address: 1901 Ford Dr., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glidden House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glidden House Hotel in Cleveland Ohio is a stunning and beautiful historical mansion built in 1910; The Glidden House is a full-service boutique hotel conveniently located on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Glidden House offers guests a rare mix, an opportunity to indulge in both historical luxury and modern convenience with easy access to all that Cleveland, Ohio has to offer.The friendly and experienced staff strives daily to make your stay memorable and comfortable; it's much like staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glidden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glidden House Hotel Cleveland
Glidden Hotel Cleveland
Glidden House Inn Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glidden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.