We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Marigold Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigold Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Marigold Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chesterland B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Taking personal time away to reflect and recharge found the perfect recipe at Marigold B & B with Beverly as the Hostess. The quiet of the woods, the privacy of the spotless room and Beverly's warm friendliness calmed me in soul and also served as my home base when I was exploring the neighboring villages. Thank you Beverly!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the house tend to be more like suites and larger. All of the rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The setting is very beautiful and isolated from chaos. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and a cheese platter in the evening and sat on the patio drinking and laughing all evening with the other guests. The owner and other guests let us know where to dine and shop or go sightseeing.

Our room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a mini-fridge outside the rooms for convenience, as well as access to the full kitchen. We received delicious, organic breakfasts each morning. We had a truly relaxing, fun-filled girls weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I bought a living social special for my husbands birthday to the Marigold B&B. I am so glad I did. The certificate was going to expire in a couple months so the week-ends were booked, but they had a Sun. Mon. open. What a fantastic place to relax. Beverly was such a sweetheart! The people taking care of the grounds and cleaning the rooms were so very nice to us. If you want a calm, relaxing, nature type B & B, then this is the place. Beautiful flowers all around the patio area. Trails to walk in, or you can take the golf cart to explore. Alpacas were so cute and love being fed carrots (that Beverly will give you). The breakfast was so good! Best homemade pancakes, frenchtoast I have ever had. Brown eggs, which are sold there, fresh fruit and fresh maple syrup. We chose to upgrade to the suite with the jacuzi. It was very nice and clean. We loved looking around downstairs at all the wonderful antiques and decore. The crackers, cheese, wine glasses and wine that came with our package was a very nice touch.
If your looking for a 5 star hotel then this is not for you, but if you are looking for a very friendly, relaxing, clean and interesting place then we recommend this place. We would definately love to go back. Thank you so much Beverly for such a wonderful experience!

Dale and Isabelle Fish
Michigan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Marigold on June 16th for our anniversary. The setting is amazing! As soon as you turn off of Caves Road, you forget you're still in a Cleveland suburb. Our suite was beautiful and spotlessly clean and breakfast was great. We loved the wooded location, all the flowers surrounding the patio and the alpacas too. Then it was just a short drive to Gamekeepers for dinner in Chagrin Falls, even with a stop at Red, White & Brew. We tried the Marigold because we had a discount. We'll go back because it's such a unique and romantic B&B. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Book early to get a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We received a Living Social gift certificate of a 2 night stay at this bed and breakfast from a family member. We called 2 months prior to the expiration of the of the certificate and was told by the owners that they were all sold out and that they would not make any adjustments in timing that might allow us to come after the expiration time and take advantage of the gift. The owners told us that we would have to deal with Living Social to gain any consideration and that as far as they were concerned it was not their problem.

I don't think the Marigold Bed and Breakfast should have sold or allow their proxy Living Social to make commitments that exceed their capacity to deliver. The worst part is that they received payment and are unwilling to make any adjustments or accept responsibility.

Beware when dealing with these folks...you might get burned like us.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The setting is beautiful. A lovely wooded area, very quiet. The B+B is very nice and you feel very comfortable in the surroundings. We went for a much needed get away and some relaxation. Marigold is secluded enough to feel as though you're far away from it all, but within a short distance you can find shopping, restauarants, and even wineries. My boyfriend and I plan to come back in the fall for the R+R, but also for the hospiality and the delicious breakfast. They use organic eggs, produce and breakfast meats, and real maple syrup. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvindale, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We too got this thru the living social deal for a 2 nights stay.
We had a great time! This was my first stay at a B&B.
The B&B is very nice. Its back in a wooded area and very very quiet. I loved it! It was so very relaxing there and Beverly was VERY accomadating. If we had any questions she was always very helpful!
Breakfast was yummy both mornings. Our first morning we ate on the patio outside which was a very nice way to wake up listening to the birds singing.
Our room was clean and the bathroom was very clean. As far as the "industrial" type dispenser for shampoo and such as referred to by another review, yes it was there. It was probably empty. But, I NEVER use the stuff provided by any hotel I ALWAYS bring my own as I run into problems switching my products.
We had our bottle of wine on our second night there. We spent the day out and about in Middlefield and surrounding area's exploring and checking out the bead store and the General Store. What a cool place to visit!!
We ate dinner at Mary Yoders and highly recommend this place. We also warn you to skip the Chesterland Tavern.
On our second night we took the golf cart out for a ride and went to pet the Alpacka's...we even fed them carrots!!
There was a pond and some chairs next to it to sit and read and just enjoy nature.
The maintenance man Mike was great. We thought we saw an animal sitting in a chair and wasn't sure what it was. He saw us standing on the back patio looking at something and he came RIGHT OUT from the house to see what was the matter. As it turns out...it was not an animal at all in the chair, just our imaginations getting the best of us, but we ALL had a good laugh at it.
I feel the other reviews that complained there was nothing to do in the area, came to the wrong place or didn't go out to find what they were looking for.
For a relaxing weekend away, this place was great!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigold Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Chesterland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home. Tucked in the woods on fifteen acres closeto freeway. Twenty minutes from Cleveland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marigold Bed And Breakfast Chesterland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigold Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.