We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine & laughter in the evening, relaxation during the day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Marigold Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigold Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Marigold Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chesterland B&B and Inns
Hartland, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Wine & laughter in the evening, relaxation during the day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The setting is very beautiful and isolated from chaos. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and a cheese platter in the evening and sat on the patio drinking and laughing all evening with the other guests. The owner and other guests let us know where to dine and shop or go sightseeing.

Our room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a mini-fridge outside the rooms for convenience, as well as access to the full kitchen. We received delicious, organic breakfasts each morning. We had a truly relaxing, fun-filled girls weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I bought a living social special for my husbands birthday to the Marigold B&B. I am so glad I did. The certificate was going to expire in a couple months so the week-ends were booked, but they had a Sun. Mon. open. What a fantastic place to relax. Beverly was such a sweetheart! The people taking care of the grounds and cleaning the rooms were so very nice to us. If you want a calm, relaxing, nature type B & B, then this is the place. Beautiful flowers all around the patio area. Trails to walk in, or you can take the golf cart to explore. Alpacas were so cute and love being fed carrots (that Beverly will give you). The breakfast was so good! Best homemade pancakes, frenchtoast I have ever had. Brown eggs, which are sold there, fresh fruit and fresh maple syrup. We chose to upgrade to the suite with the jacuzi. It was very nice and clean. We loved looking around downstairs at all the wonderful antiques and decore. The crackers, cheese, wine glasses and wine that came with our package was a very nice touch.
If your looking for a 5 star hotel then this is not for you, but if you are looking for a very friendly, relaxing, clean and interesting place then we recommend this place. We would definately love to go back. Thank you so much Beverly for such a wonderful experience!

Dale and Isabelle Fish
Michigan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Marigold on June 16th for our anniversary. The setting is amazing! As soon as you turn off of Caves Road, you forget you're still in a Cleveland suburb. Our suite was beautiful and spotlessly clean and breakfast was great. We loved the wooded location, all the flowers surrounding the patio and the alpacas too. Then it was just a short drive to Gamekeepers for dinner in Chagrin Falls, even with a stop at Red, White & Brew. We tried the Marigold because we had a discount. We'll go back because it's such a unique and romantic B&B. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Book early to get a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We received a Living Social gift certificate of a 2 night stay at this bed and breakfast from a family member. We called 2 months prior to the expiration of the of the certificate and was told by the owners that they were all sold out and that they would not make any adjustments in timing that might allow us to come after the expiration time and take advantage of the gift. The owners told us that we would have to deal with Living Social to gain any consideration and that as far as they were concerned it was not their problem.

I don't think the Marigold Bed and Breakfast should have sold or allow their proxy Living Social to make commitments that exceed their capacity to deliver. The worst part is that they received payment and are unwilling to make any adjustments or accept responsibility.

Beware when dealing with these folks...you might get burned like us.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The setting is beautiful. A lovely wooded area, very quiet. The B+B is very nice and you feel very comfortable in the surroundings. We went for a much needed get away and some relaxation. Marigold is secluded enough to feel as though you're far away from it all, but within a short distance you can find shopping, restauarants, and even wineries. My boyfriend and I plan to come back in the fall for the R+R, but also for the hospiality and the delicious breakfast. They use organic eggs, produce and breakfast meats, and real maple syrup. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvindale, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We too got this thru the living social deal for a 2 nights stay.
We had a great time! This was my first stay at a B&B.
The B&B is very nice. Its back in a wooded area and very very quiet. I loved it! It was so very relaxing there and Beverly was VERY accomadating. If we had any questions she was always very helpful!
Breakfast was yummy both mornings. Our first morning we ate on the patio outside which was a very nice way to wake up listening to the birds singing.
Our room was clean and the bathroom was very clean. As far as the "industrial" type dispenser for shampoo and such as referred to by another review, yes it was there. It was probably empty. But, I NEVER use the stuff provided by any hotel I ALWAYS bring my own as I run into problems switching my products.
We had our bottle of wine on our second night there. We spent the day out and about in Middlefield and surrounding area's exploring and checking out the bead store and the General Store. What a cool place to visit!!
We ate dinner at Mary Yoders and highly recommend this place. We also warn you to skip the Chesterland Tavern.
On our second night we took the golf cart out for a ride and went to pet the Alpacka's...we even fed them carrots!!
There was a pond and some chairs next to it to sit and read and just enjoy nature.
The maintenance man Mike was great. We thought we saw an animal sitting in a chair and wasn't sure what it was. He saw us standing on the back patio looking at something and he came RIGHT OUT from the house to see what was the matter. As it turns out...it was not an animal at all in the chair, just our imaginations getting the best of us, but we ALL had a good laugh at it.
I feel the other reviews that complained there was nothing to do in the area, came to the wrong place or didn't go out to find what they were looking for.
For a relaxing weekend away, this place was great!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I also purchased the LivingSocial deal for half price on a two nights' stay. We thought that our stay was worth it for what we paid. We would have left unhappy if we had paid full price.

There's nothing WRONG with this place. The building is lovely, the furnishings nice, the bedroom was smallish but quite comfortable, the bathroom fixtures outdated but very clean. The whole property looks like a comfortable old farmhouse that's not too particular about its every corner. Beverly is very friendly and warm. Breakfast was fine, nothing extraordinary. So at the basic level, we found everything quite adequate. It was a quiet, peaceful, nice place to stay and we enjoyed ourselves. We might even return, if we could get another half price deal, but we would definitely not pay full price for a stay here.

Things we liked: small shared fridge for guests' use was nice for chilling beer, etc., gorgeous four-poster bed, very nice conversation with other guests, comfortable informal living room and patio for lounging, beautiful trails through the wooded property, use of the B&B's golf cart for leisurely riding around, nice location in Chesterland is close to a lot of activities and places to visit. We enjoyed a very nice weekend visiting local farms, small towns, antique stores and flea markets.

Things we didn't like: well... it's not exactly that there were things we didn't like. It's just that there are things that would have made our stay better. We have stayed at a lot of B&B's around the country, and we know what to expect when we check in to one, so we did not really have any surprises. We were surprised to read reviews online about cleanliness, as we found everything spotless. It's not like a fancy high-end urban-antique-district inn, but it's not pretending to be. It is what it is -- a rural B&B with its own quiet charm.

So really, what we noticed most about the Marigold was its general failure to provide any of the "little extras" that most other B&B's include for their guests. These are different at each place, but usually there are some hospitable "special touches" that make each place stand out. There was not much of that sort of thing here. A pair of fluffy bathrobes in the closet for lounging, for example (there was only one in our room), or a K-cup maker in a corner so you can always get a hot cup of coffee or tea (nothing but small carafes of water -- with one glass per couple -- here). Little snacks set out in a basket. Little books in the rooms, maybe, with lists of local attractions or area restaurants, would have been a nice touch. We had to depend on Google maps to give us ideas. Even little soaps or bottles of shampoo, as most places offer to guests, would be nice -- the Marigold bathrooms boast a giant industrial wall dispenser in the shower with labels marked "shampoo," "shower gel" and "conditioner" (though this last was empty, in ours). We were glad we'd thought to pack the nice little bottles of toiletries that had been provided for us at a different B&B we'd stayed at before.

Curtains or blinds on the bathroom window, however, are really a must rather than an 'extra' (ours overlooked the patio). I'm not sure how this has been overlooked, especially because we are not the first to comment on the problem here!

So, none of these are complaints -- just things that we have appreciated about other places that were generally lacking here.

However, we DO have a major complaint our stay. It is not really about the B&B itself, but about its excessively exaggerated marketing scheme to sell two-night packages via LivingSocial. The package was lushly advertised as including 1. "2 Italian crystal wineglasses," 2. a "wine and cheese tray," 3. a local "wine tasting," and 4. a "golf cart rental." So, ok, we received all of those things. But here's the reality of what they were:

1. We were given two perfectly ordinary-looking wine glasses in which to drink our wine, which I suppose we were supposed to just haul up to our room and wash and pack home on our own? We did not receive any directions about them, and when we left forgot to ask about them -- presumably they're still sitting around there somewhere. As they really were perfectly ordinary wine glasses, we did not feel particularly inclined to take them home.

2. Beverly kindly prepared the 'wine and cheese tray' for us, which was a dinner plate containing some ordinary Nabisco crackers and some cubes of colby jack cheese, and a bottle of a brand of wine which we had just purchased at the grocery store the other day for $3.29. There was nothing wrong with cheese or crackers or wine, they were fine -- but don't come expecting anything special. No gourmet cheese or interesting wine or even water crackers, here. This is as ordinary as it comes.

3. The "wine tasting" was by far the most deceptive item of this package, and a real stretch. Whoever thought to include this in a "package deal" should be ashamed of themselves. The "Red, Wine and Brew" place is simply a big wine & beer store (a very good one, with an extraordinary selection, but again, nothing fancy here -- just a big store) and their "wine tasting" consists of a few miniature plastic cups next to the cash register, into which they will pour a few drops of whatever bottle they happen to have open, and which one is expected to drink while wandering the aisles of their store. They will do this for whoever walks in their door on a weekend evening. If you come in on a weeknight, there is no wine and no tasting. I don't think that the folks at this store even know that they were "included" in this package. This is not an "included item" in a guest package at all -- this is a shameless attempt to try to make a basic B&B stay into something that it is NOT. Honestly embarrassing for whoever's brilliant idea THAT was.

4. Golf cart rental. Another deceptive marketing item. The golf cart exists, certainly, and any guest at the Marigold may ask to use it. We did, and it was quite nice. But to call it a "rental" is totally odd.

The weirdest part of this was, when we asked about the "golf cart rental" and the "wine tasting" that were "included" in our "package," Beverly gave us rather an odd, embarrassed look and explained, "well, it's not really a wine tasting -- you can just go to the store and they'll give you a taste of something" -- and about the golf cart, "well, there's no rental, it's just here, I'll get it out of the shed for you if you want." I mean, WE weren't the ones who wrote up the exaggerated claims of the package, we just bought it, you know? And we were asking about it using the language that the B&B provided for the "package deal." If there IS no 'rental' then it should not have been advertised that way.

So, in short, our whole experience was really fine. It was generally a bit less than we were expecting, but not overwhelmingly so. We would have enjoyed it much more if we had not bought a "package deal" that advertised an experience that was very different than what we had. I am very glad I did not buy this as a gift (we nearly did) because all of these oversold "package extras" would have been extremely embarrassing for us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a whirlpool room. We peeked in... it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigold Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Chesterland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home. Tucked in the woods on fifteen acres closeto freeway. Twenty minutes from Cleveland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marigold Bed And Breakfast Chesterland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigold Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.