We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Marigold Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigold Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Marigold Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chesterland B&B and Inns
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Marigold! We booked our stay though Groupon and planned our stay as a chance for R&R, sightseeing and Geocaching. This is one of Ohio's most scenic areas. The B&B was quaint with charming decor and lovely grounds. Beverly, our hostess, was wonderful and treated us graciously. We relaxed with wine, tea and cheese on the patio after we arrived and spent the day exploring the countryside, geocaching and ended with dinner in nearby Chagrin Falls. Our room was lovely and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, with the best French toast I have ever had! We have stayed at B&B's both in the U.S. and abroad, and rank Marigold as one of the nicest! We feel like we have made a new friend, because Beverly treated us like friends! Snowberry and her fellow Alpacas were fun to visit! We enjoyed the cheese factory in Middlefield and driving around Amish country before heading home. We highly recommend Marigold B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

The service was good. Breakfast was nice. The living social deal was misleading. We didn't get everything included (golf cart and wine tasting). Not alot to do in a ten mile radius.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast.l We were given this package from Living Social as an anniversary gift from our daughter and son-in-law in August. I called in January to make the reservation for a weekend in June and was told that every weekend was booked through August (when our coupon expired). We booked for April 4 and 5. The wine tasting part of our package was only available on weekends so we lost out on that due to no reservations being accepted on weekends. Although the place seemed to be clean, it was very worn out. We did not have a tv in our room and the other guest that did said that they were not working, along with the tv in the common area. I think this was due to lack of cable hook up which probably explains why my emails would not go through. Our room had a toilet that dripped all night and also continuously made loud "snoring" noises. The shower quit running right in the middle of my husband's shower and then started up again about a minute later. The absolute worst part of our stay was that the water smelled like sewage! I was thankful that I noticed before I brushed my teeth! We used alot of cologne and perfume after our shower to kill the odor and couldn't wait to get a shower at our hotel! The best part of our stay was chatting with the 3 other couples that stayed there at the same time we did - all very nice people. Oh yes, the breakfast was mediocre at best. I don't know how you can mess up scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly J, Manager at Marigold Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Unfortunately our outside pole was struck by lightning and we have kept the electric and telephone company very busy. This has been over a 2 week period. It destroyed two tvs and the electricity was off for 14 hours. We were down another 6 hours this week to replace the telephone line from the street to the house which is about 390 feet.
This also affected the well and pump when it was off. The room most effected was directly above the pump. The system has been reset and backwashed and the water is running
clear. Fortunately for us our pump was not burned out because it is fairly new.
We apologize for any inconvenience and did offer to move this guest with an upgrade.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I purchased a package through Living Social in December for a stay at Marigold. I immediately called Beverly and was told that the inn was essentially booked solid for the next five months. We were slated to stay on the 7th and 8 th of this month but were notified on the 5 th that she was bumping our reservation. We were offered no compensation or options that fit our schedule and are now dealing with trying to get a refund. Further, I was told by a LS rep that ANOTHER couple had also launched a complaint. Apparently this place is only nice if you pay full price. a bad experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly J, Manager at Marigold Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We try very hard to accomodate everyone and go out of our way to please. This was
beyond my control. We had to extended guest stay because of the situation with
the 101 Grandmother.

I offered to extend the August 27th deadline of the voucher through December of 2012 but customer refused.

Thank you

Marigold Bed and Breakfast
Beverly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was our first experience at a B&B. Our 2-night visit was wonderful. The B&B is exceptionally clean, rooms are nicely appointed and Beverly and the staff are extremely friendly. This B&B is close to Amish country and lots of shopping, from Aurora Farms Outlet to Beachwood Place and Legacy Village. There are many restaurants near these shopping areas as well.

The surroundings are peaceful, yet easily accessible. They have Alpaca's on the property and a sweet old family dog, Bella. There are short paths to walk in the woods as well.

We had a basic room with a queen bed and private bath. The bathroom heater made it nice and toasty in there. I would suggest a blind on the window in the room, though. The king room with the jacuzzi would be wonderful--it's much larger and would be worth the additional cost--if that type of room is appealing to you. Breakfast was nice--fresh fruit, coffee, juice, pancakes or french toast, sausage, eggs--standard breakfast fare.

This is a well-appointed, comfortable B&B--not the Hyatt or Marriott. The rates are reasonable and we would recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room available if you'd like a king bed, large bathroom and double whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Good size, clean, comfortable, private rooms. Quiet, peaceful settings, and close to the Cuyahoga County Airport area. Pleasant people with a gift for hospitality. Excellent breakfast, and half the price of the chain that my co-workers stayed at. I bookmarked this one, and will defintely be back when I visit the area again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi available in the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a romantic getaway. I would recommend the King room on the second floor. Very private w/ huge Jacuzzi tub between the bathroom and bedroom. Beverly is a great host and prepared us a fantastic breakfast the following morning. I would highly recommend staying and will go back again. Don't forget to go down and see the Alpaca!

Room Tip: Ask for the King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigold Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12647 Caves Rd, Chesterland, OH 44026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Chesterland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home. Tucked in the woods on fifteen acres closeto freeway. Twenty minutes from Cleveland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marigold Bed And Breakfast Chesterland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigold Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.