We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish fry” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yop's Time Out Grille - CLOSED

Yop's Time Out Grille
11095 Chardon Rd, Chardon, OH 44024-9732
440-285-9953
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Grill
Restaurant details
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fish fry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

AWFUL. tasteless fish. greasy, limp fries. a server that called me a 'sellout' because i didn't order alcohol. how does she know if i am the designated driver or just choose not to drink for any # of reasons. cobwebs everywhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Bar Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is just your plain old bar - with a kitchen that knows how to cook. Don't expect a red carpet or a spotless wood floor - it's a bar. But do expect decent food.
The gumbo recipe was perfected by previous owner and the tradition has carried on. A must try for those who like the spice.
Their chili is one of the most flavorful around. All the food is just plain old good.
In the summer there is outdoor seating. There is a pool table for indoor fun and some televisions. The locals come to eat, drink and see buddies. Join the crowd when you are in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Gumbo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just a local joint - kinda cool. The food is only average. Everyone stops to stare when you walk in, then resumes their drinking, eating and loud talking. However - and this is a big one - their gumbo is to crave and die for. It's spicy just to the point where you think it could be bothersome - but it's not. Tasty and excellent. Take some Time Out and try the gumbo!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Local Bar resteraunt with great burgers and specials”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is my local bar/restaurant and I have been going there for years. The food is typical bar food except for the prime rib and rib dinners that are very good and very inexpensive...especially if they are the special of the day. They have something on special every day....Wed are burgers, Sun is ribs, Friday is fish and Tuesday's is pizza. Very casual place.

Even though this is a bar, there is a seating area and I see lots of families in the early evening. There are some video games, pool table, mechanical bowling lane, ATM, and a juke Box.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“It' Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stopped in on their prime rib night, for the money (I think was was $13p/p) it was okay, and I mean what can you really expect for that kind of money?

This is a neighborhood bar, salt of the earth place, nice people decent daily specials. They don't have the latest and greatest when it comes to flat screen TVs but you can most likely catch the sporting event of your choice. It would not be my first choice, however.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yop's Time Out Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yop's Time Out Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.