We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abandoned Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Club at Hillbrook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagrin Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Club at Hillbrook
Save
You added The Club at Hillbrook to your Saves list
14800 Hillbrook Drive, Chagrin Falls, OH 44022 (Formerly Hillbrook Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Abandoned Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had planned on arriving to the inn between 3 and 4 (check-in begins at 3). At 2:59, I received a call from a man saying he would be leaving my key on the front desk and that I could show myself to my room. The inn was in the middle of nowhere, there were no guests and no workers there for our first night's stay, and the inn was poorly lit and quite creepy. We were left with no contact number in case of emergency and we didn't encounter any other people until going downstairs the next morning (there was one lady working in the office). I would not EVER recommend staying here. Not worth the cost (even with the LivingSocial deal I got).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
106
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the minute we entered the Club at Hillbrook, we knew we were in for a special treat. The hostess graciously showed us to the Burke Room. The room was well appointed. The bath was fresh and modern. That evening we dined in. Our dinners were perfection, and our waiter made sure we wanted for nothing. After we finished our desserts, we started to explore the mansion. One of the waiters said she had a few free minutes and would be happy to show us around. She gave us history and opened up a section that was closed for the winter months. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was a typical continental breakfast. I look forward to returning to the Club at Hillside and have already recommended it to some friends.

Room Tip: The Club at Hillbrook accepts credit cards only. We really enjoyed the Burke Room which was origina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just visited the Club at Hillbrook, from a living social promotion. When we arrived a few hours before check-in, they went to see if our room was cleaned, and to our delight, it was and they allowed us to go to our room. We stayed in the Sherwin Suite, and it was spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We had a couple hours before our massage appointments so we took a short drive to the quaint town of Chagrin Falls. It was the first warm day we have had in a while, so everyone was out and about. We had lunch, visited some boutiques, viewed the falls and just had a lovely time. We went back to our room, and we were retrieved by our massage therapist, who took us across the hall to the massage room. Our couples massage met our expectations, and we both enjoyed them very much. Dinner was at 6:30, and we took a bottle of wine we had purchased in Chagrin Falls. We both felt that $15 for a corkage fee was a bit high, but we still allowed it. The food was very good. I thought they were staffed a little light, as we had to wait a little while to place our order, but overall, the food was very good, the servers were very pleasant and we enjoyed our meal. My husband would have enjoyed music playing during the meal. The house was very beautiful and the history of the mansion was very interesting. Old houses have creaks and noises and our room did have a very loud banging on the pipes. Once during the day and once in the middle of the night. It truly sounded like someone had a wrench and was banging as loud as they could on the pipes. It did wake me up, and after about ten or fifteen minutes, it stopped. I just chalked it up to the eccentricities of the home. i would most definitely return to this property, perhaps in the summer when the pool is open and the grounds are in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We tried the Club at Hillbrook based on a deal from Travel Zoo and really enjoyed the experience. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Extra amenities that made the stay especially nice included:

- a voucher towards dinner (the food was excellent)
- robes waiting for you in your private bathroom
- late afternoon/early evening cookies and coffee & hot tea that were available at any time during your stay
- a nice continental breakfast
- a small box of chocolates & bottled water in your small room fridge

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more! We stayed in the Chisholm, and it was beautiful! We highly recommend the Club at Hillbrook!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We drove out from Pittsburgh for a deal from Travel Zoo not knowing much about the area. We wanted a Saturday night, but all the rooms were taken so we went Friday after leaving work early. It's about a two hour drive from Pittsburgh and only the last few miles were not on interstate highways. The Club is somewhat off the beaten path in a wooded area. The staff was very attentive and not pretentious. The building is old but well maintained and the rooms are very clean. Part of the package was a discount for dinner. Dinner was excellent with very good service. The town of Chagrin Falls is only about 10 minutes away. It is scenic and has good restaurants and some interesting stores. Hillbrook is also fairly close to downtown Cleveland and I would consider staying at Hillbrook before checking into a chain hotel closer in the city. Hillbrook does not serve alcohol. You must bring your own and pay a bottle fee. To the delight of wine snobs like my wife, there is a Trader Joe's just off the interstate exit where you can get some incredible deals on amazingly good wine. TJ's in PA aren't permitted to sell wine.

Room Tip: Our room was over some kind of motor (exhaust fan) that ran all night. Not loud, but you knew it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We loved the place, elegant retreat. Stayed in the Burke Suite, beautiful view, quiet, peaceful and romantic. Very friendly staff. Dining menu is simple but excellent. Scheduled 2 hr spa treatments and enjoyed every minute, highly recommend the treatments.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are the Sherwin (bright and cheery), or the Burke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on recent business trip and for me it was like being at home in Worcestershire England.
Magnificent setting very attentive staff only one negative my room was illuminated through the window blind at night due to a halogen light in the rear yard that was on from Dusk till dawn.
Breakfast was good and used the restaurant only one occasion for evening meal and it was very nice.
Would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Club at Hillbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club at Hillbrook

Address: 14800 Hillbrook Drive, Chagrin Falls, OH 44022 (Formerly Hillbrook Club)
Location: United States > Ohio > Chagrin Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chagrin Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter the gates of Hillbrook, one experiences the sudden disappearance of everyday cares. The Club seems a world away, yet it's just 30 minutes from downtown Cleveland and 5 minutes away from the picturesque historical downtown Chagrin Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Club Hotel Chagrin Falls
The Club At Hillbrook Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club at Hillbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.