We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but very good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
5 E Franklin St., Centerville, OH 45459
(937) 312-1350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Centerville
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Casual but very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Very casual (sandwiches served on paper wrapping) but the food is almost southern comfort good food. Seasonal sweet potato casserole is very good as is the corn pudding (rich and creamy) . I really like the self serve pickles, too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Have you tried our FRIED pickles?! My favorite! Email me with your mailing address at jordan@citybbq.com and I will send you a voucher to try them, on us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A bit pricey for a "fast food" atmosphere, but the food is good. Barbecue can be a little fatty, but unless you make your own, that's what you'll get. The restaurant folks will not take the time to trim off the fat the way I would at home. Many sauces to choose from, too, so every visit can be different!

Great tasting sides, and unique bottled drinks help round out the dinner. Located next to Graeter's Ice Cream--a perfect finish to the spicy sandwiches.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

First time I have been there in awhile. Not bad, but not the greatest. Not cheap but not the most expensive.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We truly appreciate all feedback- if you have any specific items that could help us improve, let me know jordan@citybbq.com. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The food is good and prices are reasonable. The sweet tea is delicious, and my husband loves the corn pudding. Their sauces are very flavorful and meat is good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavour, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm kinda new to the whole American BBQ style (I'm an Aussie) but this was a great experience.
I loved the flavour, it had good atmosphere and the decor suited the establishment perfectly.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan F, Guest Relations Manager at City Barbeque, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hey Adam! Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your first American 'Que experience. I would absolutely love to send you a free meal voucher to welcome you to the neighborhood :) Please send your mailing address to jordan@citybbq.com

Thanks again, we really appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.