We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an expensive 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria Donnaloia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Masseria Donnaloia to your Saves list
Masseria Donnaloia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Losciale, 1, 70043 Capitolo, Monopoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitolo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is an expensive 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is fine, the decoration of the hotel is poor, the pool and its infrastructure are cheap, the rooms are like a 3 star hotel, the staff members were bad looking and the service is medium.
It is not bad if you know youre going To a cheap hotel, but when I booked, they sold me a 5 star hotel at high rates...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

You WERE a guest of a fortified farm in Puglia (see Wikipedia), faithfully restored to preserve the spirit of civilization of this land, an expression of our life in the XVII AND XVIII century, obtaining a 5 Star Resort, where the NECESSARY technological systems have been carefully hidden.

You will agree that the effort was economically significant, both in terms of labor costs, both in terms of economic costs.

What would you think of someone who suggested to change Leeds Castle with its dreaming spiers, built in 1199 for King Edward I, and used as a residence by Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon, lowering the spiers, plastering the outer walls and placing the tiles to give a bit of color?

Sincerely.

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    38
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
35
80
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great hotel for exploring this region of Puglia. Beautiful grounds, rooms and common spaces. The service is great - we were welcomed by Franceso when we arrived and everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Good breakfast selection and we had dinner at the Masseria one night for a special Apulian dinner. You can walk into Capitolo at night or to the public beach. THey have a shuttle or you can drive (5 minutes) to a private beach club that is included in with your room. Overall just a wonderful experience. Will go back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
I will be sure to pass on your kind review to the team. It is always wonderful to hear as a owner that the team are delivering to our customers, fantastic experiences.
We strive to welcome our guests and make them feel like they are coming home.
Your reviews regarding the location and the beach service are also very complimentary. Thank you for your review and I do hope you will visit again the next time you are in Puglia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is simply spectacular built in an ancient 17 century fortress. The lobby and all the areas are excellent.
It's very clean and the food is fantastic.
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice between cakes, croissants, fruit etc.
There is a swimming pool outside and we can see the sea from the window.
The room is also prepared for the night before we went to sleep, great care of each detail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your experience.
It was a pleasure having you here and we are happy you enjoyed our location, the service and the organization.
Looking forward to accomodate you again in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is quaint, a little off the beaten path from Monopoli, which is not a bad thing. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the service is top notch and the food is exquisite! The breakfast buffet is nice, but (warning to Americans like myself) consists of mostly cold cuts, cheese and yogurt. I am dairy and meat free and they were more then happy to accommodate me and whipped up some scrambled eggs with tomatoes and basil. Point here" they will go out of their way to please you. Same when I missed the breakfast buffet due to jet lag: they took my order and delivered it to the pool, which was lovely! If you are looking for a charming hotel, in a renovated farmhouse, with lovely service, attention to detail and lovely rooms, this place is for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your extremely complimentary review.
I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed all services which the Masseria Donnaloia offers.
We hope you come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Masseria Donnoloia just outside of Monopoli is a beautifully renovated farmhouse. Its elegant charm is only surpassed by the amazing service of its staff. Everyone was extremely attentive, friendly and concerned for our comfort. Our room on the main floor was well appointed and spotlessly clean.

The pool is wonderful as is the surrounding poolside area, which was wonderful for late afternoon lounging. We had dinner at the hotel twice and lunch once as well as all of our breakfasts. All were very good.

The hotel is situated a short walk (10 minutes) from the sea and area restaurants. There are a number of small public beachfronts that are easily accessible.

We were sad to leave this spot and would return and recommend it to others in a heartbeat. Book it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your fantastic review. It is appreciated, as is your custom. I will pass on your kind words to the team as they will be appreciative. I hope you enjoyed the performance and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Puglia.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location near Capitolo beach area, walking distance but better with a car. From the second we walked through the door and were very warmly greeted by the staff, our 3 day stay at Donnaloia was perfect. Great restaurant, ambiance, pool area. Next time I will upgrade to a larger room although the standard room is lovely. I'm a foodie and was impressed with the menu and quality of the dishes, talented chef. This place is quiet, a nice respite from the busy beach area. My 17 year old daughter and I felt very peaceful at this hotel, it has a certain aura. No hesitation recommending it. Used book area, impressive renovation, old world feel.

Room Tip: Be selective about the room if you can, it seems there are different styles, some roomier and more i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnaloia M, Direttore at Masseria Donnaloia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I will be sure to pass on your kind review to the team. It is always wonderful to hear as a owner that the team are delivering to our customers, fantastic experiences.
We strive to welcome our guests and make them feel like they are coming home.
Your review regarding the food is also very complimentary. Thank you for your review and I do hope you will visit again the next time you are in Puglia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 3 days in Puglia and the hotel was really good choice. Nice antique decor, modern facilities and nice staff. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masseria Donnaloia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Donnaloia

Address: Contrada Losciale, 1, 70043 Capitolo, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli > Capitolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capitolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Masseria Donnaloia 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masseria Donnaloia, typical Apulia’s stone structure, is situated 250 meters far from the sea and is surrounded by the green Apulia’s hills.It goes back to the First Century during the Traiano’s Empire as restore place, excavated in the rock, for travellers that transited on the old Appia road that connected Rome to Brindisi’s harbour, the Masseria Donnaloia, after a recent skilful restoration , completed respecting the old shapes and the original building materials, is now a charming five stars hotel.Placed on a hill that fronts the sea, immerse in the green of the “Mediterranean macchia” , olive trees, carob trees and palms, it appears like a pearl between sunup and sunset, qualified to offer hospitality to a refined guests.The Masseria offers 27 rooms, among Standard, Superior, Executive and De Luxe, all equipped of TV, mini bar,safe,direct telephone line,, air conditioning, ,liner furnishing and soundproofed rooms, bar, snack at lunch time , restaurant, reading room,newspapers,meeting room,, swimming pool with, beach (convenctioned) 200 meters far, massages and beauty treatments using natural products, such as olive’s oil. It’s location allow to reach easily and in few minutes the important cultural places more visit like Alberobello’s Trulli, the caves of Castellana Grotte, the white town of Ostuni, the characteristique old town of Cisternino, the amusing Safari zoo, the rocky churches of Monopoli, the ruins of Egnathia excavation , the wonderful reef of Polignano a Mare and only six chilometers separate us from the golf field at 18 holes.The staff operating constituted from level staff with an elevated sense of the hospitality,they contribute to render the stay in Masseria a experience to insert between the most beautiful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Masseria Donnaloia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria Donnaloia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.