We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate results from so much potential.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Grand Hotel to your Saves list
McKinley Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Canton
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate results from so much potential.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Front desk was responsive to our needs but fell very short. No towels in the room but a shower mat for the shower. We called the front desk and they brought us towels but they could not provide wash clothes because " it's been a difficult day for house keeping". Pricelines evaluation of a 3.5 star is a bit of a stretch. Furniture is quite dated and worn. Bed was comfortable enough, nothing to get excited about. There were a few holes in the wall that are poorly spackled.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    49
    50
    24
See reviews for
44
58
22
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the McKinley Grand for a visit to Ohio to attend a wedding. We were late making reservations due to my work schedule and were unable to stay at the hotel recommended by the wedding event. I booked this through Priceline and was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was when we arrived. Yes, it is an old hotel, but it has been really taken care of and looks to have been refurbished in recent years. They also went out of their way to help us... we were coming from 2 1/2 hrs. away and didn't want to attend the wedding in clothes we had driven in for so long. Even though check -in wasn't until 3 pm, I called ahead and they arranged for early check -in so we could dress at the hotel. Even though they were extremely busy themselves hosting a wedding event there, they took the time and effort to accommodate us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville,Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A mostly positive experience , check in could have gone a little faster but once we got through the line of bridesmaids checking in our check in went without a hitch. Our room was fine and the rest of hotel appeared to be clean , I do agree with another reviewer that the pool area needs some attention but we swam in the pool and it was fine also . This hotels location was great for the Canton Blues Festival as it is only a couple blocks away , all in all I would recommend this hotel if you find yourself on Downtown Canton and Need a place to stay :)

Room Tip: have rooms at poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

my son and i were in town for baseball tournament...easy to find, clean rooms, very friendly staff. my son loved the beds, lol...check-in took awhile, but bonus was that we got free breakfast for our 2 day stay(which i wasn't expecting). All this for an awesome price on Hotwire! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is old and celabrates President Mckinley, I understand that but, the Pool area is a mess, the rooms are outdated. The pool area needs some attention, first there is a lot of rust on the bottom of pool , second the hot tub was out of order and empty. The surrounding area of the pool needs painted and touched up. The pool has a lot of potential but alot of time and investment.
The rooms are outdated. The table are old and brown. The bed spreads are brown, the window curtains are brown.. see a theme here . The Hotel can still play to the old days of president mckinley but have some color and updates to it also .
The hotels caters to weddings( three the weekend we were there.) So expect some noise.
On a good Note: The staff were nice and friendly . The bar was descent. The breakfest was good but you spoiled it by charging me for coffee. The food was good in the resturuant but a little pricey. Parking was easy. Asked for a small fridge in room and that was given at no charge. This hotel has a lot of potential. With some updating in the rooms and pool area and basic decor it could be much better. I will stay here again because of the price but will start looking elsewwhere also.

Room Tip: Parking ticket is good for only one day. There are rooms right next to pool area that look awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I'm just sooooooo surprised that some People love the Hotel and some really hate it !!!!! We make the Trip from PA to OH every 3 Month to visit Family , back in December we stayed at Cambria Suites ( much more expensive then the Mckinley Hotel ) it was terrible !!!!! in March we stayed at the Comfort Inn ( we like Hotels with Pools ) the Room was dirty and the Pool had been closed for month !!!!!!!!!!! in May we stayed at the McKinley Hotel and where pleasantly surprised, and the staff is awesome !!!, this will be OUR Hotel when we visit Family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My experience was almost exactly same as shellzbellz2, right down to the room #. We booked through Hotwire, so we got a very good price. We were checked in by Anthony who was friendly, helpful and efficient. We noticed that the sign stated 100% smoke free, but obviously it's not always been that way. The 1st room we were given was smelly - when you're a non-smoker, it's immediately evident. No problem, Anthony moved us to Room # 600 - it is very spacious. Yes, the furniture is a little old and bumped up, but I'm not buying the place, just staying for the weekend. There was a wedding in the hotel, so there was some hallway noise late at night / early morning. That's not the hotel's fault, just people who have no respect for others!

We had no problem parking on the street and since we were not at the hotel during peak day time hours, we did not have to feed the meters. We did receive breakfast coupons, but actually only used them on one day. Nothing to get excited about there and disappointing that it does not even include coffee.

There is a police station just around the corner, so I considered it to be a safe neighborhood, although admittedly we did not spend much time in the area.

Room Tip: The corner suite is large and on it's own - no walls are shared with other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.