We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added McKinley Grand Hotel to your Saves list
McKinley Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Canton
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was expecting a better hotel.. The place is old & needs renovations. The furniture is worn & the bed was sagging in the middle. I got the room from priceline, thought it was a good deal but not really.. You have to park across the street then walk using sky walk to get back to hotel.. Just old.. Feel like I should have spent $25 more and got a really nice room. Would not go back..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    42
    47
    24
See reviews for
42
52
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Thomas, Ky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel had a lot of charm. Room was clean and comfortable. Unlike previous review, I found the bed very comfortable and I am picky about that. The food and service was very good. Price was a bargain and included breakfast and parking. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I managed to get a deal on this hotel through Priceline and stayed for a couple of days for an interview. It is a privately owned hotel that was at one point in time a Marriott, I believe.
I parked in the garage for 8.00 a night and used the sky walk to access the hotel, although there is free street parking at night until either 6 or 8 am.

The staff was friendly and the room was clean; with the exception of the hairdryer with long hair pre-stuck in the vents. Also note that the end rooms are apparently bigger than the rooms in the middle, thankfully I was given an end room (which I compare to a normal size hotel room).
The beds were extremely soggy, for lack of a better word. It's likeness is compared to a sleepover at your grandma's with her sunken in mattress from the 20's.
Albeit I did sleep well.

The extra security lock in my room was loose on its' hinges, they should tighten it up.




Pros:
*Support local business
*Bath and Body Works Supplies
*Free wifi was included, my laptop worked with "skyriver" (their wifi name), but neither my iPad or iPhone 5 even picked up the connection.
*Friendly Staff
*Middle of downtown
*Skywalk

Cons:
*Not worth even the deal I booked on Priceline after taxes, but it served my purpose. (I'm being serious.) And it would be laughable for anyone to pay FULL price.
*I don't feel like this is a 3 star hotel.

The room service for breakfast actually costs more than some options at the Hyatt Regency...I would skip this and find a place down the road.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end are apparently larger. I didn't ask, but was given an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The McKinley is immaculate!

A hotel from yester-year with the old time charm, and yet today's conveniences.

Beautiful carpets and fixtures. Well kept, clean rooms with spotless bathrooms.

Restaurants on site, and what isn't is within walking distance or a short driving distance if you insist.

Must pay to park in the garage, but the staff gives you an affordable in and out pass.

Gym on site. Public gyms nearby.

Highway is a hop, skip and a jump away.

Staff is educated and dignified, and treatment is first class.

Stay at the McKinley!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for an event on 2/16/13, had reserved king bed. Checked in, went to room with all our luggage, SUPRISE, 2 double beds. NO one at the desk had said anything about it. Went back down, was told they had oversold kings. Asked for manager, was told I had to CALL her, on MY phone. Did that, left a message while in the lobby. No has called back yet and it has been over a week. What type of hotel has desk people who do not tell you BEFORE you check in, that you are not getting what you ordered? What kind of manager goes into hiding when they know they are going to have unhappy customers? No offer was made to adjust the bill or add any amenities. To round off the experience, the elevators did not work when the event was over at 1130pm. We were on the 7th floor. Their solution was to have you go into this very unclean area and use the dirty service elevator. Make sure you are getting something you want.

Room Tip: make sure you go to the room before you are going to be charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were there for a wedding reception at the end of December 2012, coming from out of town and extended family of the groom, we spent Friday and Saturday night. The hotel was fairly easy to access, however the parking is in a garage across the street, they do not "validate" parking, but will let you buy an unlimited parking pass for $8.00 per day so you can come and go as you please. There is a walk over from the garage to the hotel, so no need to cross the street with your luggage and elevator's are in the garage as well. FYI, there was no attendant there on the weekend, so don't waste your money on the unlimited pass. The hotel is "dated" and needs to be renovated. The beds were comfy, and you could hear every bit of noise from the hallway. The hotel does have an inhouse bar/restaraunt and the food was not bad for the price. The food for the reception was FABULOUS!!!! The pre-reception food was awesome as well. The front desk staff was very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. We read the reviews online after priceline booked us this hotel and we were pretty scared by the horrible reviews. Our experience was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly. Our room was clean and perfect for a two night stay. The bathroom was tiny but nothing that we couldn't work with. The beds were super comfortable. I don't think I woke up once. The bar and restaurant was fantastic and the food was delicious. We will be sure to stay here again when we return to visit family!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.