We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception Venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Grand Hotel to your Saves list
McKinley Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were there for a wedding reception at the end of December 2012, coming from out of town and extended family of the groom, we spent Friday and Saturday night. The hotel was fairly easy to access, however the parking is in a garage across the street, they do not "validate" parking, but will let you buy an unlimited parking pass for $8.00 per day so you can come and go as you please. There is a walk over from the garage to the hotel, so no need to cross the street with your luggage and elevator's are in the garage as well. FYI, there was no attendant there on the weekend, so don't waste your money on the unlimited pass. The hotel is "dated" and needs to be renovated. The beds were comfy, and you could hear every bit of noise from the hallway. The hotel does have an inhouse bar/restaraunt and the food was not bad for the price. The food for the reception was FABULOUS!!!! The pre-reception food was awesome as well. The front desk staff was very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    51
    50
    24
See reviews for
47
60
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend. We read the reviews online after priceline booked us this hotel and we were pretty scared by the horrible reviews. Our experience was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly. Our room was clean and perfect for a two night stay. The bathroom was tiny but nothing that we couldn't work with. The beds were super comfortable. I don't think I woke up once. The bar and restaurant was fantastic and the food was delicious. We will be sure to stay here again when we return to visit family!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Don't even bother with the so called "business center". 15 year old computers. 2 - 3 minutes to load a website. Unfortunately my job makes me stay there every so often, and I have noticed severe allergies every time. I believe there is mold in the A/C units on the wall, so when you turn it on it spreads mold all over the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFFERSON
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because of a good rate on Hotwire. The hotel is right in downtown Canton, which isn't that great. We checked in, went to the room and everything seemed fine. We went to dinner and returned to find that half of the room had no electricity. After the maintenance man tried to get the power on and couldn't, we moved to the room next door. This hotel was probably grand at some point. The room felt tired and dated. The bed was lumpy. The carpet could use a good cleaning. We could hear everyone out in the hall. Around 3 AM, there were young adults running up and down the hall yelling, laughing and banging on doors. This went on for quite awhile until I opened the door and asked them to quit banging on the doors. The bathroom was clean. Ice maker on our floor was inoperable. The lighting in the room was minimal. We chose to park on the street rather than pay $6.75 per day to park in the garage. TV had very few channels. Guess this hotel is centrally located. Wouldn't stay here again without getting a great rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'd agree with a previous reviewer who said that every review of this hotel on this site is true--the laudatory and the negative both. The McKinley Grand appears to be a once-great hotel in a struggling city. Rooms were clean and relatively plush. The bathrooms were clean and updated--new tile, nicely laid marble floors. But the carpet in the rooms probably needs replacement and the carpet in the hallways shows even clearer signs of wear. The pool was clean, but the pool room was cold and the water frigid. The hot tub has been turned into a planter--because of the cost of repairs?

But the staff was warm and thoughtful, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms spotless. In the end, I'm glad we spent the night at the McKinley Grand. If Canton's economy were better, I suspect this hotel's fortunes would reflect it by a return to real elegance. Yet there is something to be said for a once-prosperous hotel working to retain a portion of its grandeur. Clearly, the McKinley Grand hasn't given up hope on the future, and I commend it to those seeking a nice hotel with far more character than the average Marriott Courtyard or Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are in desperate need of a major upgrade. They are poorly lit and well used. If you forget to set your alarm do t worry the housekeepers telling to each other from opposite ends of the hall will definitely get u up. Great new TVs in room with very limited channels an for a hotel that markets around the hall of they don't even have the NFL network. Very very sad

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the McKinley Grand Hotel and each time has been great. The first two times were in the summer and they were much busier but we wanted to go to the Cuyahoga National Park and see the leaves in color and we were not disappointed. The first night our room was on the 5th floor right beside the elevator and we could hear it going up and down most of the night~it stopped from about midnight but started up again about 6:00 the next morning. We asked the clerk at the desk if she could move us and without hesitation she moved us to a larger and better corner room on the 4th floor where we couldn't hear anything. As several people have mentioned the food is quite good there at the restaurant and the portions are more than you can eat!! The first night I had the steak and my fiance' had the pasta and both were excellent. The second night we tried to order a pizza from a local place but they wouldn't deliver to the hotel so we ended up getting personal pizzas and ultimate nachos from the restaurant and again they were great! The waitresses we had both morning for our breakfast were very friendly and very helpful in telling us different things to do in the area. We will be back again next year:)

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.