We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard
Save
You added The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard to your Saves list
1700 55th Street NE, Canton, OH 44721   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bellisimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We've stayed there 2 days before and its absolutely wonderful! The rooms are spectacular. We plan on going back again in September to stay, cant wait. The food in very good and the Crush House is a great place to hang out and enjoy the wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Physican E,
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We hope to see you again soon at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
45
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I take an annual overnight getaway to Gervasi. We stay in one of the luxury villas, have dinner at the Bistro, and stroll the grounds. It is always a great night away. I recommend it to all my married friends. Like most Ohio wineries, the wine is sweet and OK, but they have other brands available if you are a connoisseur. Good food, very nice accommodations. Not inexpensive all said, but well worth the getaway. Tip: Try to go before wedding season. They get full quickly, the shared common room with rowdy guests might be problematic, and I think they move to a 2-night minimum. We go in the winter or spring and have always had a nice time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king size bed. They sellout first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Stimps,
Thank you for your review of the Villas as well as your Crush House review. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Villas! Your tips are spot on. Wedding season begins this weekend May 16th 2014 and we really do get very busy with wedding guests who stay with us.
I do want to clarify that we do not carry other brands of wine as you indicate in your review. We ONLY carry Gervasi wines. Many of which are very dry and full bodied such as our Zin Zin (Zinfandel) or Abbraccio (Cabernet). I also enjoy dryer wines and I think you might enjoy these as well. Thank you again very much for visiting us each year. We appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family rented an entire villa so all 14 of us could stay at the same place for 3 days 2 nights of food and games. The villa was very nice. The beds are comfortable (even the pull out couch), the bathrooms are spacious and the common area was large enough to accomodate all us plus all the food we brought.

The villa staff was both friendly and accomidating. There are several coffee drinkers in the family so the staff brought us large containers of fresh coffee throughout the day. We were all pleasently surprised by the breakfast provided to those staying in the villa. The breakfast was deliicious and plentiful. Plus they brought me a vegetarian breakfast sandwich!

The only negative part of the experience was our dining one night at the Crush House on the property. We called as soon as the restaurant opened letting the hostess know that a part of 17 (a few friends joined us) would be coming in at 5:30. At first the hostess said that would not be a problem, she would put us on the list. She explained that reservations are not excepted at the Crush House, but since we called early letting them know they would make sure we would have a table.

Then the hostess called our villa about 30 min after we called the restaurant asking if we could come at 6:30 instead of 5:30 and were we okay sitting at two different tables. We were fine with both changes.

At 6:15 all 17 of us walked over to the Crush House. We informed the hostess that we were the party of 17 that had called in advance and that the entire party was in attendance. She said the wait time would be 30 minutes.

At the 45 minute mark we asked if our table would be available soon. We were then told our wait would be another 30 minutes.

After waiting a total of 1 hr 15 minutes and still no table we asked if we could order food and have it delivered to the villa (the villa was less than 1000 ft from the restaurant) but the hostess said that is not an option. We then offered to place the order and we would walk back over to pick the food up, but that isn't an option they offer either.

At the 2 hour mark we told the hostess we were leaving. We had called several hours in advance to our needing a table, agreed to come later, and then had to wait 2 hours at the restaurant and during all this the only time we received an update was when we hunted down the hostess. We were all fed up and very hungry at this point.

Well, once we said we were leaving the restuarant staff suddenly found 2 available tables for us. The food was good and reasonably priced but not worth the hassel.

In my opinion, if a group is paying $1700 for their villa, they should be able to call ahead to get a table OR, at the very least, be able to order food and pick it up themselves from the restaurant.

After the visit, we agreed we would rent the villa again, but next time we will go someplace else for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Christina I,

Thank you taking the time to share your experience. I am so sorry that we were unable to accommodate your party in the Crush House.

Normally I respond to all new reviews the same day they are submitted but I needed some to research what happened to your party.

I spoke with our Crush House manager and she certainly does remember this happening on or around December 26th 2013. She is also very sorry that your party was not taken care of efficiently. Also, the hostess who told you that you could not order food for take out from the Crush House was wrong and we have addressed that issue internally. You most certainly CAN order food to go from the Crush House to take back to your Villa!

The fact that you had to wait 2 hours for a table is unacceptable and we are so sorry. We have implemented many new policies to help our Villa guests secure reservations in the Bistro. The Crush House does not take reservations as you point out but we have improved how we handle large parties that come to the Crush House.

So I do hope you will visit us again in the future despite this terrible experience. Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband brought us here as part of a getaway long weekend. We spent 12 days touring Tuscany & Umbria last fall, and have a special place in our hearts for the area.
Gervasi Vineyard really works hard to create a Tuscan experience; the ambience and decor-both indoors and out-are spot on. No stone unturned and every detail attended to.
The grounds are adjacent a large park with lots of walking trails, and the property itself is lovely. Beautifully tended vines, wonderful villas, restaurants etc. Really, can't say enough good.
Our villa, Firenze, included every possible amenity, right down to geothermal floor heat under the Italian marble floor, a towel heater on the wall (as we had in Italy) in the bath, a bed that truly was difficult to leave-like floating in a cloud!
We enjoyed wonderful wines, both estate grown and Italian imports. The food was delicious, and our continental breakfast came in a wooden box, delivered to our villa at the time we chose!
We were talking about returning even before we retired for the night; just a place that you know you want to return and share with others.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Marti P.,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It certainly means a lot to us when someone compares us to Italy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back soon! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had rented an entire Villa for our Wedding Party at Gervasi, and LOVED every moment of it. They were not only beautiful, but Elegant, giving our Vineyard/Military Wedding the Vintage classic style we were looking for. An Amazing place to visit, dine at, but most important, an Amazing venue for our Tuscan Wedding.. Guests are still talking about it and we are so blessed to have this wonderful establishment in our back yard.

Room Tip: The Villas were amazing, and the Breakfasts served were delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Angela P.,
You are so sweet! Thank you for writing your review! The entire team at Gervasi is still talking about how amazing your wedding was! We appreciate your support and it we who are lucky to have customers and guests such as you! Thank you again and please say hello when you visit next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I never ever write reviews, Who has the time? But I had to log on and make the time to give a shoutout to Gervasi. I took my wife here for our 2nd anniversary and was Blown Away. Never have I found a place to be better than advertised until now. The level of service, knowledge, and Quality of the rooms was pure exceptional. Gervasi made me look like the best husband ever. I will give future guests one warning: Be careful of your stay in the villas, because when you go back home your bed, bathroom, and non-heated floor will no longer be adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Boston B.
Wow! What can we say? Thank you for your review! We work so hard to provide the exact same experience you describe to each of our guests. It means so much to us when someone notices and actually shares their experience. We appreciate that so very much! I will enjoy sharing your comments with our entire team! Thank you and hope we may be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were going to the Classic Car Museum in Canton, Ohio, & wanted a nice, clean place with an in-room fireplace to stay overnight the night before. After reading all the great reviews, we booked a king suite for March 14-15. The room was beautiful & the bed ultimate comfort, the in-room fireplace, all-tile bathroom with heated towel rack & robes/slippers, authentic Italian décor, & the morning delivery of our wooden wine box filled with homemade breakfast sandwiches, pastries, granola bars, & grapes were all worth staying there & waking up to! They set the boxes in the shared lobby without bothering you, & you can help yourself to drinks & yogurt in their lobby 'fridge. With all the villas & Bistro located around a small lake,we had a short walk to the Bistro on a lighted pathway. We had made reservations a month prior, which is advised, & the food/service was excellent! After breakfast & checking out, we drove around the vineyard, then to the gift shop & Crush House. We had booked the noon tour there to see where/how they make their wines, which was quite interesting. Here, it's casual dining/sandwiches, but the décor is absolutely beautiful, especially the restrooms with wine bottle-shaped sinks, lighted vanities, dim red pendant lighting, & tiled floors/walls! Their sandwiches are homemade on Italian bread/flatbread. The perch flatbread sandwich I had was to die for, & the staff extremely friendly & accommodating! They even gave us a free order of their house homemade chex mix because I said it was so awesome there! The lady giving us the wine-making tour was very nice & informative on the history of Gervasi, which we also really enjoyed! Our whole experience was truly wonderful from start to finish, which was worth every penny. We definitely said we will go back in the fall when we will stay 2 days so we can truly see/experience the beauty of the lake, trees, vineyard, flowers, and walk the many paths! To top off an already memorable experience, we headed to The Classic Car Museum next, which was also very enjoyable, & to our surprise, with much more memorabilia than just classic cars, which brought back so many fond memories! Thank you Canton, Ohio for a most enjoyable & memorable trip, which made my 60th birthday one of the best ever!












with reservations made prior, which was outstanding food/service.

Room Tip: We will get a villa closer to the lake next time when it is warmer weather. The lighted thermostat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GervasiVillas, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear 1954Gail,
First of all, Happy Birthday! And secondly, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We take our guests feedback very seriously, both good and bad for there is always something we can be doing better! I will enjoy sharing your comments with the team here at Gervasi. We are so glad your visit to us and Canton made for such a memorable experience! We would be honored to take care of you again in the future. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard

Address: 1700 55th Street NE, Canton, OH 44721
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Canton
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Villas At Gervasi Vineyard Canton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Gervasi Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.