We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame to your Saves list
Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4914 Everhard Road NW, Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Hall of Fame)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canton
Fairborn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked at the last minute and the only hotel available was the Ramada, which had one room left. We stayed in a whirlpool suite.

I normally stay at Hilton company hotels and thought that Ramada was in the same class. I was wrong--at least for this hotel. From the looks of the exterior and the lobby, I anticipated a much nicer room. I also was thrilled when I thought we were getting a Jacuzzi in the room. This was not the case. The bathtub was a whirlpool tub--similar to what you see in new homes, yet it was just as dated as the décor. The bathroom was large, but the bulk of the room was taken up by a whirlpool tub that didn't look clean, and was surrounded by mirrors (like in the 1970s). The toilet was low and the plumbing was just as dated since we clogged it the first day. Of course the maintenance guy was courteous and handled it promptly--he provided great service and made us feel less embarrassed (he was ex-military--hooah!). One good note is that the towels were really absorbent without being rough.

The 1980s décor was in decent shape, but for the price and the modern era of hotels, I expected at least a remodel and update of room--at least to match the lobby and exterior of the hotel. I haven't seen a tiny microwave and cabinets like that since the 1980s. It looked like they tried to make it nice by adding granite counters, but that was like putting a Mercedes emblem on a pinto.

The room smelled stale when we walked in and the AC unit was only in the bedroom. The king bed was decent, and the linens were very good. We slept in and missed breakfast, but the coffee was decent.

For the amount of money we paid for the Hall of Fame weekend, we could have stayed 13 miles south for half the price and in much nicer accommodations. The best thing about this hotel is that it was one that had SARTA pickup for the Hall of Fame. That was convenient.

Room Tip: Don't get the whirlpool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaHallofFame, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. I'm glad you found our location to be convenient, though I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in comfort, convenience, and quality amenities. Know that your voice is of tremendous importance to us and we are confronting each of the issues that you mentioned to ensure that no guest has this experience in the future. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    125
    125
    62
    49
See reviews for
211
91
49
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The WORST bed and pillows ever!! Bed was stiff as a board- literally. Felt as if no cushion to the bed at all. Air in rooms are a little lacking too. Pillows are square and too small to lay your head on. We had to purchase new ones. The outdated bedding was gross too. Most staff were nice and polite. The free breakfast was pretty tasty, but it was not set up properly- very crowded & made it difficult to obtain your food! Loud kids with no parental supervision, and only ONE waffle maker that everyone needs to wait on. Pool was nice and clean, and maintenance staff were very nice and attended to us right away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaHallofFame, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us. We regret that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. We want our guests to enjoy our bedrooms and to find our amenities to be accommodating and convenient. We are sorry that we failed to do this during your most recent visit. We do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we assure you that we are correcting this issue for improved convenience in future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was clean. The room was large and comfortable. The free breakfast had a wide variety and was good. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was convenient. There were indoor corridors and locked outside doors which made us feel safe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSM_Hospitality_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. It is always our ambition to give a one of a kind memorable experience and we are extremely happy that we attained our goal. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Not clean at all; I had to spread towels out around the hotel floor because it was the only way I knew it was clean where I was walking. Tub was gross; it was clearly a smoking room, even though the label on the door said "Nonsmoking room". Gross. I stayed out as late as I could every night (working at Panera, anything away from the hotel) so that I didn't have to be in the room any longer than necessary. I probably should have slept in my car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSM_Hospitality_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. You have our assurance that we will look into your comments, as put paramount importance on guest satisfaction. We do wish that we would have exceeded your expectations of service and accommodations and we hope you will return to enjoy a five star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame

Address: 4914 Everhard Road NW, Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Hall of Fame)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hall Of Fame Canton Hotel Canton
Quality Inn Canton
Quality Inn Airport
Canton Quality Inn
Ramada Canton/Hall Of Fame Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Canton/Hall of Fame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.