We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation Problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Canton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Canton to your Saves list
Residence Inn Canton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5280 Broadmoor Circle NW, Canton, OH 44709   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Canton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reservation Problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Not a good start. Six weeks ahead of arrival,  I made reservations on-line and then followed that with a telephone call directly to the hotel. I had reserved the two bedroom, handicap accessible suite.  I even received an email confirmation detailing the room description  Imagine our surprise, when we arrived after a long day of driving,to discover that our room was the STUDIO suite!  The front desk said that they would correct the error...tomorrow.  Upon checking out, our invoice did not include a charge for that first night.  We thought that it was compensation for the error.  Unfortunately, when the credit card statement arrived, we had been charged for that first night's stay on a separate invoice that we did not received.  That was rather deceiving.

Now for room.  The room was clean and the handicap accessible accommodations were above average.  The breakfast was plentiful.   The large pet walking area was very nice.  if in the Canton area again, we would probably stay here again, due to the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
10
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This hotel is very nice. The room we had was actually two rooms. A door to the bedroom and a full kitchen and living room. Everything about the rooms was nice. The location was excellent. All kinds of eating establishments within minutes. The hotel has a hot breakfast. This is an upgrade over other free breakfasts. It is not like ordering off a menu for breakfast but we ate there for four days and were able to find something good everyday.

In the evening they have a snack starting @6PM. If you are on a tight budget and don't feel like cooking in your room this "snack" can be supper. It was for us one night.

I was very impressed with this hotel and we travel a lot. I would have given it 5 stars but the bathtub/shower was clean enough to take a shower in but not clean enough to take a bath in. The bathroom was clean but not 5 start clean. Being clean is so important but everything else was so nice. I would recommend this hotel to a friend with the caveat that they might want to check out the cleanliness of the bathroom in the room first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

• Air Condiioning compressor in one bedroom was so loud, emitting a wirring, clanking sound that it was impossible to sleep and use the bedroom.

• Furniture was broken, stained and in need of replacement - sofa and chairs are worn out with faded material, sagging cushions and multiple grease stains on arms and backs of chairs

• Particle board coffee table, TV tables were broken, stained and in need of replacement

• Large grease stains were present under the cooker

• Cigarette burn in the middle of the carpet

• All windows and fly screens caked in grime and dirt – obviously not having been cleaned for months

• Glass screen on gas fireplace was so caked in dirt and soot that it was impossible to see the fireplace behind the glass

• Bathroom floors sticky and multiple surfaces caked in dust and dirt

• Entertainment system consisted of massive, outdated Zenith television sets, with no HD and poor quality reception

• Where the carpet area adjoined the linleum kitchen area, a sharp metal edge was protruding.

• It took four requests over an 8 hour period to obtain extra towels.


Taking the continuing theme of lack of hygeine, poor supervision and cleanliness to a new level, breakfast would prove to be a unique experience.

• ‘Scrambled Eggs’ were made by a person who cleaned tables and cleared dirty dishes – she wore no gloves and through the open kitchen, was viewed pouring an egg product substance into a roasting pan, put it into an oven and then, using a potato masher, mash the product into ‘scambled eggs’.

• Meat product hamburger patties, sat for two hours, swimming in grease – the waitstaff oblivious to the condition of the food

• Pre-prepped ‘French Toast’ was placed in a warming tray and then a dishtowel was placed over the food product, presumably to stop the toast from drying out.

• The kitchen area had one, domestic, two slot toaster to service the entire hotel

• A pre-prepped fruit salad, sat rotting and decomposing for two days

• On one day, no silver ware present – just cheap, plastic utensils - the reason being , apparently was that the management decided that they could not run the dishwasher with only one person working the kitchen/buffet. ?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musicteachtravel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to be nice. Very polite at all times, said hello and goodbye, held doors open.

Ive stayed at Residence Inn's before, even this one about 8 years ago. Nothing has changed in the rooms in 8 years, perhaps even having the tub cleaned. The cloth bar in the tub had black mold/mildew on it..gross. And on the washcloth there was a hair from someones pubic area stuck in it...again, gross. There are many nicer places in canton, I will go there next time. This place is too outdated and dirty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We checked in early and the one bed suite was lovely. The hotel was very clean and the room equipped nicely with everything that we needed. We asked about their hotel maintenance staff and found out that it was limited (not by chance) to one older gentleman who took care of the entire establishment. He, like the rest of the staff, was so kind and always had a smile on his face. We were extremely pleased with the breakfast buffet and made a vow that we would choose this hotel in the future when we come to North Canton to visit. Thanks, Residence Inn, for a very nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is the worst hotel I have every stayed at. First, my toilet leaked all week so I would have to actually shut off the water to the toilet when I wasn't using it. The carpet was taped down in the entry way. The housekeeping staff was rude (I could actually hear them cussing at each other in the hallway.) I also had my cell phone charger stolen during my stay. You have to be very careful because the doors do not close all the way. The first night I arrived late and tried to quietly close my door as to not wake the people around me but I was unable to get it to shut. I finally had to let the door slam shut to get it closed. My co-workers had the same issue with their doors and one of the rooms my co-workers stayed in did not have working heat. Stay at the Hampton Inn right next door.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w 3 children. We checked in at 3 and had to wait about 10 minutes for our room, it wasn't clean yet. That was fine though because the Ohio State game was on the big screen tv in the dining room. Everyone at reception was very friendly. We used the pool twice. Very clean, plenty of chairs but very strong bleach smell which burned our eyes. Great location, next to I-77 and the mall, 5 minutes to the Football Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Canton

Address: 5280 Broadmoor Circle NW, Canton, OH 44709
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canton
#5 Business Hotel in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Canton 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Residence Inn
Residence Inn Canton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Canton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.