We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking grounds...beautiful interiors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Save Saved
You added The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4191 Glenmoor Road N.W., Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Glenmoor Country Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Canton
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking grounds...beautiful interiors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As others have stated, the approach to the Glenmoor is breathtaking! The grounds are meticulously kept and are surrounded by an equally impressive golf course. Inside, we were greeted by a door man, then the front desk employee. Both were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was quite large -- we requested two queen beds. Yes, the appointments are a little dated, and the window coverings seem to be from the era of when this was a seminary or all boys school. Nonetheless, it was quite comfortable and had plenty of seating along with a nice flat screen tv (much to the liking of my husband and son). The bathroom was large and very clean with wonderful amenities. Very up to date with the details. We did not eat our meals there -- had reservations elsewhere -- but the menu looked delicious. Several dining areas -- all well appointed. A beautiful bar, as well. Upon returning from dinner, we asked the bartender for recommended desserts. We went with two choices and brought them to our room. Not disappointed at all. Overall, I would definitely stay there again! (My husband stayed there nine years ago with our eldest son, during the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction weekend. All the inductees and "big names" stayed ere, as well. Made such a huge impression, that he wanted to stay again for this trip. Glad we did!)

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are large and appointed the same. Just ask to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at Glenmoor and stayed at the Bertram Inn. All I can say is WOW! From the moment I pulled in the gate I was blown away. This is a beautiful and unique property. If you are planning a wedding I suggest you have it at Glenmoor. The wedding was in the Chapel and was absolutely breathtaking. The food was the best I’ve ever had at a wedding.  The guest rooms are charming and clean! They are bigger than the average hotel room which is great. The rooms have beautiful views as well. When you look out you see the trees and the golf course. You don’t see highways or shopping malls like other hotels I passed on the way in. They have everything you could possibly imagine and the service the staff provides is nothing but spectacular! I don’t golf but after seeing the golf course I may have to give it a try. The best part is they have a spa! I wish I had more time there so I could have taken advantage of services. This would be a great place to stay in the summer when everything is in full swing. I am defiantly coming back this summer for a weekend getaway. If you ever find yourself in Canton, OH you have to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We were recently at the Glenmoor for an event and stayed 2 nights. From the moment we walked in the door we were not made to feel welcome. The staff was rude and not welcoming and they pointed down to a cart and said we could bring our own bags in. The room we had reserved was not available so we were expected to downgrade. Our room was clean, however very dated, the curtians were hang off the rod, tattered chairs and you could not lean on the table at one end or the other side would fly up. The spa massage was good but where the rooms are located it was very hard to enjoy the massage because I could hear everyone walking into the salon and entire conversation that we're going on in the next room, along with many doors slamming during what was to be a relaxing massage. The room service was quite a treat as well, breakfast was horrible undercooked bacon on one plate and rock hard bacon you could break your teeth on another plate. And a large pot of coffee with no coffee cups. I've stayed in many hotels and B& B but would never recommend this place to stay or hold an event!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This old monastery is on a lovely golf course surrounded by large impressive homes. The building itself is charming, however the hotel rooms are in dire need of renovating. Though they are clean and large enough, the lighting is poor, outlets are hard to access, the sound attenuation is completely lacking and they smell musty and unpleasant . We had three rooms for our family and all had the same issues. I could here the lady in the room next to us breathing and felt like they were conversing in our room. The hallways were also dark and musty. A lovely spa and fitness center is attached to the hotel which we were able to use for a fee. Lunch in the bar was satisfactory, however the quantity was better than the quality. A room service tray remained in the hallway for over 24 hours outside my son's room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Glenmoor Country Club for the Glenmoor Gathering, a car show of high quality. Over 300 outstanding cars graced the golf course and grounds of Glenmoor. Large crowds enjoyed the ambiance of the day. While photographing the outstanding cars and sights I lost a replaced memory card (the size of a postage stamp). Realizing it was missing only when returning home, I called the next day and to my amazement, a good Samaritan turned in the card to lost and found. With help from Erica on the front desk, the card was mailed to me in a timely fashion. So, many thanks to the wonderful person who took the time to turn in the card and the helpful staff at Glenmoor for making for an outstanding visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L, Manager at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear burrdjd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your wonderful experience! I hope you visit us again the next time your travels bring you back to Canton, OH.

Olivia Lescallett
Guest Services Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place used to be an old Seminary which is now being used as an inn located on the grounds of a golf and country club. The rates were very reasonable (comparable to a standard hotel). It is quite large but very quaint and they are still using room keys!! Our room was very large, but not fancy or extravagant--just the basics....but very clean. Our room happenned to be situated over the kitchen exhaust so we could smell food one morning from our room. The grounds were extensive with tennis courts and a great pool area. We did not use the tennis courts as it was 104 degress the weekend we were there! You could order snacks and lunch, etc poolside as well. The food was AMAZING--huge portions, too!! Wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else....this was perfect: it met our needs and was centrally located as well.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the pool. Our room also had / great big windows! Perhaps ensure you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Okay. It is an old country club. If you want a new place, go stay at the Hampton or Holiday Inn. Also, this is not the Greenbrier, Homestead, Ritz, etc., but it is a great property with friendly staff. And only $150 ish per night.

I arrived at 5pm, played some tennis (thanks Ernie for setting me up and loaning me a racket), had wine and cheese tasting and a steam in the Spa. Try doing that at the Hampton Inn. And all for $10 extra. When I checked in, they even asked if I wanted to play some golf (with a free set of clubs).

I think you would be crazy to not stay here. The property is amazing. Just come expecting an old club and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Address: 4191 Glenmoor Road N.W., Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Glenmoor Country Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor...A destination unlike any other.One of North-East Ohio’s hidden treasures, and a classic, 1930-vintage Gothic-style building, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor bears the aura of an upland Scottish castle set on rolling green hills. Nestled amidst a scenic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor boasts a beautiful full European Spa and Salon, three unique dining rooms, a state of the art fitness center, eleven private meeting rooms, licensed childcare and limousine service. The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor in Canton Ohio is ideal for hosting business associates, as well as guests for weddings and special occasions or simply a weekend getaway, offering seventy-two luxuriously appointed overnight rooms in a variety of styles. No two rooms are decorated alike offering a unique variety unlike any other facility. No matter what level of accommodation, all rooms provide a comfortable haven at the end of the day.The Spa at Glenmoor is the perfect place to unwind, relax and escape everyday stresses. Refresh your mind and body with an array of services in an environment of luxury, privacy and comfort. Enjoy treatments ranging from traditional massages and body wraps to the exclusive Natura Bisse Facials.Be our Guest at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoor Country Club Hotel Canton
Glenmoor Country Club Canton Ohio
Glenmoor Country Hotel
The Bertram Inn At Glenmoor Canton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.