We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful on the outside” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4191 Glenmoor Road N.W., Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Glenmoor Country Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Canton
Bath, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful on the outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This old monastery is on a lovely golf course surrounded by large impressive homes. The building itself is charming, however the hotel rooms are in dire need of renovating. Though they are clean and large enough, the lighting is poor, outlets are hard to access, the sound attenuation is completely lacking and they smell musty and unpleasant . We had three rooms for our family and all had the same issues. I could here the lady in the room next to us breathing and felt like they were conversing in our room. The hallways were also dark and musty. A lovely spa and fitness center is attached to the hotel which we were able to use for a fee. Lunch in the bar was satisfactory, however the quantity was better than the quality. A room service tray remained in the hallway for over 24 hours outside my son's room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Glenmoor Country Club for the Glenmoor Gathering, a car show of high quality. Over 300 outstanding cars graced the golf course and grounds of Glenmoor. Large crowds enjoyed the ambiance of the day. While photographing the outstanding cars and sights I lost a replaced memory card (the size of a postage stamp). Realizing it was missing only when returning home, I called the next day and to my amazement, a good Samaritan turned in the card to lost and found. With help from Erica on the front desk, the card was mailed to me in a timely fashion. So, many thanks to the wonderful person who took the time to turn in the card and the helpful staff at Glenmoor for making for an outstanding visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L, Manager at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear burrdjd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your wonderful experience! I hope you visit us again the next time your travels bring you back to Canton, OH.

Olivia Lescallett
Guest Services Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place used to be an old Seminary which is now being used as an inn located on the grounds of a golf and country club. The rates were very reasonable (comparable to a standard hotel). It is quite large but very quaint and they are still using room keys!! Our room was very large, but not fancy or extravagant--just the basics....but very clean. Our room happenned to be situated over the kitchen exhaust so we could smell food one morning from our room. The grounds were extensive with tennis courts and a great pool area. We did not use the tennis courts as it was 104 degress the weekend we were there! You could order snacks and lunch, etc poolside as well. The food was AMAZING--huge portions, too!! Wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else....this was perfect: it met our needs and was centrally located as well.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the pool. Our room also had / great big windows! Perhaps ensure you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Okay. It is an old country club. If you want a new place, go stay at the Hampton or Holiday Inn. Also, this is not the Greenbrier, Homestead, Ritz, etc., but it is a great property with friendly staff. And only $150 ish per night.

I arrived at 5pm, played some tennis (thanks Ernie for setting me up and loaning me a racket), had wine and cheese tasting and a steam in the Spa. Try doing that at the Hampton Inn. And all for $10 extra. When I checked in, they even asked if I wanted to play some golf (with a free set of clubs).

I think you would be crazy to not stay here. The property is amazing. Just come expecting an old club and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms were very clean and had basic needs. Some rooms had no refrigerators. Sheets and other decor were well beyond their "shelflife." Rooms, hallways, etc were very dark with little or no signage to get us from the hotel to the various rooms in the club. Did I mention that they still use the room keys with plastic key fobs? The doors are not self locking... Bit of a security issue.

Upon arrival, the grounds, golf course, and buildings make a great first impression. Then you realize that there is only one handicapped parking spot. No valet parking service, and certainly no bellman to assist with luggage. Staff at hotel suggests that you carry your luggage back outside, down a walkway to another entrance to get to the elevator instead of down a flight of stairs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

100+ year old Seminary added lots of charm to the experience. The room clean, and very spacious. Ask the front desk if they have a special stay and play type rate, they did when I stayed. The food was excellent in the dining room, and Randy the dining room manager and his staff were all very welcoming and friendly. What a nice change from the normal hotel experience. Transportation via Town Car from the Airport is $119.00 including tip gate to hotel. If you play golf, please do yourself a favor to make time to play this beautiful golf course.

Room Tip: I liked the second floor. It is easier to get around from this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I had an excellent hot stone massage by Deborah at The Spa at Glenmoor. The spa building was clean but very dated with a 1990's gray and mauve color scheme in the ladies locker room. If you are looking for a zen-like pampering atmosphere where you can meditate, relax and enjoy the environs, this is not the spa. I was greeted with a mimosa by a friendly staff member and escorted to a comfortable but bland utilitarian waiting room. If you are looking for a professional massage and a place to getaway for an hour, then Glenmoor is fine. Understandably, the spa is not the main business focus of the golf-oriented country club. I would return for a hot stone massage but for a half-day or full-day experience I would opt for something like Mario's International Spa or a full-fledged day spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor

Also Known As:
Glenmoor Country Club Hotel Canton
Glenmoor Country Club Hotel
Glenmoor Country Club Canton Ohio
Glenmoor Country Hotel
Glenmoor Country Club
The Bertram Inn At Glenmoor Canton, Ohio
Address: 4191 Glenmoor Road N.W., Canton, OH 44718 (Formerly Glenmoor Country Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor...A destination unlike any other.One of North-East Ohio’s hidden treasures, and a classic, 1930-vintage Gothic-style building, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor bears the aura of an upland Scottish castle set on rolling green hills. Nestled amidst a scenic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the Bertram Inn at Glenmoor boasts a beautiful full European Spa and Salon, three unique dining rooms, a state of the art fitness center, eleven private meeting rooms, licensed childcare and limousine service. The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor in Canton Ohio is ideal for hosting business associates, as well as guests for weddings and special occasions or simply a weekend getaway, offering seventy-two luxuriously appointed overnight rooms in a variety of styles. No two rooms are decorated alike offering a unique variety unlike any other facility. No matter what level of accommodation, all rooms provide a comfortable haven at the end of the day.The Spa at Glenmoor is the perfect place to unwind, relax and escape everyday stresses. Refresh your mind and body with an array of services in an environment of luxury, privacy and comfort. Enjoy treatments ranging from traditional massages and body wraps to the exclusive Natura Bisse Facials.Be our Guest at The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor to your Saves list