We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel Taylor Inn B&B

Colonel Taylor Inn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonel Taylor Inn B&B
Save
You added Colonel Taylor Inn B&B to your Saves list
633 Upland Road, Cambridge, OH 43725   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Dayton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed one night in this beautiful home. Our room was extremely clean, quite comfortable -- particularly the bed -- and very nicely furnished. Jim and Patricia are very gracious hosts. The breakfast was delicious. We chose the Col. Taylor because we were visiting the Wilds in nearby Cumberland, OH. The sunset safari at the Wilds and a night at the Col. Taylor made for a terrific weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were back in the area for a reunion and needed to stay in Cambridge. I would heartily recommend the Colonel Taylor Inn. We stayed in the Magnolia room on the 2nd floor and found it to be just fine. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on their side porch before we went out to dinner. Breakfast was delicious and Pat and Jim graciously served us earlier than usual so we could meet our travel schedule. When trying to locate the Inn we discovered that some streets in Cambridge do not have street signs making it very confusing for us. You should probably use your GPS if you have one.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only 4 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I spent three nights here. Historic building, lovingly restored and kept up by a dedicated couple. Breakfasts were delicious and full of healthy ingredients but not over-the-top-complicated as they can be at some B&Bs. This place, along with the Blue Porch in Brooklyn, offered as fine an experience as I've ever had in a B&B. Enthusiastically recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a very nice welcome by the owners. When we went to our room we were greeted by a bowl of fruit and 4 cookies which we greatly appreciated after a long drive. The room was clean and spacious with its own bathroom and shower. We really enjoyed the history of the place since it was once owned by a civil war veteran. The recommendation for dinner by the owners was outstanding. The food was so good and the portions huge! The next morning we had the most delicious breakfast and great conversation with the owners and other guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Our first visit to the Colonel Taylor became the perfect getaway at the instant we entered the Inn. Our hosts were most gracious and pleasant to be with and made us completely welcome and at home. We were delighted with our richly decorated accomodations and the story of the efforts put forth to update, restore and preserve this genuine "Painted Lady". The scale of the home was grand with large, open common areas for quiet reading or conversation. The antique furnishings throughout the home had been chosen for their utility as well as the look of each piece. Since there were only four rooms available, interaction among guests and hosts easily moved to first-name basis. This was especially true over breakfast which was a beautifully presented, multi-course function that was served in the ornate dining room at our own chosen time and pace.
The grounds and the quiet residential neighborhood that surrounds the Inn were tree filled and invited leisurely walking. We were urged to have an ice tea on one of the three porches attached to the house or to use the raised patio in back under the trees.
All in all, the site, the grounds, the house and the hosts created a refined respite and the best in hospitality; a truly pampered retreat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Colonel Taylor Mansion has been beautifully restored with incredible attention to every detail. The wood work is gorgeous and the rooms are elegant. We felt honored at the chance to stay in this magnificent home. The rooms are spacious with private baths, the beds are very comfortable and and Jim and Patricia besides being very welcoming hosts, serve an awesome breakfast!

We stayed just one night to celebrate Mom's birthday after enjoying a day visiting the Dicken's Christmas Village in Cambridge. But I look forward to a chance to stay at this B&B again anytime of the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We visited Cambridge to see the Dickens Village display. It snowed all day, Cambridge was lovely, and the whole Victorian Christmas theme was beautifully topped off with a stay at the Colonel Taylor Inn. Everywhere your eyes land you appreciate the care and attention to detail that Patricia and Jim Irvin put into their home. The house is absolutely gorgeous, even more so dressed for the holidays with incredible decorations. The food and service was the very best, Patricia and Jim are excellent hosts, the room was very, very nice and wonderfully comfortable on a snowy night with the fireplace adding to the atmosphere. Our stay at this B & B couldn't have been any better! Terrific!!

  • Liked — Beautifully restored Victorian home creates a step back in time
  • Disliked — No down side; we loved it!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonel Taylor Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Taylor Inn B&B

Address: 633 Upland Road, Cambridge, OH 43725
Location: United States > Ohio > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colonel Taylor Inn B&B Cambridge, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel Taylor Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.