We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small town dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiffletree

The Whiffletree
28 Main St, Butler, OH 44822-8806
419-883-3282
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Butler
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pizza, Pasta, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent small town dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stop here after riding bike trail. What a surprise to find a good restaurant in such a small town as Butler. cool western atmosphere and great food. Service staff was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and prices!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped in this restaurant for lunch after biking the trail. Food was delicious. Staff was very friendly also. We couldn't believe the size of the menu.
We also enjoyed the John Wayne decor!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, interesting environment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stopped by The Whiffletree after riding on the wonderful bike trail (definitely recommend this nicely paved trail). As others have said, the menu is large, so everyone should find something they like. Our large group enjoyed the 1/4 lb. burger, the veggie burger, the chicken fingers, the ham sandwich, sweet potato fries and everyone thought it was all delicious. The only thing that kept me from giving it a 5-rating is the fact that the sides are $3.50 each! When menu items (i.e., sandwiches, meals, etc.) are relatively inexpensive, I was a little surprised to see that a tiny bowl of cottage cheese or a side of fries or side salad costs $3.50. They really should make those sides cheaper because that is a little bit ridiculous. I would recommend this place because the food was pretty good, even if the John Wayne "atmosphere" was a little "interesting".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant for lunch. It was great! The menu selection was huge. They serve breakfast all day. We got 2 different strombolis and an omlette, all of it was really good. Portion sizes were big. We got applecrisp for dessert. That was really good. The staff was all very friendly. The mason jars for water pitchers was a cute idea. We would highly recommend this place and would stop again if in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is awesome. Price is great. Service is wonderful. Been here four times and it is a pleasure. The owner is there and very interesting to talk with. Small town not real big but a place to have fun with the locals. Very busy. Western decor and clean

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whiffletree also viewed

Been to The Whiffletree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiffletree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.