We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HideAway Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HideAway Country Inn to your Saves list
HideAway Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 State Route 4, Bucyrus, OH 44820   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucyrus
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We LOVED our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in the Inventor's Escape. Both the room and the grounds were beautiful. Also, you MUST try the food while you are there, it's amazing! Overall our stay was perfect and we definitely recommend it to anyone who needs a relaxing and even romantic getaway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    28
    18
    17
    55
See reviews for
10
167
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We are a veteran "romantic getaway" couple and the Hideaway just wasn't up to snuff. Most disappointing were the meals. Our gourmet dinner basket consisted of a chopped romaine salad, teriaki salmon (overdone), asparagus and mashed potatoes (with absolutely no seasoning!). Sparkling juice wasn't available so we were other beverages instead (brought to us in plastic pitchers). We had to go ask when the basket was going to be delivered to our room because it was never discussed what it would have in it or when it would be arriving.

The outdoor fire and s'mores were lovely! Nice touch!. And we loved the double hammocks!

The breakfasts were the most disappointing. Incredibly unimaginative! Award winning chef? Really? We had to fight off the flies constantly (so not romantic!). First morning was yogurt parfait (with the only fruit being a single cherry on top) and an english muffin. This was followed by two eggs and two strips of bacon. Boring! Nothing done to make it pretty. Also - for some reason there was no plain black tea available - just herbal or chai. Other places in this price range would have excelled at breakfast - usually with some signature dish and it would have been beautifully done.

Second breakfast has yogurt parfait again (with the vanilla and strawberry flipped in the dish!) and a small dish of granola. Followed by our choice of bacon (wait...didn't we just have that?) or turkey sausage (that had obviously been cooked much earlier because it was quite shrivelled and dry and barely warm) and waffles (pretty sure they weren't homemade! - with GFS syrup. Certainly not what you'd expect at a place charging this much.

Our room was lovely and the tub was fun! However the hotel was having some issues with the sewer system when we arrived (plumber was on site) and it created a very unromantic odor for the first day (seemed to abate by day 2). Based on prior comments it sounds like this wasn't a first.

Overall I'd say if you're looking for a romantic getaway there are better places (like the Glenlaural Inn - now that's ROMANTIC!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We celebrated our 25th anniversary with two relaxing and romantic nights in the Out of Africa Suite. I have celiac disease plus food allergies and sensitivities and the chef did a wonderful job providing delicious food that we could eat. We had two breakfasts, a candlelight dinner, picnic basket dinner, and the 'eat fondue naked' all of which were superb! Being from the country we loved the privacy of the inn. Overall it was a perfect quiet getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms are truly as they are represented online. Take your time to choose one that suits your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperOH, Owner at HideAway Country Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank You So much !!! IT was Exciting to take Great care of you! Now you have a place to go, after not being able to eat out in over 4 years !!!

Come and have fun in our cooking classes this year!

We look forward to having you visit many times in the future.

thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Carpenter room at the HideAway Country inn. The service was great, the food amazing, and the bed was more comfortable than my own. I can't rate the inn excellent because the rooms are a bit overpriced for what you receive. Biggest problem I had at the inn was well I am from the city, in the city we don't have well water. Had I thought about this ahead of time I probably wouldn't have stayed here. Now if the smell of well water doesn't bother you than this is a beautiful place to stay. We were both really excited to relax in the rooms jacuzzi whirlpool tub, and this was where the well water was bothering. However, service couldn't have been better, if you are looking for a romantic getaway, i couldn't get a bar of service on my phone, and we never heard any of the other guests, it was incredibly quiet which was nice. Also, the staff upon learning that my boyfriend was a vegan, made a full vegan breakfast, which was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperOH, General Manager at HideAway Country Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Yes the water is different in the country. Even more healthy than the city water. We know where it comes from and the natural filters.

BEST part is NO chemicals are added.

The water is super safe and tested in an approved EPA lab. Yes there are some minerals but no other chemicals.

Safe healthy and great for the environment. Country water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay was just one night and seemed like much more. It was so romantic and relaxing. We stayed in the Out of Africa Loft. It was wonderful! The Jacuzzi was amazing and the bed in the loft perfect. We sat on the porch at midnight in our robes and saw no one. It was so romantic.

We cannot wait to return. All the staff was so helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. I cannot give them higher praise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperOH, General Manager at HideAway Country Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Mccunda

Glad you enjoyed your stay. How did you like the Safari hats in your suite ? Please share any pictures you may have with the hats on.....

Try the couples massage the next time you visit.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had such a wonderful time during our stay. The staff was helpful and pleasent. We loved the country setting and the fact that every need was on site so we could truely relax and unwind! Two thumbs up for this great B&B. P.S. rooms are amazing!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here May 16 through May 19, 2014. I can't tell you how many times we heard "This weekend is all about you guys" from their staff. And then they backed it up with such friendly service. We stayed in "The Smith" room and it was pretty awesome. It was very clean and full of character....and Big! The hot tub for 2 on the balcony was awesome to sit in at night and have a glass of wine together. The bed/pillows were very comfortable. The views from the room are very scenic. The bar/lounge area is very comfortable and they have a great sitting area by the fire place as well as 2 large flatscreen tvs. We ordered dinner from the bar area and the food was fantastic. We felt like we were at a 5 star restaurant when we had breakfast each morning....again the food was fantastic!
I have to say though, beyond how nice and clean and full of character this place is, the staff is truly what makes this place so welcoming and comfortable. Debbie, Sno, Victoria, etc. were all wonderful. We had many conversations with some of staff that went beyond them just checking on us. It is truly a family type atmosphere with the staff and that is something we really appreciate. We actually stayed here for a minimal charge through a radio promotion, but we would gladly pay the regular rates to enjoy another romantic weekend getaway here again. Thank you guys so much for making our weekend amazing! Jason & Kasie.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucyrus
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
24.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Mansfield
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
13.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Marion
Fairfield Inn Marion
#2 of 7 in Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
13.0 mi away
Royalton Inn & Suites Upper Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HideAway Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HideAway Country Inn

Address: 1601 State Route 4, Bucyrus, OH 44820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Bucyrus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucyrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HideAway Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Mid-Ohio, Areas only Full Service Boutique Hotel or a larger Ohio bed & breakfast. Hideaway Country Inn offers a peaceful setting on 8 acres of exquisitely landscaped grounds and gardens. Hideaway Country Inn is tucked away in Ohio's beautiful farm country, located between Bucyrus, Marion, and Mansfield, Ohio. The area surrounding the Bed and Breakfast Inn has something for everyone whether you are a race fan, like to enjoy the theater and fine dining, a history buff, or the back to nature type. Explore the Heart of Ohio at the most luxurious and unique Bed & Breakfast in Ohio. Hideaway Country Inn's suites are perfect for many occasions. Whether you are having a wedding, a corporate retreat, celebrating an anniversary, a birthday, other special occasion, or just want to get away from it all for a while, Hideaway Country Inn is the perfect bed & breakfast for you. Each room/suite offers a unique theme and different set of amenities including a Private Jacuzzi, gas fireplace, Premium satellite TV, individual temperature control. Guaranteed Privacy. Rejuvenate with one of our many on-site Spa treatments provided by a licensed massage therapists. We invite you to explore our site and start planning your next getaway at one of the most relaxing Bed & Breakfasts in Ohio Come in and join us for Mid Ohio Sports Car Course Races! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your HideAway Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Country Hotel Bucyrus
HideAway Country Inn Bucyrus, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HideAway Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.