We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1575 N. Sandusky Ave, Intersection of US 30 and SR 4, Bucyrus, OH 44820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bucyrus
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Woman working the front desk had no greeting for me, other than what can I do for you, not smile not hello no nothing , I wouldn't waste my time on the breakfast, the eggs were standing in water, the biscuits were hard, the rolls they are known for was hard a rock. There wasn't any meat, no apples, one banana. The sheets were not of the quality as other Holiday Inn's, I was never recognized as a reward member. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear 22faith,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We would like to obtain some additional information and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights when we were unable to get a room in Marion. A very nice Holiday Inn Express. Super friendly staff and the breakfast area was well maintained. Modern facility on Route 30. Room was very clean with a refrigerator.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear SilverPintoWagon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. While we are pleased with your nice comments, we noticed you reviewed the hotel with only 1 star. Please let us know if we can assist you with anything further.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed on trip to Columbus...hotel was fine. Pool was cold and breakfast was disappointing. However, front desk personnel was very helpful and pleasant at check-in. Rooms were spacious and nice, nothing fancy, but very respectable. Nice hotel for small town with not much else around. Only complaint on breakfast was cinnamon rolls weren't ready at 7:30 on Saturday morning. Rest of food was decent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just here for one night on business but I found this hotel met all my needs. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room as large and clean. Very convenient to the highway. Did not take advantage of the continental breakfast but it looked great. Only problem is the entrance driveway is not well marked. I arrived after dark and missed the entrance on my first pass.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is modern in every way with a friendly staff that greeted us when we arrived. The pool was heated, possibly a little warmer than some might enjoy, but I liked it. The room was clean, as well as the bathroom. The breakfast bar was ready at 6:00 AM and featured a variety of tasty options. Check-in was fast and easy. I certainly plan on staying again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

While you only have two hotels to choose from on the north side of town, this will be a good choice for many. It is located just off Route 30 and while the driveway is easy to miss, you will always know where it is -- no trees blocking your view. Adjacent is a Bob Evans, a convenience store, a bank with ATM and a local apple butter / jelly company.

Very nice parking lot with good access to the entrances. The front door has a large canopy which leads to the front desk and a two story breakfast area. Check in was very fast -- she had our slip printed and key cards made.

The room was well designed. A large bathroom with tub shower, large surface area and plenty of amenities. Lighting was very good. The room was large enough to get around easily. It included a refrigerator ( a little noisy) and a microwave. Good desk area and good lighting. The floors do creak as mentioned in another review -- a little odd for a new hotel.

Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express: make yourself pancakes, yogurt (only fake sugar), coffee, breads, hot items (chipped beef), bananas and instant oatmeal. The area was clean and well kept. Lots tables and a TV for new updates.

They have an indoor pool which we did not try. The exercise room was nice and we put that to good use.

This property is excellent for business people, families, travelers passing through.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side away from Route 30 are best for quiet. Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Bucyrus, Ohio on a trip through the area. Couldn't get a room in Mansfield, so settled on Bucyrus. It appears to be a newer hotel, so we thought it would be just fine. Construction appears to be stick built, thus the floor shakes as you walk in your room. It actually shook the coffee maker on the table. We were on the top floor, so we didn't have heavy footsteps above us, but I would not want to have someone above me. There was only one tissue in the tissue box. The elevator was slow. The breakfast was good. The room rate was $179.00, in a hotel and town where an appropriate rate might have been $98.00.

Room Tip: Noisy flimsy floors. Stay on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear ExFeds,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the construction, housekeeping and the elevator. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus

Address: 1575 N. Sandusky Ave, Intersection of US 30 and SR 4, Bucyrus, OH 44820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Bucyrus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bucyrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bucyrus! Our hotel is minutes away from the Golf Club, area shopping and the Historical Society. In addition to the amenities mention below, our hotel provides comfortable guest rooms for both the business and leisure traveler.Experience Bucyrus! Stay a night with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bucyrus! Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls! We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus Hotel Bucyrus
Holiday Inn Bucyrus
Bucyrus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.