We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low key hidden in an office building, worth stopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heimatland Restaurant

Heimatland Restaurant
3511 Center Rd Ste D, Brunswick, OH 44212
(330) 220-8671
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Brunswick
Restaurant details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“low key hidden in an office building, worth stopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

very authentic German meals, taste was great. VERY nondescript HARD to notice restaurant on the main street, but worth finding. Lunch meals under $6.00 hard to believe there are still places out there making money charging low amounts. Meals came out quick and full of flavor. Owner should consider making better signage so you know it is not just an office complex but also a location with a restaurant with great food.

Take time to see the many hand painted murals on all the walls. A lost art and traditions are here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am a big fan of Central European eats. I finally tried the Heimatland, and can tell you that it is every bit as good as Stere's or Das Scnitzelhaus in the Cleveland area. The restaurant is small, but spotless and homey. The staff is very friendly, and the service attentive. Potato pancakes were delicious and crispy, not frozen, but fresh. The beef goulash over noodles was flavorful and fork tender. The pork schnitzel was pounded very thin, and featured two huge pieces. The German potato salad was fresh and flavorful, no soggy or greasy potatoes here. The prices are very reasonable, most running from $9-$12. Everything tasted homemade. I've seen some less positive reviews, which surprises me, as this is very good food, if you like old fashioned Central European dishes. Nothing fancy here, just good food in big portions. If you frequent other German places in the Cleveland area, give this a try. It's great, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Heimatland is a nice little German style place to eat. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Give it a try.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a great little place for breakfast. The food is excellent and the staff was very friendly! It is also very affordable. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Little Clostrophobic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Went here once for breakfast and once for dinner. The food was okay, at best, nothing special. Not surprised to see it closed down, or so it appears. Every time I drive by, it is not open, but there does appear to be a sign on the door to the deck, which I have not read.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heimatland Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Heimatland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heimatland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.