We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as previous reviews indicate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brookville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brookville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brookville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Parkview Drive North, Brookville, OH 45309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brookville
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not as bad as previous reviews indicate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My girlfriend, daughter and I drove all night from Kansas City to visit family in the area. I called this hotel in the early morning and spoke to Sanjay, and he let us check in at 8:30 AM. This courtesy was much appreciated, and well beyond normal expectations.

Upon arriving in our room, we noticed the window wouldn't shut all the way, and the phone wasn't working. However, upon visiting the front desk, they sent a maintenance person up to our room who fixed the issues right away.

Each employee we encountered was polite, made eye contact and said hello. Requests for extra towels were greeted with a smile.

Breakfast quality was above average, with fresh hot cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, several different kinds of cereals, breads and fruits. The free breakfast saved us a lot of money each morning.

Our only disappointment is that the pool is advertised as "heated," but was in fact ice cold.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookville, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear comfortablynumb79,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very pleased to know that you were accommodated earlier than expected. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed our breakfast each day. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the pool and its water temperature. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
12
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we have always had such great experiences with Holiday Inn Express. This hotel needs to have their rights to the Holiday Inn name revoked. Icky!! Cobwebs and spiders in the corners of the rear entrance (closest to our room), a gargantuan spider running across the floor by the vending machines, a dirty pool that was cold even by my husband's standards (and he can take some pretty cold water in pools). Our room was musty and nothing to write home about. We were told they could "squeeze us in" due to a cancellation, but the parking lot was as empty in the morning as it was when we checked in. Bottom line, we would never stay here again, even at half the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookville, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear 654Elle_H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the condition of the hotel facilities prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am thankful that we only stayed one night at this Holiday Inn. We noticed upon pulling up the lack of care to the outside of the building with weeds growing through the rock beds, things just didn’t look kept up. We also noticed right away that the windows in the hallways were open, which seemed odd since it had been near 90 degrees the day we were there. Things didn’t improve much once we were inside. The lobby was hot (no AC on), and not exactly clean (dirty floors, bugs in the lights). I believe it would be fair to say that there was a lack of care for the facility overall. I was very nervous checking in and heading up to our room. The hallways were again not air conditioned (the windows were open), and when we opened our room, the ac was not on in there either. The room, overall, was clean, but much of the room appeared to be old/outdates (carpet, drapes, headboard, desk, chair). The bathroom was clean; however the shower head needed some work as the water pressure was very poor. The next morning we went to the lobby for breakfast, which I would compare to other Holiday Inn Express hot breakfasts that I’ve had before, so nothing too exciting or fabulous. However, sweating while eating, I would not compare to any other hotel experience I’ve had. The AC was still off in the lobby and the forecast for the day still being near 90 degrees and humid, both sets of automatic doors to the outside were propped open to let in hot muggy air causing the lobby to be uncomfortably warm. For the price of this hotel ($100+ for the night) I expected much more than what we got. I was extremely disappointed in the care of the facility and our overall experience at this Holiday Inn Express, (especially for the amount of money we spent on our night there). I would not stay, or recommend others to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookville, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mamallama_13,

Thank you for taking your time to express your concerns about your experience during your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is regrettable you did not enjoy your stay at our property and I apologize for any inconvenience caused you. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my fourth year staying here during the Dayton Hamvention. The front desk staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The breakfast good enough and you can shake things up by going to the Waffle House two blocks away. Will stay again here next May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

arrived early afternoon for a 10 hour stay truck parking at end of street..property looks pretty good from outside..I was not welcomed as a platinum member nor offered a goody bag I ask for a bottle of water but was told they didnt have any...room was very clean and appeared to be freshly remodeled..some of furnishings looked new some looked old but all was extremely clean..bed was fair not great like most HIE's but not the worst Ive seen..but room had no microwave..I thought for $96.00 it would have a microwave..this place is not bad by any means but just so-so for a HIE...but compared to the other motel next door Im sure this place is way better

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookville, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear teamster175,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is nice that it is right off the interstate. While the property was nice, the breakfast was sub-quality compared to other Holiday Inn's. Also, the pool water was very cold. The rooms were clean. The wi-fi speed was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookville, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear dnumme,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. i am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations specifically on breakfast and pool temperature. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at a church conference near this hotel. We stayed four nights here, and after reading a number of reviews I was not looking forward to it. We were VERY surprised and found nothing resembling the negative reviews we read. The room and entire hotel was spotlessly clean. It appeared the room had been upgraded in paint, wallpaper, and window treatments. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well insulated so we heard no noise during the night.

The toilet was not flushing well in our room. After trying to fix it twice, we were upgraded to a king room with a few extra amenities just across the hall, an easy move.

We don't expect anything special for a free breakfast in a hotel called "Express," but we were very pleased with the selection and taste of all the food.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in this area or even on the west side of Dayton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookville

Address: 95 Parkview Drive North, Brookville, OH 45309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Brookville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brookville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near North Dayton, OH, Brookville Holiday Inn Express invites you to come and experience a hale and hearty stay at our facility. Whether on business or leisure we strive to accommodate your every possible need during your stay with us.Our hotel is conveniently positioned on I-70, exit 21, close to Dayton International Airport (DAY), Eaton, Greenville, Lewisburg Ohio and Richmond, Indiana and immediate to Dayton Airport Expo Center, Hara Arena, Dayton Convention Center, Henny Penny, Eldora Speedway, US Air Force Museum, Procter & Gamble, North American Nutrition Company, Parker Hannifin, Green Tokai and other companies nearby.We also offer complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Dayton International Airport.We offer hot Express Start breakfast featuring delicious warm cinnamon rolls and specialty items like cheesy omelets, sausage gravy, biscuits, waffles & pastries!Our beds feature new pillow top mattresses & Simply Smart Bedding. Our Simply Smart bathrooms feature the Kohler multifunctional shower head, a curved shower rod for more space in the shower, and larger bath towels! Whether you plan to work out in our fitness center, enjoy the year-round indoor heated pool, or take advantage of our complimentary wireless Internet access & business center, Holiday Inn Express Brookville looks forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookville Hotel Brookville
Holiday Inn Brookville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brookville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.