We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was great, rooms . . . Not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Boardman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Boardman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Boardman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7410 South Ave at McKay Dr, Boardman, OH 44512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
New Castle, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service was great, rooms . . . Not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I reserved a room here for a ladies night out at a nearby venue. While the service was great, the room, while clean, was very lackluster.
Even though it was a higher end room with a pull-out sofa and mini-fridge, it seemed worn and dark. The bathroom space was very small with no place for storage. With 4 women sharing the room the lack of space was a hindrance.
I have heard from management that upgrades are coming which is great. Overall experience was good, just the room itself left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Glad you liked the service. That is very important to us. As you mentioned, we are planning a very extensive renovation this fall and greatly looking forward to it. That being said, the size of the room will be the same and I can see where having four adults sharing a room would be challenging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Three months prior to my wedding the reception venue that I was using canceled. The people at the Holiday Inn stepped up and saved the day. They put together a beautiful wedding and made the transition quick and easy. Most of our guest were from out of town and stayed at the hotel and had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Amy,

Obvioulsly, we had the date open and it was good business for us. However, the fun part, was realizing early on that we were a perfect fit for your wedding. I think we can also safely say, that the last minute moving of the wedding, ended up being a good thing. We are so glad we were a part of it. Hope you have a long and happy married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were driving thru and needed to find a room for the night as it was late so when we saw the sign for a Holiday Inn we stopped. We were given a room right across from the elevator which often can be noisy but perhaps due to the late hour that wasn't a problem. We got a good night's sleep in a clean room and were pleasantly surprised in the morning to find that the hotel had a pool, fitness center, business center, and full service restaurant. There was complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby. Prices in the restaurant were very reasonable. The service was pleasant and efficient and the breakfast was ample. Although this hotel was a little pricier than some it represents everything a Holiday Inn should be.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are very glad you liked our hotel. A lot has changed in the hotel industry over the years but " a good nights sleep in a clean room " is still one of the most important things. I hope we were very friendly and accomodating, also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent April 27- May 1, 2014, the room was clean, staff courteous, and meeting room comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised as the restaurant prices were competitive, food excellent. The manager there gets it as the place was busy not only with travelers but with local patrons. Often hotel restaurant prices are not reasonable nor full so Kudo's to this Holiday Inn.
We enjoyed our stay there and would go back.

Room Tip: Not really, we were on the third floor, it was quiet and easy access to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments. They are great to hear. We are very proud of our restaurant. We have a a lot of staff members that have been with us a long time including our executive chef ( over 20 years) and our sous chef (over 10 years). We promise we will continue to work hard. So that we can be the best full service hotel that we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Many time conference hotels are geared toward the business side of the operation and rooms are fairly basic. However, after a week here for business I can honestly say the bed is as comfortable as home, the walls are well insulated from noise, and the king rooms have a separate living area which enhances the comfort. The front desk staff without exception provided excellent information about the surrounding area. The pool area was spotless and meticulously cared for. The location is close to every possible type of business and service a traveler might need. Keep this location in mind for future travel arrangements!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the good comments. Hospitality can be very demanding and that is why it is so very rewarding to get nice feedback. Thankfully, we do often hear good things from our guest and treat it as a gift each time we do.We will share these nice comments with our entire staff as it is very important for them to hear what our guests feel about our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We came in for a dance competition. It was very close to the venue and close to lots of great restaurants and shopping. thanks for the great stay. Kids had a nice time in the hot tub n pool. Only con was the elevators are extremely slow.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a good full service HI. Maybe it's grounds and lobby are beginning to look a little tired but it is well kept, clean and the rooms are updated and clean. While traveling for business, I typically do not stay at full service but this is very convenient so it is my first choice.

If you travel overnight often enough you learn hotel bars can become a problem if you are not careful. But I got back to the hotel earlier than expected and stopped in. Appeared to be all travelers, no locals. Quick service and you can bring your beverage of choice up to your room if you like. Good all the way around.

One thing I would hope ALL Hotels would learn, is to have easy access to electrical outlets by the bed. My phone is also my alarm clock but too often you have to dig behind the night stand and figure out which plug to pull to plug in your phone.

Full service so no free breakfast but they have coffee available immediately off the elevator until 9:00 am. Note, 9 means 9, by 9:05 it was gone.

Parking is limited by the front entrance but plenty by the rear entrance.

Staff is excellent, pleasant efficient everything you would want.

IMO, they are a little overpriced for the area but have never disappointed me.

Room Tip: Well built. On the 3rd floor facing the street I had a quite night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnBoardman, Manager at Holiday Inn Boardman, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. I'm glad that you feel we are a good hotel option. We are the only full service hotel in the market. We enjoy being full service and are proud of our restaurant, lounge, meeting space and are glad that we can offer things the other hotels can't. We also have a great pool, fitness room and business center. Of course, full service is only good if you are delivering great service and that is definitely our goal.

New England Sales Guy, electrical outlets are on our radar and that will be done later in the year as part of an indoor renovation. Also hope that the coffee being taken down at 9am didn't cause any problems for you. If it ever does, you can always let us know and we would be happy to get you coffee.

Wish I could be with you on the Sox, Patriots and the Celtics, but I can't. Please ask for me, if you stay with us again, I would enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Boardman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boardman

Address: 7410 South Ave at McKay Dr, Boardman, OH 44512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Boardman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boardman 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Youngstown South (Boardman) is an award winning hotel, and People Notice our Pride! Guests enjoy full-service features and amenities such as high-speed internet access; an indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool spa; onsite fitness center, as well as complimentary access to a nearby full-featured fitness center; and the locally renowned T.J.'s Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel.The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the area's shopping and entertainment district and is surrounded with literally millions of square feet of retail shopping stores and dozens of locally owned and chain affliated restaurants. A 10 screen Regal Cinemas movie theater is directly adjacent to the hotel. Many company offices with local, regional, and national bases are located nearby the hotel. Guests to the Holiday Inn Boardman enjoy ease of access from three international and regional airports including Cleveland (CLE), Pittsburgh (PIT), and Akron/Canton (CAK). Driving? The hotel sits minutes from I-76, I-80, and I-680.'The Holiday Inn story is larger than buildings and happy vacations. It is the story of people - people who had faith in an idea, and who were willing to work together for its development.' - Kemmons Wilson, 'The Holiday Inn Story', July 1971. We have the Right People to make your visit special, and we look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Boardman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boardman Hotel Boardman
Boardman Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Boardman Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Boardman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.