We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Berlin Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Berlin Grande Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at a variety of places in OAC. Berlin Grande is one we've stayed at a few times. We've always had a positive experience. The staff is friendly, the breakfast buffet has a variety to choose from, and the convenience of walking to the town of Berlin is a plus. We've always had a balcony room but this time we opted for the ground floor with a patio. My husband loved the convenience of this! I thought it was nice, but I agree with other reviewers about some noise. However, it got quiet by 11:00 and I was able to sleep in until 8:00. No matter how nice the hotel, if you get bad neighbors above you or next to you....you'll not be happy. All in all, a very nice hotel. I do think the modern decor is out of place in the little town of Berlin (country atmosphere). But nice to have the pool and the little niceties this hotel offers.

Room Tip: The west side gets the full sun in the late afternoon/evening. If you want to sit outside after a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, Front Office Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Debbie C,
Thank you for your response to us. We strive daily to meet our guest expectations. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    65
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
186
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Berlin at this location. We are very frequent visitors to the area as we are building on a property close by. We are well acquainted with choosing nicer properties and this one came highly recommended by a local vendor. The location is wonderful...just off Route 62 in Berlin. Access is easy in and out and a nice big dining place is right next door. Lobby is warm and inviting and we loved the great fireplaces there with comfy sofas nearby to rest and relax. We noticed many families taking advantage of this. Hotel staff were generally very polite and helpful. A well stocked little "store" off the main desk was lovely for quick grabs. The breakfasts were pretty basic with all the usual items found in Amish Country hotels. Our room was comfortable and quiet, only because we were located on the top floor. We did notice though that anyone walking in the halls, on the steps or in their rooms was quite audible. The floors and walls seemed very thin. The hotel appeared quite full and there were many children running through the halls, up and down the stairs off the lobby and making quite a racket in their rooms. This is NOT a place for peace and quiet. We love children (we have 6 of our own), however, this was not quite as relaxing as one might have hoped. The pool area was very small and very crowded. The hottub was even smaller and placed back in a corner where the air doesn't circulate well and the water splashes over the sides continuously when the jets are on. All in all, a great location, a very comfortable room, a nice breakfast all at a good price. We will not likely stay here again as it just wasn't our "cup of tea", but this is a wonderful spot for traveling families.

Room Tip: Higher floor will have much less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, Front Office Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for your feedback to us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We continually strive for improvement and great guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have to say checking in was a breeze and the girl at the front desk was very friendly and easy to talk to.
My sister and I come to Amish country twice a year and we so look forward to this "girls only" trip. We enjoyed walking to the restaurant adjacent to the property and enjoyed swimming in the pool and getting in the hot tub.
The beds were very comfortable, but we had a great deal of trouble trying to sleep, it was so noisy!!! We were so disappointed, because we LOVED everything else about this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the hall and on the 4th floor. we were on the 3rd floor and it was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello Susan,

Thank you so much for your taking the time to share your experience, I am glad that you chose us again this year, but very sorry that you could not rest well. I am thoroughly sorry about the experience here this time and I would love the opportunity to speak to you and see what I can do to make your next trip here to Amish Country more pleasurable. Please contact me directly here at the property at 330-403-3050. Thank you! Darlene Mayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I were so excited to get away and stay here. It is very modern and clean. However, the noise level was insane. I could hear everything the people were doing above us including walking, opening the fridge and microwave, the TV, etc. I didn't sleep a wink since they were up late the night before and then got up again at 6:30am. I am so displeased with the fact that you can't even sleep or relax here that we'll never be back and won't be recommending it to anyone else.l

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear NDD817,

I am so very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable time with us, we certainly want to make this a better experience for you. If you would contact me directly at the property and I would be happy to discuss a resolution for you.

It is always difficult to know when noise levels are unbearable and so hard to resolve, we would have been very happy to move you to another area of the hotel without question. So please allow us the opportunity to rectify this for you and contact me at 330-403-3050.

Again, I am deeply sorry and I hope to speak to you soon.

Sincerely,

Darlene Mayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Berlin Grande Hotel on a recent weekend visit. It is very modern, has a decent breakfast, small but nice pool plus very hot hot tub, decent work out room and is within walking distance to downtown. It sits next to a very good restaurant and the views of the countryside are beautiful. The rooms also have a balcony which was nice plus a great kitchenette with a pull up bar. Will be back for sure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your response to us Angela N. it is always a pleasure to hear that we have reached our "daily" goal of striving for excellence is Guest Satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we can't wait to see you again.

Again, we thank you for choosing the Berlin Grande Hotel.

Sincerely,

Darlene Mayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I planned a trip to Amish country to unwind and relax. We had never stayed in Berlin before and thought we'd give the Berlin Grande Hotel a try. I am glad we did. Check-in was fast, cookies at front desk were awesome and the room was great. We had the fireplace suite and the room was huge. Large kitchenette area with almost full-size refrigerator and counter with bar stools was nice, in addition to the 4-seat dining table. Huge vanity in bathroom. Went to the pool and hot tub and both days we were the only ones in there. Really enjoyed it. The fitness room is not huge, but I only use the treadmill, so it was fine for my needs. Morning breakfast was great. On Friday morning, not very crowded - more crowded on Saturday morning (as would be expected), but still plenty of room. Only had one small issue. When we returned to our room on Friday afternoon, maid service left a bag of garbage from the kitchenette trash can right by the door (must have forgotten to take it out of the room). Called down to the lobby and they had someone come up and get it right away. Next time we come to the area, we will definitely be staying here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your kind and thorough review. I'm happy you enjoyed one of our suites and so many of our amenities. Our focus is to always provide five-star service for our "select-service" hotel, and I'm sorry we dropped the ball with the forgotten trash. We look forward to hosting you again when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are regular visitors to Amish Country and have stayed in many hotels. Decided to give this one a try after getting a discounted rate on a hotel website, and it did not disappoint. The room was very clean, modern looking, and comfortable. We used the pool and hot tub while we were there and they were well maintained. Breakfast is included and was a nice for being free. It was a pretty typical hotel breakfast but did not have any local Amish goods as some of the more traditional Amish Country hotels do. It sits just behind the Farmstead Restaurant on a back street in the town of Berlin. Being able to walk to dinner one night was nice. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good evening! Thank you for your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, the price you paid, the breakfast, and our cleanliness. We hope to have you visit again soon. Have a wonderful rest of February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.