We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Grande Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Berlin Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Berlin Grande Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Berlin Grande Hotel on a recent weekend visit. It is very modern, has a decent breakfast, small but nice pool plus very hot hot tub, decent work out room and is within walking distance to downtown. It sits next to a very good restaurant and the views of the countryside are beautiful. The rooms also have a balcony which was nice plus a great kitchenette with a pull up bar. Will be back for sure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your response to us Angela N. it is always a pleasure to hear that we have reached our "daily" goal of striving for excellence is Guest Satisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we can't wait to see you again.

Again, we thank you for choosing the Berlin Grande Hotel.

Sincerely,

Darlene Mayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    65
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
186
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I planned a trip to Amish country to unwind and relax. We had never stayed in Berlin before and thought we'd give the Berlin Grande Hotel a try. I am glad we did. Check-in was fast, cookies at front desk were awesome and the room was great. We had the fireplace suite and the room was huge. Large kitchenette area with almost full-size refrigerator and counter with bar stools was nice, in addition to the 4-seat dining table. Huge vanity in bathroom. Went to the pool and hot tub and both days we were the only ones in there. Really enjoyed it. The fitness room is not huge, but I only use the treadmill, so it was fine for my needs. Morning breakfast was great. On Friday morning, not very crowded - more crowded on Saturday morning (as would be expected), but still plenty of room. Only had one small issue. When we returned to our room on Friday afternoon, maid service left a bag of garbage from the kitchenette trash can right by the door (must have forgotten to take it out of the room). Called down to the lobby and they had someone come up and get it right away. Next time we come to the area, we will definitely be staying here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your kind and thorough review. I'm happy you enjoyed one of our suites and so many of our amenities. Our focus is to always provide five-star service for our "select-service" hotel, and I'm sorry we dropped the ball with the forgotten trash. We look forward to hosting you again when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are regular visitors to Amish Country and have stayed in many hotels. Decided to give this one a try after getting a discounted rate on a hotel website, and it did not disappoint. The room was very clean, modern looking, and comfortable. We used the pool and hot tub while we were there and they were well maintained. Breakfast is included and was a nice for being free. It was a pretty typical hotel breakfast but did not have any local Amish goods as some of the more traditional Amish Country hotels do. It sits just behind the Farmstead Restaurant on a back street in the town of Berlin. Being able to walk to dinner one night was nice. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good evening! Thank you for your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, the price you paid, the breakfast, and our cleanliness. We hope to have you visit again soon. Have a wonderful rest of February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinnston, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed this past weekend and we loved it! The hotel is clean and inviting. The rooms are very nice and the decor is modern and upscale. The staff was friendly and advised us of the free fresh baked cookies, tea, water, coffee, and hot chocolate in the lobby. We were given a coupon for a free item in the area. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. We had a wonderful stay and plan to return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good Morning, Thank you for staying with us and giving us such a great review. We love to hear that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful amenities. The cookies are made by Olde World Bakery here in Berlin, which is a little bakery/cafe' located within Schrock's Amish Farm. As you know, this area prides itself on great food. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed one Saturday night with our dog. Our pet friendly room was on the first floor and had an outside entrance which was perfect for taking our dog in and out. The room itself was very clean and had a nice layout. The free breakfast included in the room rate was wonderful. It is easy to take it back to your room or eat it in the dining area. The location is hard to beat, its located right in beautiful Berlin. You can shop all day and then relax is this clean, comfortable hotel. On top of it all the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Good Morning and Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your pet could stay too. All our pet friendly rooms are on first floor which makes them convenient for our guests staying with pets. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very welcoming. The rooms are enormous. The fresh baked cookies and unlimited coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby are very nice. They always give you a coupon for something free in the area. That is very smart. More places should do that! It is just up the hill from a wonderful restaurant. Breakfast was ok. Could use a few more options that are healthy. Pool is very nice and clean and the workout room is nice too. This was our second visit and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good Afternoon and thank you for again choosing to stay at the Berlin Grande Hotel. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve and receiving your feedback helps so much. Thank you and have a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just returned, fabulous stay. Gingerbread house in lobby, great holiday deals as 79 per night for december. Great food in the area. Wonderful place to stay before christmas. Rooms are huge, clean, flat screen televisions with wet bar. Always a friendly staff and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Merry Christmas to your family! Our Gingerbread house was donated by the Little Cottage Company here in Berlin for us to use during the Cookie Tour of Inns 2013. We had so much fun with it and I'm glad you were able to enjoy it as well. Thank you for your time in giving us great feedback. We look forward to hosting you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.