We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only an overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added Berlin Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berlin Grande Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Berlin
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Only an overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

but we thought it was a very nice property. Almost brand new, our room was very large and furnished with a high quality mattress, a nice departure from the norm. There was an event in town that filled the place with families and there were lots of kids running around so there was some noise but not enough to be bothersome. Another reviewer noted that the tv was too small but I think it was an average size tv that only seemed small because the room was so big. We pack along a lot of stuff when travelling and I appreciated the extra space very much. We also had a ground level room that had a small patio outside which was a nice feature. When we return to this area we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good Morning, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    40
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
71
106
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed three nights longer than initially planned. Will stay there again for sure if we return to the Amish Country. Special thanks to Jeff at reception for his assistance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi, I enjoy hearing how our staff was helpful, so thank you for that comment. Hopefully you can return to Amish Country and the Berlin Grande Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Walking in to the Berlin Grande you would think that you were in a big metropolitan city and a 5 star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and intend to stay here in the summer. We stayed here in the winter with a High School Girls Basketball Showcase called Classic in the Country.

As you walk in, to the right of you is a beverage station with coffee, tea, and ice water with fresh cut oranges and lemons ready for guests to be refreshed. To the left of you is a friendly smile of the attentive front desk clerk making you feel like you are a frequent guest who she knows so well.

The check in process was easy. And I received my electronic key to the room. I checked into the King Fireplace Courtyard Room. I opened the door and was astonished by the size of the room. The bedroom area is not even visible upon entry. The living room has comfortable contempory furniture. There is a leather sleeper sofa as well as a sitting chair. The bar area has an apartment size refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. The counter and bar stools allow for variety of seating. If you prefer you can enjoy the table with four chairs. The flat screen tv and ventless fireplace both have remote controls (word of advice don't turn up the heat on the fireplace too high or else you will set of the smoke detector..speaking from experience). The room had individual temperature controls that made setting the room to a temperature of my liking easy.

The bedroom area is seperated by a high wall but there is no door. The bedroom consists of a king size bed that is the best bed I have ever slept on in a hotel room. The linens were crisp yet comfortable. The bedroom had its own flat screen television that sits on top of a full size dresser. Next to the bed is an ihome ipod docking alarm clock.

The balcony has seating for two. I didn't get to use it in the winter because it was snow covered. However after a day of shopping in the country or touring the local wineries it would be a great place in the summer to relax with a nice glass of wine or your favorite beverage.

The bathroom was extremely large. Plenty of counter space. Besides the bed, the best part of the room was the shower. The shower was big enough for at least 2 people. The shower had multiple heads coming out of the wall. I was able to position the wall heads directly where I wanted them to give myself a nice hydromassage. The handle allowed for me to turn on or off the wall head or the above shower head.

For recreation, there is a fitness room and a beautifully clean indoor pool and jacuzzi. Plenty of towels available in each so no need to bring ones from your room or some from home.

Breakfast was an expanded continental breakfast. It had things such as sausage, egg, and and cheese biscuit, make your own fresh waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, various breakfast breads/danishes, juices, and milk.

The housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job or making me feel welcome as well.

Wonderful room for someone who wants a romantic getaway or is spending several days in Amish Country.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good morning, Wow, thank you for the great review! I love your descriptive comments of our hotel. We always look forward to the Classic in the Country weekend (which is coming up here before long). It's fun for the staff, a high energy couple of days. Thank you again and we will see you in a couple months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

These are the good things,nice staff,fair price,good breakfast,very clean and nicely decorated! Now for the needs improvement,the shower-be careful,there is no grab bar and nowhere to put your soap etc.at eye level .We found the t.v. to be too small for the room.A great chair to enjoy your book but no lamp to read by.There is alot of extra space that you really do not need.Towels to thin.Finally,one elevator for guests and housekeeping.Cleaning staff must wait for empty elevator,this is alot of wasted time.A few too many corners were cut to save money!!.

Room Tip: Our room had terrible view,ask for room with good view.Ask for top floor and far from ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your review. We love hearing from our guests. We want your experience to the the absolute best and I apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments point us on the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We enjoyed almost everything about the hotel; the room was beautiful, the grounds and common areas spotless, the breakfast was great, the rate was very reasonable....but....we got almost no sleep because we could hear noise from every direction. We could hear people walking above us. The TV from the next room. People holding normal conversations in the hallway. The toilet flushing/water running from the room above. I wouldn't stay there again because I need my sleep! I will say,however, that when I called the desk at 11:30pm to ask them to quiet the people in the room next to us, it happened immediately. We had the misfortune to stay at the hotel during the same time as a girls high school basketball team. Also, the living area of our suite was too dark, while the lights in the bedroom were bright enough for a surgical room. Weird! Everyone there was so nice, I feel bad that we didn't love it!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor, at least you won't hear people walking or flushing above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We appreciate hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay with us and hearing about any issues they may have had during our stay. It lets us know where improvements are needed. We are always striving to continuously improve our hotel for all our guests. Again thank you for taking the time to write this review for us and letting us know what we can do to make our hotel a better experience for everyone. We do hope you give us another chance to host your stay in Amish Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This really is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are huge as hotel rooms go. The kitchenette is great with a nice size fridge and microwave. We loved having the balcony with the view over the rolling country side. The only problem, and it's a big problem, is the noise. It brought back memories of living in a dorm. It is like the walls have no noise insulation between the rooms. We could hear tvs on both sides of us and talking that seemed to come from everywhere. We could even tell what tv station the room next door was watching. It was very hard to relax after a great day of touring the Amish countryside. When we mentioned this on checkout, we were told they knew of the problem and were taking steps to solve the problem. I only hope they do but until then we will not stay there again. Really great hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with our hotel. I'm so happy to report to you that we have taken measures in soundproofing our rooms. It has helped the noise transfer situation immensely. Since you enjoyed the other aspects and amenities of our hotel we hope that you will give us another chance to give you a comfortable, relaxing night's sleep after touring the Amish Countryside. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

good: bed, clean, soundproof walls, big suites
bad: breakfast without meat or eggs (unless you count frozen Jimmy Dean sandwiches which I certainly don't), water so hard I was dry before I got out of shower and it smells bad, wi-fi is a joke--worked 2 hours in 3 days and 24/7 support is a bigger joke. no lights to read with. 1 phone in bedroom of suite with none in kitchen by counter or in bathroom as any luxury hotel I have ever stayed at has. Only 1 club chair with footstool and it was in the way in the bedroom. I asked for and got a floor lamp but there were no plugs so we had to move the chair into the living room in order to read. Our room was across from the ice machine which sounded like a jet engine taking off. Maid service was slow. Put sign out for them and went shopping for 5 hours and room had yet to be done.
I stayed in Chicago recently on the loop in a very fine hotel for less than this place cost for a comparable suite. Over rated and overly expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: bring some light bulbs with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGH_Social_Media, General Manager at Berlin Grande Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Good Afternoon, thank you for writing this review and letting us know what issues you had while you stayed with us. We are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your views and suggestions and will take them into consideration in our efforts to continuously improve our hotel. We recently upgraded our Wi-Fi and are installing more lighting in our suites. Thank you again for your honesty and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berlin Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Grande Hotel

Address: 4787 Township Road 366, Berlin, OH 44610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berlin Grande Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berlin Grande Hotel is the newest hotel in Berlin,in the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. Our 78 room hotel features large spacious rooms, indoor heated saltwater pool, meeting facilities, a business center, 24 hr fitness room, free internet and long distance to our guests, a friendly supportive staff and spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Berlin Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Grande Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.