We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berlin Resort to your Saves list
Berlin Resort
5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW Signature Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Waldo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We really loved this place! The room was lovely and the view was wonderful! We enjoyed the waterfalls and fountain. The continental breakfast was great! The staff was friendly.

Very impressed!

We highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review! Your kind words make our day, as we always like to hear when our guests enjoy their stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself during your visit, we look forward to serving you again in the future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
77
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed there last year (September) with a tour group and was so impressed that when the senior citizens at my church began planning a trip this September, we recommended your hotel. We had a very spacious and clean room with a balcony last year. I am very excited about returning and staying again in your beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us in the past and we look forward to having you again this year! Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Amish Country to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. Upon entry we were greeted with delicious warm cookies and the staff was extremely pleasant. We stayed in the presidential suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. The wood finished ceiling and chandelier made the room so elegant. The bathroom didnt disappoint either! The jacuzzi tub was comfortable enough for 2 and the rainforest shower was wonderful. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return to this beautiful hotel somewhere in the near future. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite was amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of our hotel! We are so happy that we could help you celebrate your anniversary! The presidential suite is truly unique, and is perfect for such occasions with all it has to offer. We are looking forward to serving you next time! Thanks again for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. The view of the gazebo and water is beautiful. The room was clean and inviting, friendly staff and reasonable price. The staff even ran a movie for just us at 9 in the morning because we missed it the night before. We didn't use the pool but the people who were said it was great. We definitely enjoyed the fire pits in the evening, The only negative I would say was the breakfast. It was only ok the day we were there. Definitely had better.
Feeding the colorful fish by the fountain was entertaining and we enjoyed just walking the grounds.
I wish they would be a totally smoke free area though. We could not enjoy sitting on our balcony to enjoy the view because a group of people below us were smoking and the smell was very strong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to give feedback on your experience with Berlin Hotel & Suites. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, staff and theater! We are currently working on more ideas for breakfast, we are trying to incorporate more local foods but with more variety. Please let our front desk staff know if you ever have a problem with another guest.. we would be happy to ask them to smoke elsewhere. Again, thank you for your great feedback, we are always looking for ways we can improve! We hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Convenient location. Fast check in. Spotless, modern room. Lots of parking.

Included breakfast is nothing fancy but is ample, with fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles, cereal, eggs, and other choices.

Mattress is firm and comfortable. Towels are soft and there are plenty of them.

The free movies in the evening are a nice addition.

The run specials and sometimes have various discounts, such as stay one night and get the second night at 25% off. Be sure to ask for a special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! The private movie theater is exclusive to Berlin Hotel & Suites, we are actually the only hotel in Ohio that has one! I'm glad you got the opportunity to take advantage of our special, we hope to serve you again in the future! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have visited Amish Country several times, and most generally we stay at the Carlisle Inn in Sugarcreek. This time there were not any rooms at the Carlisle so we made reservations for the Berlin Hotel and Suites. When calling, we asked about swimming because it was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel because it had a pool. After talking to the young man we decided to book the room for two nights, and we were quoted a price which was to include a 15% discount for the month of August. After checking in, we looked at our bill and noticed that we were charged far more than what we were quoted. The other problem, we were in the pool to swim and approx. 15 minutes later a very rude and territorial older woman informed us that she was the "AEROBICS INSTRUCTOR" and we either "needed to leave" or "go pick a corner of the pool and not make a peep" or she would have us "kicked out" I returned to the front desk to inform them of both problems. The woman at the desk said unfortunately 'she couldn't do anything about the pool and we would have to wait until morning to speak to someone. We took the vacation days to swim, so I asked for a refund so we could go elsewhere. After several minutes, the lady at the front desk did call a manager and told her of the problems. They said they would put the amount back on our charge card. Well, not only were we overcharged to begin with, but we got our bank statement and we were charged two times for the charges which caused our account to be overdrawn. I would caution anyone who is thinking about booking this hotel, and if you do... Pay Cash so you will not be over charged. Also, if you are planning on swimming... you might as well leave your swimming attire at home because the cranky aerobics instructor rules the pool. The guests are not important.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, General Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Berlin Hotel & Suites. I wanted to resolve the misunderstandings that happened during your visit with us. We did completely refund your card for the stay since you decided not to stay with us. We have taken care of the water aerobics instructor so that she is not so demanding to our guests. We do post hours of these classes at the front desk, on our website and on the pool door so that our guests are aware that they are going on, but you are always more than welcome to join the classes. The lady at the front desk made a mistake, she did not mean to charge your card and I sincerely apologize for the error. Guests are our number one priority and we take all your feedback to heart. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, I talked to your husband and offered a visit to come back and give us another shot sometime on the house. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, we would truly look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed at Berlin Hotel and Suites three other times over the past 18 months. In my opinion, it is one of the best hotels located about 3 minutes away from the town of Berlin, OH which is the center of the Amish area.

In the past, my wife and I would stay in either the standard suite or the upgraded executive suite. Both suites are located in the newer wing of the hotel closer to the swimming pool, and both suites have a walk-in shower, 2-person jacuzzi tub, and plenty of space to stretch out and relax.

This time was different as we brought an elderly relative along on the trip. Our room was a deluxe room on the ground floor with 2 queen beds and a walk-out porch overlooking the beautiful grass, gazebo, and pond. Most important to us, the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The beds have much more comfortable mattresses than any other hotel at which I have ever stayed.

My biggest issue would have to do with items related to the location of the room -- Room #118. It was located in the older section of the hotel on the ground floor. Some of the issues included:

1) My elderly relative has very bad knees, and has difficulty walking steps or great distances. There a few ways to get to our room. We could get to the room by using the nearby external entrance after walking down 8 outside steps. We could enter through the lobby and walk down a set of stairs that were around 15 steps. We could enter the new wing and take the elevator to the ground floor, but then walk almost the entire length of the hotel to get to our room. None of these paths were a good choice for someone with bad knees.

2) The large-screen TV was mounted at ceiling level, which was a little too high for our preference and resulted in a slightly stiff neck depending how we looked at it.

3) While the room itself was very clean and comfortable, the external noise coming into our room was very bothersome. We frequently had noisy children running up and down the hallway because they were intrigued by the long hallways on the basement floor. Our room was located next to the external door going out to the walking path behind the hotel, and that door was banging as people went in and out late into the night. Finally, being on the ground floor, we were constantly reminded that there were people located in the room above us. Loud footsteps were heard on our ceiling every time they walked. The sliding glass door to their balcony above us was extremely loud, and lasted frequently until nearly 12:30 at night and started up again around 5:00 in the morning. All of these noise factors kept us from truly relaxing and getting a good night's sleep.

I have certainly learned my lesson to ask about the location of the room before reserving it for the night. At this particular hotel, any room on the second floor would be so much more desirable because there would be no rooms located above, and there are also far fewer external doors located near rooms on the top floor.


While I was not totally pleased with our room itself, let me give high kudos to the hotel employee in charge of the breakfast area that morning. Shortly after we walked into the breakfast area, this woman noticed my elderly relative checking out the food. The employee made the very generous offer of making a waffle while my relative went and found a seat. After delivering the waffle, she offered to go get syrup, coffee, or anything else that might have been needed for my relative's breakfast. It was so refreshing to see a hotel employee voluntarily go the extra mile to make sure my relative was satisfied. Thank you!

Overall, I still consider Berlin Hotel and Suites to be one of the finest hotels located near Berlin, OH. I will certainly stay at this hotel again on future trips. However, I will be certain to make sure of my room location before arrival.

Room Tip: If staying in the older section, always ask for a room on the top floor away from doors. For the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Your feedback means so much, we want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to serve you and we like to know when there are things we can improve upon. I'm very sorry to hear that your relative had to do a lot of walking with bad knees, in the future please let us know and we would be happy to put you in a room closer to the lobby area. Also, if you do experience noise coming from a room above you, please give the front desk a call and we would be happy to take care of the issue for you. We want our guests to have a good nights rest, which is why we have quiet hours in place. Our breakfast girls do such a wonderful job and I will be sure to pass this message along to them! We hope to serve you again in the future, thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Resort

Address: 5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Amish Country, Berlin Resort is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We offer many amenities including our 17,000 square foot fitness center, outdoor fire pits and 26-seat in house theater. Our staff is prepared to make your visit to Amish Country your most memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Resort Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.