We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel room ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berlin Resort to your Saves list
Berlin Resort
5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW Signature Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
lafayette, indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel room ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in many hotel rooms and this was best by far. We stayed in Executive suite and it was worth the extra money. Felt totally lavished. Wood paneling, large flat screen tv, shower and jet tub alone worth the extra money. Room is 450 sq ft of perfection. Two recliners, table with chairs for playing cards, fireplace, chandelier, special lighting. It was amazing and we didn't want to leave! The grounds are immaculatly kept up and we enjoyed the gazebo w/ koi pond and patios. We watched a movie in the theater. Didn't use the pool or weight room but they looked great. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 330 was awesome. Quiet and good view of front grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are always looking for suggestions to improve our service. I am very happy to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the Executive suite and all the amenities the hotel has to offer. We have an amazing landscaping staff that work very hard every day to keep up on our grounds. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and giving us such a nice review. Come and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    36
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed overnight June, 2013. IMMACULATE & BEAUTIFUL grounds...croquet and corn hole, fire pits with gliders, fountain and pond, koi to feed, balcony in room with glider, theater room, breakfast, warm cookies upon registering. Can't say enough about this hotel. Immaculate inside too. Recommend this whole heartedly!

Room Tip: great value. Get a room that faces the "green area". Private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
That you for your review of our hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay and all the amenities on site! Our landscaping staff takes great pride in the work the do to the grounds. Again, thank you for the wonderful review, we hope you return to see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel:
Pros - Clean facilities and friendly staff. Theater showing movies nightly. Pool, hot tub, exercise facilities, steam room. Patio with two fire pits. Walking paths. Gazebo, waterfalls, and koi pond. (Bring quarters for fish food!) Free continental breakfast. Hot coffee, ice water, hot chocolate, and hot water (bring your tea) in the lobby 24/7. Warm cookies at check-in are delicious!
Cons - The waffle irons in the breakfast area need replaced - almost everyone had a problem with their waffles sticking. The only option for food beyond the breakfast is a vending machine.

The room: We stayed in a delux king room.
Pros - Very clean. Simple furnishings. Balcony overlooking the gazebo and pond. Mini fridge. Dark towels for makeup removal. Bath & Body Works toiletries. Love the towels and pillows. Huge TV.
Cons - Very thin walls. Small bathroom (kept hitting the door on the extended shower curtain rod). Need an extra outlet to charge cell phones, etc.

Additional Notes: This is a popular wedding venue. We didn't really experience any problems due to this except when we were walking from our room to the pool/lounge area. The bridesmaids were staying in the hallway through which we had to pass, and were running from room to room in little more than their underwear. The haze of hairspray and perfume through which we passed was enough to trigger an asthma attack. We realize, however, that this is not something the hotel had any control over.

Final verdict: We will be visiting again (we really want to try the suites), but during the middle of the week in the off season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sara-
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your evaluation means a lot to us. We are always looking for ways to improve! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities the hotel has to offer. As far as the waffle irons, we do have a spray that helps the waffles not stick and I apologize if it was not in sight for you. We do regularly swap out the irons for that reason as well, I am sorry that you came upon issues with them sticking. Currently, we are putting together a plan to have other food and snacks available to our guests so that they may have another option besides vending. We did have two weddings going on this weekend, and I apologize for their indecency. If you come across something like this, please let the front desk know and we would be more than happy to confront the situation. We look forward to having you here again; thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice facility. A beautiful location and property. The rooms are very clean and spacey. Pillows are too big and full. The breakfast was well presented and good. The wellness center has some nice equipment but it is a little dirty and needs some updating. The pool was nice. The hottub made our eyes burn from chlorine smell. Overall, it is very nice but I wouldn't spend the money to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always looking for suggestions to make improvements. I apologize for the chlorine in the hot tub burning your eyes, we do check the chemicals every 2 hours to be sure the chemicals are in proper balance. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, rooms and breakfast! Again, thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we will use them in improving our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful clean hotel in the heart of Amish country. We have stayed here several times, & it has never disappointed. Our king suite was exceptionally clean, and the reclining leather chairs by the fireplace are very comfortable. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. Great place to stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us this great review! I'm so pleased to know you've had great experiences staying with us. Again, thank you for this wonderful review, we hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is by far the nicest, largest hotel room I have ever stated in. Giant walk in shower, giant whirlpool tub, separate water closet. The woodwork in this room was incredible. We had one of the newer rooms and it was worth the extra splurge. The pool and entertaining area are nice.

The breakfast area is quite small and didn't seem to match the grandeur of the rest of the hotel. Also, make sure you research nearby restaurants before your trip here as there aren't many options within sight. I also didn't see anywhere to buy snacks/drinks so you might want to bring those too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello, thank you for writing us such a nice review. We love to hear what you think so that we can make improvements to make your stay better next time. We have been considering a couple different ideas for the breakfast area as we realize it gets extremely packed when we have a full house. There are some vending areas in the hotel that we can point out to you on your next stay. Also, we keep a variety of menus from restaurants in the area to help make your decision a little easier. Again, thank you for taking the time to write us a review and help us work on improvements. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Checked in to the hotel on 2/18/13. Staff was very nice and gave us a warm cookie upon check in. The room was beautiful and very modern. The amenities were awesome! Large heated swimming pool, jacuzzi tub, steam room, gym and sauna. My husband and I had a great time using the facilities.When we returned to our room I went to turn on the water to take a shower and the water was ice cold. Then I turned on the water to the jacuzzi tub. The water was ice cold! I called the front desk and the clerk was very nice and told us that they would look in to the problem. Shortly after, the hotel clerk called back and stated that the maintenance person was checking the situation out and that they were looking to possibly move us to another room of similar quality. More time went by, and my husband and I packed our things thinking we were going to be moved to another room. By then an hour had already passed and there was a knock at our door and it was a maintenance lady. She asked to check our water and stated that the people in the room next to us had the same concern. She then turned on the water and it was very hot and told us that she had to reset the breaker. We were very grateful that the staff took care of the concern, but we had to spend more time unpacking again. It took over an hour of our own time that we could of spent enjoying what we paid for in the 1st place. Upon checkout the hotel clerk asked how are stay was. We told her what happened and she said she already heard what happened and apoligized. Overall, I feel that due to the circumstances they could of at least offered us a discount on our bill or towards our next stay. Not even another cookie!

Room Tip: Choose a suite! They are beautiful and close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSinnkeeper, Manager at Berlin Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments mean a lot to us and help us improve for the future. I wanted to personally apologize for what happened to you during your stay. If you return to the area I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for Jessica or Shelley and please mention that you had left a review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Thank you again for providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Resort

Address: 5330 County Road 201, Berlin, OH 44654 (Formerly Berlin Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Amish Country, Berlin Resort is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We offer many amenities including our 17,000 square foot fitness center, outdoor fire pits and 26-seat in house theater. Our staff is prepared to make your visit to Amish Country your most memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Berlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Resort Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.