We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT IMPRESSED-Do not need to stay again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Splash Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Splash Harbor to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Comfort Plaza Dr., Bellville, OH 44813   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellville
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED-Do not need to stay again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

So, first I tried making the reservation with just a debit card. We travel a lot and have never had an issue until this hotel. I tried to pay the entire balance before we arrived so I would not have any hold placed on my card. I was told I would have to have a hold on my card anyway as a security deposit, or bring cash in to the desk that I could get back at check out. We were traveling with friends so they reserved the rooms for us on a credit card. In hindsight, this should have been a sign NOT to stay here. Obviously a sign I ignored!! We arrived and check in was a madhouse to say the least and front desk seemed very inefficient and a little lost at their jobs at times. Again, another sign!! We checked in and I was trying to think positive until we arrived in our room-which smelled like smoke, cherry cigar smoke to be exact and it stunk, with a son and a husband with asthma, this was NOT a good situation. I went back to the desk to let them know and they said they were full and that they could NOT get us another room, so we were given a bottle of febreeze and sent back to our room, but told to bring the bottle back when we were done. We opened the window and used the febreeze and in the end switched rooms with our friends we were traveling with. Issue averted, everything will surely get better, right? Nope it got worse, this room looked right into the pool-better yet the pool looked right into us. UGHHHH so it smelled like chlorine. But we were going to go skiing so we had to settle. We arrived back to the hotel to get a good nights sleep after a day of skiing. We were awaken by the sound of hoses being pulled from what sounded like under our room and the person, a man who was apparently cleaning the pool talking to someone in a room right next to ours, this went on for HOURS!!! Needless to say in the morning half asleep we got up to try and enjoy breakfast and the pool, but again issues...The waffle maker was roped off from the rest of the breakfast, "stuff" making it a crowded mess trying to get in and out. We have stayed at soooo many hotels with waffle makers and have never seen such a discombobulated congested set up for the waffle maker-poor set up in deed. then the pool-it was fun but for kids 7 and 11 it was a bit, "young". there is a roped off section for the ONE slide and the pole for the rope is under the water with nothing above water so you know the pole is there and one of the adults went to dive down and hit his chest on this pole- a hazard that needs to be fixed!!!! The "ADULT" hot tub jets were not bubbly at all, they just didn't seem to produce any power at all.So that was out of the question and it was filled with children anyway!!! Over all I was disappointed with this hotel, I have no idea how it is number one on the list. The price was higher than most and the pool really wasn't that impressive, add that to all the other silliness we endured and we will avoid this hotel from now on and would advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    16
    12
    18
See reviews for
92
12
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We have stayed here several times (last time was in 2007) & didn't expect our older boys (now ages 9 & 7) to enjoy it so much. However, they still had a blast! You get the baby pool, the splash pads, waterslide, basketball water hoops & hot tubs & it's all at the normal hotel price with no extra fees. The hotel also serves a decent continental breakfast complete with make-your-own waffles. It gets high marks with this family. Only downsides are if you are used to getting a suite so some of your family can sleep in a separate room that isn't an option here. But for the price this hotel is well worth a simple family getaway!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed for a weekend with our 2 and 6 yr old, for the waterpark. For starters, this is not a waterpark. It is a pool with a curly slide approximately 25 feet in length. In addition, they have some sprinkler type things that dump buckets. They have a baby pool, quite spacious, with about 8 inches of water depth, and a large "spa" pool that is like a big hot tub it could hold about 15 people. There is another hot tub, but it was not operational during our visit.

This place could be really cool, if they #1 cleaned the pool area thoroughly, and #2 did some general upkeep with replacing bad parts and painting where need be by the pool area. I don't mean mopping and scrubbing, I mean there were a significant number of things - railings, steps, basketball hoops that were rusted. There were significant number of things that were broken- handles, rails, steps, the "hot tub", the buttons to turn on the sprinklers and dump buckets. The entire pool area, the rocks, concrete, walkways etc, all seem to have a white residue on everything, as if they clean it but do not "scrub" or wipe down. We never got the big spa pool to bubble like we expected a hot tub to do, in addition to just general upkeep big cob webs and just an overall spring cleaning.

The arcade was good and has lots of games for the kids, it was rather pricey with $1 being the cost for most games.

The breakfast and the breakfast area were adequate and clean and recently renovated. Upon walking in the hotel seems very nice and well kept, nicely decorated and nice furniture etc. However, carpet from the lobby to the rest of the hotel is a big difference.

The rooms were clean and decent, above or on average for comfort inns, the staff at all levels was very accommodating even asking us - was everything good? did you need anything?

The kids were happy it was a good weekend and a good visit, they could just use some general overall upkeep to get this to the level it should be operating on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

these people know how to treat there guest very accomadating friendly. waterpark is great
the resturants and the store are very close will be back again, the food at the diner car next door will have you hurtin from all the food they feed you

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We travel quite a bit with our two children. The children are 2 and 7 years of age. The pool was fantastic for the kids. The two year old could splash around in the pool without having to hang on to her. The seven year old can play in the bigger pool and with it being four feet deep by the slide, I can watch both at the same time. The room was quiet and the staff was one of the friendliest bunches of people I have ever seen in a hotel. The value was pretty good for the stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is a nice, clean, quiet hotel... but don't get the whirlpool room unless you are the kind of couple that has 0 privacy or are going alone! I was completely shocked to see that this room included a jetted tub in the shower, and they'd simply cut a large opening in the bedroom wall! So, if you go in the bathroom and shut the door, you only have two white cloth shower curtains between you and the sleeping area! For me, the toilet may as well have been on a stage. And getting ready quietly? Ha! At least the tub (which really is NOT two person) was a relaxing place for a bath.

Otherwise, the room was spacious and clean, a nice long countertop, an outdated "wet bar"... the usual.

Splash Harbor was a disappointment for me because the pool does not exceed 4' in any location and the water is extremely warm - I don't mind all the kiddos but I like to SWIM! My husband loved it. The environment they've made is great, though, and this would be fun for kids. There is one slide and then a large splash pad. I'm sure the adults-only hot tub is great (it was large) but we were too sun burned to use it.

Only other complaint was I didn't see an elevator and we had a lot of stuff to haul up and down the stairs. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was the usual assortment. I like the location. Try the putt putt next door!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The fun began when we asked friends where to book during our stay at Mid-ohio raceway. Two couples suggested this place because of the water park for the kids. Each reserved their rooms for $99/night.

When we called to make a reservation (one week in advance) we were quoted a price of $129/night. Upon negotiation, we were suddenly able to book for a "special discount" of $117/night. The hotel was unwilling to honor the prices our friends were quoted and refused to discuss it further. Regardless, the check in process was quite an adventure.

Upon arrival, we witnessed twenty minutes of a family's struggle to check in using a debit card. Apparently, this hotel requires a $120 deposit "in case you smoke in the room or steal anything." The deposit can be put on your debit card, but no less than three signs at the front desk indicate it will take days or even weeks to get your deposit back. The hotel will also accept cash as a form of deposit. For those wishing to pay with a debit card BEWARE OF THIS POLICY!!!! We finally left and went to lunch while the family struggled to find a way to comply.

When we returned, we were able to check in successfully and assigned a room on the second floor. Of course, there are NO ELEVATORS in this hotel. We had to lug a toddler, our luggage and personal belongings through a dirty stairwell to our room. While walking to the room, we noticed several religious posters on the hallway walls. This was a little odd for a Comfort Inn and family hotel.....more on this later.

When we found our room, the first surprise was that the door lock did not work. The second was that the door was either misaligned or had been shaved down to reveal a 1" (not kidding) gap on the latch side. Effectively, you could look out of the room through the gap below the broken lock. Needless to say, this was not exactly ideal for a toddler and our families security.

The room was far below average. Linens were old and stained, the furniture was tattered and the decor was outdated. Clearly this had not been renovated since the early 1990's. Oddly enough, the bible was right in the middle of the desk along with another religious magazine. The air conditioning had been turned off - presumably to save money. As a result, the room was hot and musty. It smelled more like a barn than a hotel room, inspiring my toddler to ask - who pooped in here? The $120 "security deposit" would have been more than enough to buy everything in this room three times over and still leave a profit.

While sitting in the lobby waiting for friends to assemble for dinner, I decided to read one of the magazines nicely stacked on the table. There was nothing which did not have a religious name or message on it. I began to feel like I was in church. This was very odd. Once again, this was a Comfort Inn - Splash Harbor, not a private no name hotel.

Check out was the final process that brought me to write a review. While spending time in the pool area, we went to the front desk to request a late check out. The posted time was 11am and there were NO EXCEPTIONS. We were told that only Choice preferred members were allowed to have a late check out. Since we were not members, we had to "vacate by 11am or be charged for another night at 11:01am" Seriously? I have traveled the world and stayed in hotels in over 20 countries. NEVER, ever have I been told to "get out or else" when requesting a late check out. In some cases, hotels even offered to charge a nominal fee for a stay as long as 4pm. we simply wanted to enjoy some time with our toddler in the pool without rushing to meet an 11am check out.

Here are some suggestions for potential guests:

1 - If you are planning a religious retreat, stay here as you will not need any additional reading material.

2 - Bring a credit card or cash since you cant stay here without it.

3 - This is the most expensive night you can spend in a dump I have come across yet.

Some suggestions for the Comfort Inn Splash Harbor:

1 - Keep your opinions to yourself, the world is not interested in your opinions on faith and does not need to be inundated with propaganda when staying in a Comfort Inn.

2 - Pray for clean rooms, working locks and a staff that understands how to effect them. Your present plan is not working successfully.

3 - When you base your rates, pick one and stick with it. Combined with the other factors that make your facility unsatisfactory, this is an insult.

4 - If you have problems with theft, smoking and vandalism in your rooms, deal with the offenders not the general public. Putting bibles on your desk will not discourage trouble-makers.

AVOID THIS HOTEL AND BOOK THROUGH AN ONLINE SERVICE TO AVOID THEIR SILLY FEES.

Fortunately, we found a Fairfield Inn and moved there the next morning.....no charge late check out until 2pm:)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Splash Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Splash Harbor

Address: 855 Comfort Plaza Dr., Bellville, OH 44813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Bellville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Splash Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Splash Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor Hotel Bellville
Comfort Inn Bellville
Splash Harbor Comfort Inn
Bellville Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor Bellville, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Splash Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.